Blitz reviews 9: ALBIONIC HERMETICISM, ALMS, DRAWN AND QUARTERED, OKSENNUS, SVEDERNA

9th part of short reviews

ALBIONIC HERMETICISM – Ancient Hermetic Purity
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Signal Rex
Rating: 7,3 / 10

The debut album from a British Miguel Serrano-inspired project. Contrary to the insinuations of dumb worms from the Internet, the project is in no way connected with Nazism (or at least not directly), but deeply imbued with esotericism and alchemy. The concept of the album is based on hermetic rituals dating back to ancient times, when "the red-haired Egyptian aristocracy migrated to Britain". Musically, this is dark ambient metal with a truly mysterious and magical atmosphere. Despite the good compositional work, for some reason it doesn't made much impression on me, but it still fulfills the task. I recommend you to listen to it.

 

ALMS – Act One
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 7 / 10

Classic stoner doom metal with two vocals - female and male. Excellent and natural sound, not a hint of innovation. The manner of using the synthesizer is reminiscent of DEEP PURPLE. I must add that the band does not hesitate to occasionally play some cheerful rock and roll parts with beautiful solos, which is always pleasant.

 

 

DRAWN AND QUARTERED – The One Who Lurks
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Krucyator Productions
Rating: 8 / 10

The young French label continues to replenish its roster with powerful formations - this time it released a new album of the classics of American Death Metal: DRAWN AND QUARTERED. This group - perhaps due to the lack of radio-friendly stuff - has never been in the leading positins, but clearly deserves more attention. DRAWN AND QUARTERED are ideologically close to the original extreme Satanism of the US scene, and their music goes close to INCANTATION and IMMOLATION, periodically leaving in the protracted outbursts of brutal rage. Honestly, "The One Who Lurks" is spiritually much more like Black Metal because it is miles away from modern fat-free slag from major labels. Powerful, very powerful work.

 

OKSENNUS – Kolme toista
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 2,5 / 10

A very strange album with three songs for exactly 13 minutes each, and three occult carrots on the cover. For sure, there is some deep idea, avant-garde message, a challenge to the stagnant metal scene and so on but it seems to me that "Kolme toista" is really just an addle and senseless atonal bullshitand by the time you read these lines, I will already forget about it.

 

SVEDERNA – Svedjeland
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Carnal Records
Rating: 6 / 10

I smell some suspicious scent of leftism in this band, although it tries not to fall into the pool of subhuman values. We, they say, are not a political band, we're just against the commercialization of the Western world, and so on. All this is fine, if some reasonable alternative is offered, but SVEDERNA, apparently, does not offer anything yet. Moreover, despite the strong social component in the lyrics, they position their music as Black Metal, and this is already complete nonsense. However, music in isolation from the conceptual component is perceived very well. The special melodics, resulting from punk and Heavy Metal, affects the sound, giving the album an interesting character. Nevertheless, it is not so beautiful that for the sake of it you forget about everything else. Is it worth listening to an album of questionable content for the sake of music, which is interesting only for two or three plays? It's up to you to decide. I advise you to start with the track "Dö i tid", the best on the record. If you won't like it, skip the album.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 9: ALBIONIC HERMETICISM, ALMS, DRAWN AND QUARTERED, OKSENNUS, SVEDERNA

Девятая серия кратких обзоров.

ALBIONIC HERMETICISM – Ancient Hermetic Purity
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Signal Rex
Оценка: 7,3 / 10

Дебютный альбом от британского проекта, угорающего по Мигелю Серрано. Вопреки инсинуациям тупоголовых червей из Интернета, проект никоим образом не связан с нацизмом, но глубоко пропитан эзотерикой и алхимией. Концепция альбома основана на герметических ритуалах, относящихся к древним временам, когда рыжеволосая египетская аристократия мигрировала в Британию. По музыке это мрачный эмбиентный метал с поистине таинственной и магической атмосферой. Несмотря на хорошую композиционную работу, он почему-то не слишком уж захватывает, но всё-таки выполняет поставленную задачу. Рекомендую ознакомиться.

 

ALMS – Act One
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 7 / 10

Классический стоунер-дум с двумя вокалами – женским и мужским. Превосходный и естественный саунд, ни единого намёка на новшества. Манера использования синтезатора напоминает о DEEP PURPLE. Отмечу, что группа не стесняется изредка дать бодрого рок-н-ролла с красивыми соляками, а это всегда приятно.

 

 

DRAWN AND QUARTERED – The One Who Lurks
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Krucyator Productions
Оценка: 8 / 10

Молодой французский лейбл продолжает пополнять свой ростер мощными формациями – на этот раз он выпустил новый альбом классиков настоящего Death Metal, американцев DRAWN AND QUARTERED. Группа эта – возможно, в силу своей непопсовости – никогда не была на первых ролях, однако явно заслуживает больше внимания. DRAWN AND QUARTERED идейно близки к изначальному экстремальному сатанизму штатовской сцены, а их музыка идёт рука с INCANTATION и IMMOLATION, периодически уходя в затяжные вспышки брутальной ярости. Честно сказать, “The One Who Lurks” по духу гораздо больше похож на Black Metal, поскольку отстоит на мили от современного обезжиренного  шлака с мажорных контор. Мощная, очень мощная работа.

 

OKSENNUS – Kolme toista
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 2,5 / 10

Очень странный альбом с тремя песнями ровно по 13 минут и тремя же оккультными морковками на обложке. Во всём этом наверняка заложен какой-то глубокий замысел, авангардный посыл, вызов застоявшейся метал-сцене и так далее, но мне кажется, что “Kolme toista” на самом деле является просто тухлым и бессмысленным атональным наебаловом, и к тому моменту, как вы прочтёте эти строки, я уже успею о нём забыть.

 

SVEDERNA – Svedjeland
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Carnal Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

От данной шведской банды подозрительно попахивает левизной, хотя она старается не сваливаться в омут недочеловеческих ценностей – мы, дескать, не политическая банда, просто против коммерциализации западного мира и так далее. Всё это прекрасно, если предлагается какая-то разумная альтернатива, но SVEDERNA, судя по всему, пока не предлагают ничего. Более того, несмотря на сильную социальную составляющую в лирике, они позиционируют свою музыку как Black Metal, а это уже полный бред. Впрочем, музыка в отрыве от концептуальной составляющей воспринимается весьма неплохо. Особая мелодика, проистекающая из панка и Heavy Metal, сказывается на звучании, придавая альбому интересный характер. Тем не менее, оно не настолько прекрасно, чтобы ради него забывать обо всём остальном. Стоит ли слушать альбом сомнительного содержания ради музыки, которой хватит на два-три раза? Решать вам. Советую начать с трека “Dö i tid”, лучшего на пластинке. Если он не понравится, пропускайте.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий