Blitz reviews 15: CHAPTER V:F10, CULTURAL WARFARE, DEMONA, CIRRHUS, EMBRACE OF THORNS

15th part of short reviews.

CHAPTER V:F10 – Pathogenesis
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Ashen Dominion
Rating: 7 / 10

CHAPTER V: F10 is a project of Astaroth Merc (RAVENTALE) and Howler (VIRVEL AV MORKERHATET, ex-BALANCE INTERRUPTION). The first one here is responsible for all music, and Howler is... howling. I can not call myself a great expert on Astaroth's projects, but everything I heard from him is more or less like RAVENTALE, and the new CVF10 album is no exception. In this case, the music is closest to the most transcendental three albums of RAVENTALE: "After" - "Bringer of Heartsore" - "Transcendence". As far as I know, these albums are considered the best by the majority of fans of the project, but I find them too watery. I'm a fan of debut album - a little naive, but incredibly sensual, with simple and specific melodies, beating right at the target. "Pathogenesis" is also very similar to the only album of the PRAV project, as it is built on a synthesized blastbeat and has a similar thick sound. Melodic lines on the album are really good, and the rest, perhaps, lacks focus. All this is somehow too abstract. Therefore, I recommend it only to the great admirers of Astaroth's creativity.

https://soundcloud.com/grandsoundspr1/chapter-v-f10-wrong-alien-endorphin/s-zj7Ej

CULTURAL WARFARE – Warmageddon
Year of release: 2018
Released by: M-Theory Audio
Rating: 6,5 / 10

Relatively young thrash metal band from the States, which, apparently, was aimed at a grandiose commercial album and, I must say, was close to its goal. Do not let the awful name of the publisher scare you - in fact, it is the personal office of the chief of Century Media, so the distribution of the album is assured. "Warmageddon" stands out for really high quality of sound, performance and compositional thought. Here, as in the recipe, you can find are all the necessary ingredients of big work - long solos, acoustics, different vocals and styles of playing, and of course ballads. It means that isn't really Thrash Metal how it should be, but everything is done by very high standards. The time-honored, safe average pace prevails in the songs. In general, the music resembles late KREATOR and HIRAX, but with a lower energy, as the vocalist sings quite differently. If you love the albums of respected half-thrash pensioners, released in 2010's by the major labels, "Warmageddon" is for you. But I don't need it even for free.

 

DEMONA – 2015
Year of release: 2015
Released by: Hells Headbangers Records
Rating: 8 / 10

The last recording of the project created by Chilean female fanatic of metal wearing the same name - Demona. In 2017, she renamed her project to OUTLINE. It is a two-song seven-inch, where everything is so perfectly according to the canons of style that there is nothing to find fault with - except for some vocals. Chasing the speed!

 

CIRRHUS – Unimpeachable Madness
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Darker than Black
Rating: 5 / 10

The second album of the US band which for some reason is very loved in their country but copmletely unknown here in the Eastern Europe. Probably, it's no accident: "Unimpeachable Madness" really is a kind of madnesswhere only really rich and epic keyboard parts, made in the spirit of the old EMPEROR, GEHENNA, etc., have some meaning. The metal part is a set of cries and mediocre musical techniques, performed in an extremely chaotic manner. What you can hear here is very similar to all Black Metal-like stuff that you know, but I'd think twice before calling it a music.

EMBRACE OF THORNS – Scorn Aesthetics
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Iron Bonehead Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

A good album of evil metal combined with the Greek one, creating a fairly-ebullient mixture. If you're wondering how primitive dabble can be combined with atmospheric ornate melodies, "Scorn Aesthetics" will offer you a whole mountain of examples. Give it a listen.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 15: CHAPTER V:F10, CULTURAL WARFARE, DEMONA, CIRRHUS, EMBRACE OF THORNS

Пятнадцатый выпуск кратких обзоров.

CHAPTER V:F10 – Pathogenesis
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Ashen Dominion
Оценка: 7 / 10

CHAPTER V:F10 – проект Astaroth’а (RAVENTALE) и Howler’а (VIRVEL AV MORKERHATET, ex-BALANCE INTERRUPTION). Первый здесь ответственен за всю музыку, а второй – за вокал. Я не могу назвать себя большим знатоком проектов Astaroth’а, однако всё, что я у него слышал, в той или иной мере напоминает RAVENTALE, и новый альбом CVF10 – не исключение. В данном случае музыка ближе всего к наиболее трансцендентальной тройке альбомов RAVENTALE “After” – “Bringer of Heartsore” – “Transcendence”. Насколько мне известно, большинством поклонников эти альбомы считаются лучшими у проекта, но я нахожу их излишне водянистыми. Мне гораздо ближе дебютник – немного наивный, но неимоверно прочувствованный, с простыми и конкретными мелодиями, бьющими прямо в цель. “Pathogenesis” также сильно похож на единственный альбом проекта PRAV, поскольку выстроен на синтезированном бласт-бите и имеет схожее густоватое звучание. Мелодические линии на альбоме действительно хорошие, а остальному, пожалуй, недостаёт целенаправленности. Всё это как-то слишком абстрактно. Поэтому рекомендую лишь большим поклонникам творчества Astaroth’а.

https://soundcloud.com/grandsoundspr1/chapter-v-f10-wrong-alien-endorphin/s-zj7Ej

CULTURAL WARFARE – Warmageddon
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: M-Theory Audio
Оценка: 6,5 / 10

Относительно молодая трэшевая команда из Штатов, которая, судя по всему, нацеливалась на грандиозный коммерческий альбом и, надо сказать, была близка к своей цели. Пусть чудовищное название издателя вас не пугает – на самом деле, это личная контора шефа Century Media, так что дистрибьюцья альбому обеспечена. “Warmageddon” выделяется по-настоящему высоким качеством саунда, исполнения и композиторской мысли. На нём, как по рецепту, есть все необходимые компоненты большой работы – и длинные соляки, и акустика, и разные вокалы и стили, и баллады. То есть, это вообще не такой трэш, как надо, зато всё сделано круто. В песнях преобладает проверенный временем безопасный средний темп. В целом, музыка напоминает поздний KREATOR и HIRAX, только с на порядок меньшей энергетикой, поскольку вокалист поёт совсем по-другому. Если вы любите альбомы уважаемых полутрэшевых пенсионеров, выпущенные в 2010-х годах на мажорных конторах, “Warmageddon” придётся вам по вкусу. Ну а мне такое и задарма ня трэба.

 

DEMONA – 2015
Год выхода: 2015
Издатель: Hells Headbangers Records
Оценка: 8 / 10

Последняя запись одноименного проекта чилийской фанатички по старому металу, в прошлом году переименовавшей его в OUTLINE. Представляет собой двухпесенную семидюймовку, где всё настолько по канонам стиля, что придраться не к чему – кроме абы какого вокала. Chasing the speed!

 

CIRRHUS – Unimpeachable Madness
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Darker than Black
Оценка: 5 / 10

Второй альбом штатовской банды, которую почему-то очень любят в своей стране, но совершенно не знают у нас. Наверное, неспроста: “Unimpeachable Madness” и в самом деле представляет собой какое-то не очень внятное безумие, где осмысленностью обладают лишь действительно богатые и эпичные клавишные партии, выполненные в духе старых EMPEROR, GEHENNA и т.д. Метал-часть представляет собой набор воплей и посредственных музыкальных приёмов, поданных в крайне хаотической манере.

EMBRACE OF THORNS – Scorn Aesthetics
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Iron Bonehead Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

Неплохой альбом, в котором правильный злой метал объединяется с греческим, создавая довольно-таки кипучую смесь. Если вам интересно, как примитивная долбёжка может объединяться с атмосферными витиеватыми мелодиями, “Scorn Aesthetics” предложит вам целую гору примеров.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий