Blitz reviews 7: LIVING ALTAR, PA VESH EN, POUNDER, SCARIFICARE, VAHRZAW

Seventh part of short reviews.

LIVING ALTAR – Scythes Towards Psyche
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Inferna Profundus Records
Rating: 5 / 10

The first EP in the career of the Lithuanian project, founded in 2011, is a rather noisy extreme metal with an indefinite aesthetics and style. I do not say that musicians do not know how to play - they know and they can. But why and what for - they can not give an answer to this question, at least if you judge by the official press release containing an excerpt from the interview that says only about the changes in music. The lyrical component is based on the most miserable and incoherent of ideas - "images of a psycho-spiritual world". Read it like "nonsence for check". The music itself is really evil and poisonous, but it lacks of ingenuity. I heard this stuff hundred times already.

 

 

PA VESH EN – A Ghost
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Iron Bonehead Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

The mysterious Belarusian project PA VESH EN continues to create new stuff, preparing to release the debut full-length. This event is preceded by the release of the seven-inch vinyl "A Ghost", containing two tracks which are designed to show what awaits us in the nearest future. The material is not far from what "Knife Ritual" and "Dead Womb" cassettes offered, only this time it is less depressive and more ambient. The latter expressed not only directly in the ambient segments, but also in the style of metal part. Blackness, mud, emptiness, cold and death in some ugly casemates with shabby walls - all this is conveyed very convincingly. There are no tracks from this record on the official resources yet, so just look at the cover:

 

POUNDER – Faster Than Fire
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 6,8 / 10

POUNDER is another project of famous extreme musicians who decided to play something heavy. People from NAUSEA, CARCASS, DEKAPITATOR, EXHUMED, REPULSION are participating. The upcoming seven-inch will contain 4 songs - 3 of their own + cover of ANGEL WITCH. 2 songs are good fast heavy metal in the vein of SATAN. They have their bright moments. The third is a typical pathetic mid-tempo radio hit in the vein of old ACCEPT. I did not hear the cover, because it is not in my promo version. In general, quite a good release which is worth listening to.

 

 

SCARIFICARE – Tilasm
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Helldprod Records
Rating: 5 / 10

Portuguese extreme metal before us. And Portuguese, Spanish and Italian metal, as it is known, is an utter bullshit in 90% of cases, where even attempts to create the most traditional music end up with catastrophe. SCARIFICARE try to pinch everything off a little, and in the end they get something like fried bacon with strawberries and fish paste. Among the melodic inserts there are really good ones, but the "extreme" part seems to be thoroughly false. I will add that the sound here is at the level of 2007 (remember, how then they loved compression and the loudness turned up to the sky?), As a result, the album sounds utterly unnatural.

 

 

VAHRZAW – Husk
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 7 / 10

Australian band VAHRZAW in many ways personifies the tastes of Blood Harvest rex: vicious blackened death thrash metal, prickly sound, old-fashioned music full of hatred. It seems that it wants to bite you. Stupid and disgusting, that's why it's wonderful. The only big disadvantage is this fucking shrill-wheezing vocals that makes music worse, and much worse. The vocalist growls much better.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 7: LIVING ALTAR, PA VESH EN, POUNDER, SCARIFICARE, VAHRZAW

Седьмая серия кратких обзоров.

LIVING ALTAR – Scythes Towards Psyche
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Inferna Profundus Records
Оценка: 5 / 10

Первый EP в карьере литовского проекта, основанного в 2011-ом году, представляет собой довольно шумный экстремальный метал с неопределённой эстетикой и стилем. Не утверждаю, что музыканты не умеют играть – умеют. Но зачем и почему – на этот вопрос они пока ответа дать не могут, если судить по официальному пресс-релизу, содержащему выдержку из интервью в духе “музыка стала более разнообразной, а также злой и ядовитой”. Лирическая же составляющая зиждется на самой уёбищной и невнятной из шаблонных идей – “образы из психо-духовного мира”. В общем, размазня для галочки. Музыка сама по себе действительно злая и ядовитая, но неважнецкая в плане изобретательности. Ничего такого, что мы бы уже не слышали раз сто.

 

 

PA VESH EN – A Ghost
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Iron Bonehead Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

Таинственный беларуский проект PA VESH EN продолжает творить, готовясь выпустить дебютный полноформат. Сие событие предваряется релизом семидюймовой пластинки “A Ghost”, содержащей два трека, которые призваны показать, что нас ожидает. В этом месте должен сделать отступление и извиниться за то, что нечаянно связал в своих предположениях G.W. (SACRILEGIOUS PROFANITY) с данным проектом – менее подслеповатые люди, приглядевшиеся к фотографиям как следует, подсказали, что PA VESH EN является детищем некой девушки. Миль пардон. Возвращаясь к музыке – материал недалеко ушёл от того, что предлагали кассеты “Knife Ritual” и “Dead Womb”, только на этот раз в нём меньше депрессивности и больше эмбиентности, выражающейся не только непосредственно в эмбиентных отрезках, но и в подаче метал-части. Чернота, грязь, опустошённость, холод и смерть в каких-то уродливых казематах с обшарпанными стенами – всё это передано очень убедительно. Записи на официальных каналах в Интернете пока нет, поэтому любуйтесь на картиночку с обложки:

 

POUNDER – Faster Than Fire
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 6,8 / 10

POUNDER – очередной проект известных экстремальных музыкантов, решивших поиграться в хэви. Участвуют люди из NAUSEA, CARCASS, DEKAPITATOR, EXHUMED, REPULSION. Грядущая семидюймовка будет содержать 4 песни – 3 собственных + кавер на ANGEL WITCH. Две вещи – неплохой бодрый музон в духе старичков SATAN, не лишённые позитивных моментов. Вокал не впечатляет, но и не отталкивает. Третья – типовой пафосный среднетемповый радио-хит, какие в своё время любили выдавать ACCEPT. Кавер я не слышал, поскольку в моей промо-версии он отсутствует. В общем, достаточно неплохой релиз, который стоит послушать.

 

 

SCARIFICARE – Tilasm
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Helldprod Records
Оценка: 5 / 10

Перед нами португальский экстремальный метал. А португальский, испанский и итальянский метал, как известно, в 90% случаев представляет собой несусветную муть, где даже попытки создать даже самую традиционную музыку заканчиваются лажей. SCARIFICARE пытаются отщипнуть от всего понемножку, и в итоге у них получается что-то типа жареного сала с клубникой и фаршмаком. Среди мелодичных вставок встречаются действительно хорошие, а вот “экстремальная” часть кажется насквозь фальшивой. Добавлю, что саунд здесь на уровне 2007-го года (помните, как тогда любили компрессию и задранную до небес громкость?), вследствие чего альбом звучит предельно ненатурально.

 

 

VAHRZAW – Husk
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 7 / 10

Австралийская банда VAHRZAW во многом олицетворяет вкусы своего издателя: злобный blackened death thrash metal, колючий звук, старомодная музыка, полная ненависти. Кажется, она так и хочет тебя загрызть. Тупо и гадко, оттого и прекрасно. Единственный большой минус – бредовый визгливо-хрипящий вокал, который музыку ослабляет, причём самым беспардонным способом. Рычать у вокалиста получается намного лучше.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий