Review: BLASPHEMY – Live Ritual: Friday the 13th / Victory (Son of the Damned)

Year of release: “Live Ritual” – 2001 / 2018 (this version) / “Victory” – 2018
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 7,5 / 10

Very soon, NWN Productions will release two records of cult Canadians BLASPHEMY. New releases of BLASPHEMY are is always significant, but don't hope on something like a full-length album or even an EP. In fact, one of these new releases is a reissue of the legendary concert record from 2001, which is important for the label for personal reasons. The second is a rehearsal record, which is more interesting. To make it easier for myself, I decided to cover both releases in one review. The final score is average from the total amount.

So, "Live Ritual: Friday the 13th" is a record from BLASPHEMY gig that was played in Canada on July 13, 2001. The concert certainly had historical significance, as it was one of the first after BLASPHEMY returned to the stage, and also persuaded YK, the NWN boss, to turn the label from one-time action to a full-fledged bureau. But I will be frank - in addition to the fact that this is a live performance of BLASPHEMY, "Live Ritual" does not stand out. This is totally usual live recording with good sound, crowd noise in the right places, as well as the demands of the musicians after a good half of the tracks to make a bass louder / to add reverberations on guitar. The rest is nothing special. Therefore, if you are not a fan of the band, but just sympathetic, you can skip this release.

"Victory (Son of the Damned)" is a 15-track rehearsal record made in the same 2001', month after the aforementioned concert. CDR with this rehearsal was a bonus to a limited number of copies of the original vinyl release of "Live Ritual: Friday the 13th", and now it is released separately. The most noteworthy fact of this CD is the presence of the track that gave the release a name. As far as I know, this track is exclusive to this release - for now. The track, I must say, is excellent, and it's played by the band even twice. It is also worth noting that BLACK WITCHERY members took part in the rehearsal, but I did not understand where exactly. Sound of the record is very powerful. Of course, all the instruments mix a little, microphones sometimes scale, but clean energy is much more confident than on a live album. And the vocals came out really infernal. In fact, "Victory (Son of the Damned)" can be considered not even as a rehearsal, but as a collection of re-recorded old songs. On it, the sound of BLASPHEMY meets all the modern requirements of goat Black Metal - unlike full-length albums, where there are certain problems with sound (not diminishing, indeed, the satanic power of these works). And it is not worse than even studio LPs of PROCLAMATION, for instance. So, you definitely should buy "Victory (Son of the Damned)". On it, BLASPHEMY essence is revealed in all its glory.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: BLASPHEMY – Live Ritual: Friday the 13th / Victory (Son of the Damned)

Год выхода: “Live Ritual” – 2001 / 2018 (это издание) / “Victory” – 2018
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Совсем скоро NWN Productions выпустит сразу два релиза культовых канадцев BLASPHEMY. Новые релизы BLASPHEMY – это всегда знаменательно, но на что-то вроде полноформатного альбома или даже EP пока варежку не разевайте. На самом деле, один из них представляет собой переиздание легендарной концертной записи 2001-го года, которая важна для лейбла по личным причинам. Вторая – репетиционная запись, которая уже более интересна. Дабы не заморачиваться, я решил покрыть оба релиза в одном обзоре. Итоговая оценка выставлена по общей сумме.

Итак, “Live Ritual: Friday the 13th” – запись с концерта BLASPHEMY, состоявшегося в Канаде 13-го июля 2001-го года. Концерт, безусловно, имел историческое значение, поскольку был одним из первых после возвращения BLASPHEMY на сцену, а также убедил YK, босса NWN, превратить лейбл из разовой акции в полноценную контору. Но буду откровенен – помимо того, что это живое выступление BLASPHEMY, “Live Ritual” ничем не выделяется. Самая обычная концертная запись с хорошим звуком, шумом толпы в нужных местах, а также требованиями музыкантов сделать погромче бас / прибавить реверберации после доброй половины треков. В остальном же ничего особенного. Поэтому, если вы не фанат группы, а просто сочувствующий, можете этот релиз пропускать.

“Victory (Son of the Damned)” – 15-трековая репетиционная запись, сделанная всё в том же 2001-ом спустя месяц после вышеупомянутого концерта. CDr с этой репетицией шёл бонусом к ограниченному количеству копий оригинального винилового релиза “Live Ritual: Friday the 13th”, а сейчас она выпускается по отдельности. Наиболее примечательным фактом является присутствие на диске трека, давшего релизу название. Насколько мне известно, он больше не издавался ни под каким видом, так что эксклюзив обеспечен. Трек, надо сказать, превосходный, и сыгран даже дважды. Также стоит отметить, что в репетиции поучаствовали музыканты BLACK WITCHERY – только я не понял, где конкретно. Саунд у записи мощнейший. Конечно, все инструменты немного смешиваются, микрофоны иногда шкалят, но чистая энергетика прёт гораздо более уверенно, нежели на концертном альбоме. А вокал вышел поистине инфернальным. На самом деле, “Victory (Son of the Damned)” можно рассматривать даже не как репетиционку, а как сборник перезаписанных старых песен. На нём звучание BLASPHEMY отвечает всем современным требованиям козльячьего Black Metal – в отличие от полноформатных альбомов, где со звуком наблюдаются определённые проблемы (не убавляющие, впрочем, поистине сатанинского могущества этих работ). Причём оно не хуже, чем у студийных лонгплеев PROCLAMATION, например. Так что “Victory (Son of the Damned)” надо брать. На нём BLASPHEMY раскрываются во всей красе.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий