Review: LOITS – Tulisilma Sünd

Year of release: 2016 / 2017 (this version)
Released by: Trash Can DanceHammer of Damnation (this version)
Rating: 7,5 / 10

Working on the books of Dayal Patterson gave me an interesting acquaintance with Lembetu, the leader of the famous Estonian brigade LOITS who, unlike most of the "ever-busy" musicians never spares time and money to promote and support his band and everything that connected to it somehow. Therefore, it is not surprising that I, as a web-zine editor, got all LOITS albums from Lembetu as soon as possible, as well as the reissue of the rehearsal recording, with a review of which I will begin.

Rehearsal "Tulisilma Sünd" was recorded in 2000, a month after the death of guitarist Alan Kalma. This record, made at the request of the local label, became a fateful event in the history of LOITS, from which the real activity of the band began. Immediately I will say that you should not be afraid of the "rehearsal" status of the tape. In fact, it's much more like a professionally made studio demo because it's performed smoothly, and the sound quality is exactly the way it should be. "Tulisilma Sünd" has much in common with old Polish and Norwegian records. In particular, it reminds me of the first two albums of NORTH and "Grom" from BEHEMOTH, but only half as furious and heaped up. The sound and melody of these releases are quite similar, and they have this common feeling of deep antiquity. The atmosphere is enriched by synth parts which, alas, are really short. Most of them left to the introduction to the first song, which is regrettable, since music requires about 5-6 fragments of this kind. Acoustic pats that also play an important role in such type of metal are much more developed. And still there is a sense of some shortage. Perhaps the fact is that 25 minutes is not enough for such a material. It carries the aura of that key period of the 90's, when outside there was always late autum, and everything was black and white. You always want to listen to such things much longer.

In the lyrical sense, "Tulisilma Sünd" is a classic Heathen Metal. I prefer to use the word "heathen" instead of "pagan" to describe the style that does not refer directly to real traditions and does not call the gods by name, but tells about the story and the nature of the native country of musicians, as well as about some generalized spiritual and ideological matters. Here, everything is exactly like this: blood, battles, warrior's way, nature, moon worship and so on. CD edition from Hammer of Damnation is equipped with a good 8-page booklet, where each song has its own piece of artwork, and in the middle there are photos of musicians and a brief history of the release. Each text is given not only in the original Estonian version, but also in English translation, therefore understanding will not cause any problems. You can see more on a video. To summarize: "Tulisilma Sünd" is a very good thing, but I would like it to last 2 times more.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

1 thought on “Рецензия: LOITS – Tulisilma Sünd

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: LOITS – Tulisilma Sünd

Год выхода: 2016 / 2017 (это издание)
Издатель: Trash Can DanceHammer of Damnation (это издание)
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Работа над книгами Дайала Паттерсона подарила мне интересное знакомство с Лембету, лидером знаменитой эстонской бригады LOITS, который, в отличие от большинства вечно занятых не пойми чем музыкантов, никогда не жалеет времени и средств на продвижение и поддержку своей группы и всего, что с ней хоть как-нибудь связано. Поэтому не удивительно, что я, как редактор веб-зина, в кратчайшие сроки получил от Лембету все альбомы LOITS, а также переиздание репетиционной записи, с обзора которой я и начну.

Репетиционка “Tulisilma Sünd” была записана в 2000-ом году, спустя месяц после смерти гитариста Алана Кальма. Запись, сделанная по просьбе местного лейбла, стала судьбоносным событием в истории LOITS, с которого началась активная деятельность группы. Сразу же скажу, что вы не должны пугаться “репетиционного” статуса ленты. На самом деле, она гораздо больше напоминает полноценное студийное демо, поскольку сыграна ровно, и качество звучания здесь именно такое, как надо. “Tulisilma Sünd” имеет немало общего со старыми польскими и норвежскими записями. В особенности она напоминает мне первые два альбома NORTH и “Grom” от BEHEMOTH, только вдвое менее яростный и навороченный. Саунд и мелодика у этих двух релизов довольно схожие, и в обеих присутствует ощущение глубокой древности. Атмосферу здорово обогащают синтезаторные партии, которых, увы, совсем мало. Большая часть оставлена на вступление к первой песне, что прискорбно, поскольку музыка требует ещё примерно 5-6 фрагментов подобного рода. Акустики, которая тоже играет важную роль в таком метале, значительно больше. И всё равно остаётся ощущение некой недостачи. Возможно, дело в том, что 25 минут – это мало для такого материала. Он несёт в себе ауру того ключевого периода 90-ых, когда снаружи всегда стояла поздняя осень, и всё было чёрно-белым. Такие вещи всегда хочется слушать подольше.

В лирическом плане “Tulisilma Sünd” представляет собой классический Heathen Metal – так я предпочитаю называть тот стиль, который не обращается напрямую к реальным традициям и не называет богов по именам, но повествует об истории и природе родной страны музыкантов,  а также о каких-то обобщённых духовных и идеологических материях. У LOITS всё именно так – кровь, битвы, путь воина, природа, поклонение луне и так далее. CD-издание от Hammer of Damnation снабжено хорошим 8-страничным буклетом, где на каждую песню отведено по арту, а в середине располагаются фото музыкантов и краткая история релиза. Каждый текст приведён не только в оригинале, но и в переводе на английский, поэтому с пониманием особых проблем возникнуть не должно. Подробнее можно посмотреть на видео. Подытожу: “Tulisilma Sünd” это очень хорошая штука, но хотелось бы, чтобы она длилась раза в 2 больше.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

1 thought on “Рецензия: LOITS – Tulisilma Sünd

Добавить комментарий