Blitz reviews 14: BARBATOS, DECIBEL DEMON, OSSUARY ANEX, SIEGE COLUMN, TINJUM

14th part of short reviews.

BARBATOS – Straight Metal War
Year of release: 2015
Released by: Hells Headbangers Records
Rating: 6,7 / 10

The second full-length album of the solo project of ABIGAIL frontman. As I understand it, BARBATOS differs from the main band only by a slightly increased concentration of punk, whoredom and intemperance per unit of time. Frankly, the impressions are mixed, since everything is played sloppy, but the sound is quite clean. National Japanese twisting in the vocals is also annoying. In general, you can listen to it, and even get pleasure from it, but not necessarily.

 

DECIBEL DEMON – Declassified
Year of release: 2017
Released by: Brutal Records
Rating: 5 / 10

"Declassified" from the first seconds causes bewilderment, and even a slight fear, but you can give this album a little time, because its history is quite exciting. DECIBEL DEMON is a project of participants not very famous, but in its way the cult US Death Metal formation INCUBUS (many of you, including me, learned about it thanks to the participation of its vocalist on the first album of CANNIBAL CORPSE). The album was recorded already in 1987, for a long time it was on the shelf, then lost during the hurricane Katrina, but managed to survive thanks to waterproof packaging, and then to be found, to be remastered and finally to appear before the venerable public. The most interesting fate, to be sure. It is a pity that the album itself turned out to be a rather ridiculous bunch of various metallic substances. The first two tracks will surely lead you into a stupor - primarily because of the bad castrated vocals. The press release modestly declares that such singing would make Rob Halford and Steve Grimmett proud, but it seems to me that it would rather cause them the heavy sweating and diarrhea. That couple of songs where the vocalist sings normally, is quite obedient (if you do not take into account the terrible quality of sound), but, alas, those are the minority. The style of "Declassified" hangs somewhere between heavy, power, speed metal and hard rock. Perhaps that's all there is to know. You can move on to the next album.

 

OSSUARY ANEX – Holy Blasphemition
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Xtreem Music
Rating: 8 / 10

The Russians OSSUARY ANEX continue their career and creative ascent, moving to the eminent Xtreem Music. A month later, Dave Rotten's label will release their new EP. I wrote a review of their previous albuma year or so ago, and all the positive moments from that review can be transferred here and multiplied by about 1.2. I have nothing more to say, so I will limit myself to dry statements: the sound is excellent, musicians work perfectly at any speed, music suddenly captures, although songs are still not remembered. In general, a very high-quality and serious brutal release.

 

SIEGE COLUMN – Inferno Deathpassion
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 8 / 10

The ugly grin of cave insanity in the spirit of long gone years. Something very dirty, disgusting and gluttonous in the vein of BLASPHEMY, REVENGE and other warriors of barbarous black and death metal. Periodically, above all this the spirit of the ancient monsters - VULCANO, SARCÓFAGO, BATHORY - rises. The album requires repeated listening, which is pretty uncommon for such music. And yet it lacks something ... or I have not listened to it as much as it needed. Nevertheless, it's very powerful work.

 

TUNJUM – Deidades del inframundo
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Dunkelheit Produktionen
Rating: 8 / 10

The third consecutive great release which I a bit shy to put in Blitz category, but you really can't tell much about such albums. TUNJUM is a Peruvian gang, once completely female, but now having a ratio of 1 to 2 in favor of male musicians. Kultarr, part-time editor of Hecate zine, is responsible here for percussion and vocals - both of which stand out most. Her drumming performance immediately makes it clear how the notorious "drums of war" should soundand the brutal sepulchral roar will ashame some male vocalists. Guitars and bass only support the hypnotic rhythms and gloomy spells that she pulls out of herself. I can say that "Deidades del inframundo" is a tribal music performed in the form of high-speed old-fashioned Death Metal. Its primitivism does not leave space for anything else except death and violence in the name of the ancient gods of the kingdom of Muchik. TUNJUM is sure to appeal to fans of VON, early MASSACRE, AUTOPSY and other bands that perform gloomy, uncombed metal.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 14: BARBATOS, DECIBEL DEMON, OSSUARY ANEX, SIEGE COLUMN, TINJUM

Четырнадцатый выпуск кратких обзоров.

BARBATOS – Straight Metal War
Год выхода: 2015
Издатель: Hells Headbangers Records
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

Второй полноформатный альбом сольного проекта фронтмена ABIGAIL. Как я понимаю, от творчества основной группы отличается лишь несколько повышенной концентрацией панкоты, блядства и невоздержанности на единицу времени. Скажу откровенно, впечатления смешанные, так как сыграно всё криво, но звук довольно чистый. Национальные японские кривляния в вокале тоже раздражают. В общем, слушать можно, и даже получать от этого удовольствие, но не обязательно.

 

DECIBEL DEMON – Declassified
Год выхода: 2017
Издатель: Brutal Records
Оценка: 5 / 10

“Declassified” с первых же секунд вызывает недоумение, а то и лёгкий страх, но уделить этому альбому немного времени можно, поскольку его история довольно захватывающая. DECIBEL DEMON – проект участников не очень раскрученной, но в своём роде культовой штатовской Death Metal-формации INCUBUS (многие, в том числе и я, узнали о ней благодаря участию её вокалиста на первом альбоме CANNIBAL CORPSE). Альбом был записан аж в 1987-ом году, долго лежал на полке, затем утерян во время урагана “Катрина”, но сумел выжить благодаря водонепроницаемой упаковке, а потом найтись, подвергнуться ремастерингу и наконец-то предстать перед почтенной публикой. Интереснейшая судьба, что и говорить. Жаль, что альбом по итогу оказался довольно нелепым сгустком различных миталоидных субстанций. Первые два трека наверняка введут вас в ступор – прежде всего из-за дурного кастрированного вокала. Пресс-релиз скромно заявляет, что такое пение заставило бы гордиться Роба Хэлфорда и Стива Гримметта, но мне кажется, что оно бы, скорее, вызвало у них обильное потоотделение и диарею. Та парочка песен, где вокалист поёт нормально, вполне слушабельна (если не брать в расчёт ужасное качество звука), но, увы, таковых меньшинство. По стилю “Declassified” болтается где-то между хэви-, павер-, спид-металом и хард-роком. Пожалуй, это всё, что нужно знать. Можете переходить к следующему альбому.

 

OSSUARY ANEX – Holy Blasphemition
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Xtreem Music
Оценка: 8 / 10

Россияне OSSUARY ANEX продолжают своё карьерное и творческое восхождение, перебравшись на именитый Xtreem Music. Через месяц на конторе Дэйва Роттена выходит их новый миник. Я как-то рецензировал их предыдущий альбом, поэтому все положительные моменты из той рецензии можно перенести сюда и умножить примерно на 1,2. Больше сказать мне особо нечего, поэтому ограничусь сухими утверждениями: звук отличный, любые скорости даются музыкантам без проблем, музыка внезапно захватывает, хотя песни всё так же не запоминаются. В общем, очень качественный и серьёзный брутальный релиз.

 

SIEGE COLUMN – Inferno Deathpassion
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 8 / 10

Уродливый оскал пещерного безумия в духе давно ушедших лет. Что-то очень грязное, гадкое и прожорливое в духе BLASPHEMY, REVENGE и прочих воинов варварского чёрного и смертельного метала. Периодически над всем этим восстаёт дух древних монстров – VULCANO, SARCÓFAGO, BATHORY. Как ни странно, альбом требует многократного прослушивания. И всё же ему чего-то недостаёт… либо я слушал его недостаточно многократно. Тем не менее, мощнейшая работа.

 

TUNJUM – Deidades del inframundo
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Dunkelheit Produktionen
Оценка: 8 / 10

Уже третий подряд сытный релиз, который немного стыдновато пихать в Блиц, но о таких альбомах в самом деле не расскажешь много. TUNJUM – перуанская банда, некогда бывшая полностью женской, но теперь имеющая соотношение 1 к 2 не в пользу прекрасного пола. Некая Kultarr, по совместительству выступающая редактором Hecate zine, отвечает здесь за ударные и вокал – и то, и другое выделяется больше всего. Её игра сразу же даёт понять, как должны звучать пресловутые “барабаны войны”, а зверский замогильный рёв вгонит в краску иного мужика. Гитары и бас лишь поддерживают гипнотические ритмы и мрачные заклинания, которые она исторгает из себя. Можно сказать, что “Deidades del inframundo” – это трайбл-музыка, просто исполненная в форме скоростного старомодного Death Metal. Здешний примитивизм не оставляет пространства для чего-то ещё, кроме смерти и насилия во имя древних богов царства Мочика. TUNJUM обязательно понравится фанатам VON, ранних MASSACRE, AUTOPSY и прочих банд, исполняющих мрачный непричёсанный метал.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий