Blitz reviews 14: ABIGAIL, MALEPESTE / DYSYLUMN, OSSUARY INSANE, KOBOLD, SIETE LAGUNAS

14th part of short reviews.

ABIGAIL – Far East Black Metal Onslaught
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Helldprod Records
Rating: 6 / 10

So my ears came to get acquainted with the living and breathing legend of Japanese metal. What can I say ... the same as BARBATOS - speedy and funny, but at the same time clumsy, and the vocals are simply disgusting. Far East in general, do not causes very positive emotions in me, and ABIGAIL does not help to improve the situation. And of course it's not Black Metal.

 

MALEPESTE / DYSYLUMN – Ce qui fut, Ce qui est, Ce qui sera
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Goathorned Productions
Rating: 5 / 10

You always wait for a dirty trick from the bands with French names, and are happy to meet expectations. For example, MALEPESTE is a band with a traditional pretentious aesthetics in the vein of the late Middle Ages, but it plays something Black Metal-like on this split, sometimes swimming into post-whatever harbor. There are many ideas, but it all seems pointless. DYSYLUMN are very similar to their split fellows, only the sound of them is harder and worse in terms of quality. Same stuff: their music is similar to Black Metal, and it has powerful fashion currents somewhere on the subcortex. Honestly, I do not know why this was even recorded.

 

OSSUARY INSANE – Decimation of the Flesh
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 6,5 / 10

Reissue of the first demos of the old US Death Metal band, recorded in the middle of 90s. ery powerful, aggressive and heavy material, especially for its time. Rhythmic drawings are incredibly close to DYING FETUS. However, there is a problem - I can not stand DYING FETUS, therefore OSSUARY INSANE are not really interesting for me. If you do not have such a problem, welcome.

 

KOBOLD – Death Parade
Year of release: 2017
Released by: Iron, Blood and Death Corporation
Rating: 6 / 10

Serbian gang KOBOLD, starting to the record this album, has not decided what it wants to play - Heavy or Thrash Metal. Therefore, until the very end we are forced to watch the tug of war. The main advantage and problem of the album is the vocalist. His voice is awesome, but his hysterical falsetto is suitable only in 70% of cases. All other components are performed at a decent level. It's clear that with such melodic-dashing music, the theme of the album is no good - the texts tell of violence, partying, social problems and other senseless bullshit. In general, everything here is traditional for buyer-friendly melodic Thrash Metal.

 

SIETE LAGUNAS – I & II
Year of release: 2018
Released by: La Caverna Records
Rating: 4 / 10

The decision of the polite young Colombian publisher La Caverna Records to start his activities with the release of this collection of demos can be explained by two reasons: either the owner of the label himself plays in SIETE LAGUNAS, or he is a good friend of the band. There can be no other option. The Bandcamp of the publisher contains excerpts from reviews of other zines, highly praising the release (one even called it possible future of raw Black Metal), and in light of all this I have to become someone who will tell the truth: this is completely insane semi-improvised nonsense with idiotic hysterical screams, strongly reminiscent of the records of a bygone era of "DSBM". Here and there you can meet with some fine decisions; apparently, the group still has some talent. But it was more interested in the "experiments", which resulted in a completely insane... well, I already said that. The first demo is listenable - you can listen to it if you are locked in a solitary cell, where there is nothing but a turntable and a CD with a compilation. The second one is just awful, don't even touch it.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 14: ABIGAIL, MALEPESTE / DYSYLUMN, OSSUARY INSANE, KOBOLD, SIETE LAGUNAS

Четырнадцатый выпуск кратких обзоров.

ABIGAIL – Far East Black Metal Onslaught
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Helldprod Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Вот и дошли у меня уши познакомиться с живой и здравствующей легендой японского метала. Что я могу сказать… такое же, как и BARBATOS – спидово и задорно, но вместе с тем коряво, а вокал просто омерзителен. Дальний Восток вообще у меня вызывает не особо положительные эмоции, и ABIGAIL совершенно не помогают улучшить ситуацию. Ну и Black Metal здесь, разумеется, нет.

 

MALEPESTE / DYSYLUMN – Ce qui fut, Ce qui est, Ce qui sera
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Goathorned Productions
Оценка: 5 / 10

От банд с французскими названиями постоянно ждёшь подвоха, а они и рады оправдать ожидания. Вот, скажем, MALEPESTE – команда с традиционной вычурной эстетикой в духе позднего Средневековья, а играет на этом сплите что-то, похожее на Black Metal, всё время заплывая в пОстовую гавань. Наворочено много чего, но как-то это бессмысленно. DYSYLUMN очень похожи на товарищей по сплиту, только звук у них пожёстче и похуже. Те же яйца: музыка, похожая на Black Metal, с мощными модными течениями где-то на подкорке. Не знаю, зачем было это записывать.

 

OSSUARY INSANE – Decimation of the Flesh
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 6,5 / 10

Переиздание первых демо старой штатовской Death Metal-формации, записанных в середине 90-х. Весьма мощный, агрессивный и тяжёлый материал, особенно для своего времени. Ритмические рисунки невероятно близки к DYING FETUS. Однако есть проблема – я терпеть не могу DYING FETUS, поэтому и OSSUARY INSANE в свою коллекцию ни за что бы не взял. Если у вас такой проблемы не наблюдается, добро пожаловать.

 

KOBOLD – Death Parade
Год выхода: 2017
Издатель: Iron, Blood and Death Corporation
Оценка: 6 / 10

Сербская банда KOBOLD, заседая за запись этого альбома, так и не определилась, что хочет играть – хэви или трэш. Поэтому до самого конца мы вынуждены наблюдать за перетягиванием каната. Главным достоинством и проблемой альбома является вокалист. Голосит он будь здоров, но сплошным истеричным фальцетом, а музыке это не подходит в 70% случаев. Все остальные составляющие выполнены на пристойном уровне. Понятное дело, что при такой мелодично-залихватской музыке тематика альбома никуда не годится – тексты повествуют о насилии, угаре, социалке и прочей бессмысленной хуйне. В общем, всё традиционно для мелодичного “безопасного” трэша.

 

SIETE LAGUNAS – I & II
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: La Caverna Records
Оценка: 4 / 10

Решение вежливого молодого колумбийского издателя La Caverna Records начать свою деятельность с выпуска этого сборника демок можно объяснить двумя причинами: либо хозяин лейбла сам играет в SIETE LAGUNAS, либо они его хорошие друзья. Другого быть не может. На Bandcamp издателя помещены выдержки из рецензий других зинов, расхваливающие релиз последними словами (один даже назвал его возможным будущим сырого Black Metal), и в свете этого я вынужден стать тем, кто скажет правду: это совершенно невменяемая полуимпровизационная ёбань с дурными истеричными воплями, сильно напоминающая записи ушедшей эпохи комнатного “DSBM”. Там и сям проскальзывают не такие уж скверные решения; видимо, группа всё-таки обладает кое-какими талантами. Но ей приспичило “поэкспериментировать”, что вылилось в совершенно невменяемую… а, да, я это уже говорил. Первая демка ещё туда-сюда – скажем, её можно послушать, если вас заперли в одиночной камере, где нет ничего, кроме проигрывателя и диска со сборником. Вторая – полный пиздец, даже не прикасайтесь.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий