Blitz reviews 21: ALL MY SINS, CEMETERY LIGHTS, DEGREDO, GOAT DISCIPLE, KJELD

21st part of short reviews.

ALL MY SINS – Pra sila – Vukov totem
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Saturnal Records
Rating: 6 / 10

When I started Bagnik Zine, the Serbian band ALL MY SINS was one of the first to send me a promo. That was their debut EP, which turned out to be quite promising and to some extent spiritual. Now the band presents its debut album, which leaves a far less interesting impression. A fairly typical Slavic pagan metal with a standard sound, tailored to long-familiar patterns: here we play atmospheric, here we play thrashy fragments, and here we make an evil face. As usual, the last two options are absolutely not working. It's time to remember the legendary “This is not paganism!” of KAMAEDZITCA. As for the atmospheric stuff, it's pretty good. But we heard this 100 times already. Good album, but you really don't have to listen to it.

 

CEMETERY LIGHTS – Lemuralia
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Records
Rating: 5 / 10

I have mixed feelings about this tape. The editors of the wonderful BLACK CURSE zine fell in love with it immediately, but I have doubts. NWN prods says that this is a revival of the spirituality of the early MORTUARY DRAPE, SAMAEL and TIAMAT, multiplied by Roman mythology. I do not dispute the latter, but somehow I don’t remember that the above-mentioned bands ever played a semi-computer made cringy stuff with a drum machine and a whispering vocals. Smells like bullshit to me. But this is very old-school in terms of music itself.

 

DEGREDO – A Noite dos Tempos
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Signal Rex
Rating: 8 / 10

The darkest metal ambient from menacing men in the hoods. Based on ancient mythology and folklore. Despite the lack of an openly satanic aspect, it sounds truly infernal - as if the armies of the revolted dead and nameless creatures from the abyss march through underground caverns, preparing to plunge the world into eternal darkness. Fans of DUSK's "Book of Satan" will like it, but keep in mind that it is much noisier.

 

GOAT DISCIPLE – Wolfcult Domination
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 7 / 10

The merciless metal of war from the States. About equally divided into high-speed slaughter and slow grinding of bones. In the fast parts, it sometimes reminds Krywian VERWÜSTUNG. In the slow ones - some brutal death metal or late BELPHEGOR. A sense of physical abuse is present everywhere.

 

KJELD – Banier fan Frisia
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Heidens Hart Records
Rating: 5,7 / 10

Dutch national metal with a slant to atmospheric sound. Released on very good label Heidens Hart which owner I deeply respect, but I still don’t remember the case that I really liked at least one of his releases. Here is the same situation: the music is not bad, but secondary, the sound is thin. The drum parts are as weak as if the drummer strokes them, not beats. Everything is slightly sugary and unconvincing. Only the last song is good, similar to SAOR.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 21: ALL MY SINS, CEMETERY LIGHTS, DEGREDO, GOAT DISCIPLE, KJELD

Двадцать первый выпуск кратких обзоров.

ALL MY SINS – Pra sila – Vukov totem
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Saturnal Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Когда я только начинал Bagnik Zine, сербская группа ALL MY SINS была одной из первых, приславших мне промо. То был их дебютный EP, оказавшийся довольно многообещающим и в какой-то мере одухотворённым. Теперь группа представляет свой дебютный альбом, который оставляет уже далеко не такое интересное впечатление. На нём представлен довольно типовой славянский языческий метал со стандартным саундом, скроенный по давно знакомым лекалам: здесь сыграем атмосферно, здесь зарядим трэшаку, а тут  сделаем злобное лицо. Как водится, последние два варианта абсолютно не в дугу. Самое время вспомнить легендарное “Это не язычество!”KAMAEDZITCA. Что касается атмосферных участков, то с ними полный порядок. Но такое мы уже тоже слышали сто раз. Альбом неплохой, однако не обязателен для прослушивания.

 

CEMETERY LIGHTS – Lemuralia
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Records
Оценка: 5 / 10

По поводу этой кассеты у меня ощущения смешанные. Редакция замечательного фэнзина BLACK CURSE её полюбила сразу же, а я недоумеваю. NWN утверждает, будто бы это возрождение духовности ранних MORTUARY DRAPE, SAMAEL и TIAMAT, помноженное на римскую мифологию. Последнее не оспариваю, но как-то я не припомню, чтобы вышеперечисленные банды когда-либо играли полукомпьютерную корявку с драм-машиной и шепчущим вокалом. Попахивает надувательством. А так-то всё очень старомодно, конечно.

 

DEGREDO – A Noite dos Tempos
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Signal Rex
Оценка: 8 / 10

Мрачнейший метал-эмбиент от грозных мужиков в капюшонах. Основывается на древней мифологии и фольклоре. Несмотря на отсутствие открыто сатанинского аспекта, звучит поистине инфернально – как будто армии восставших мертвецов и безымянных тварей из бездны маршируют по подземным кавернам, готовясь погрузить мир в вечную тьму. Понравится поклонникам “Book of Satan” DUSK, но учитывайте, что это намного шумнее.

 

GOAT DISCIPLE – Wolfcult Domination
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 7 / 10

Беспощадный метал войны из Штатов. Примерно поровну делится на скоростную резню и медленное перемалывание костей. В быстрых отрезках иногда напоминает наш VERWÜSTUNG, в медленных – какую-нибудь брутальную дэтовую команду или поздний BELPHEGOR. Ощущение физического насилия присутствует повсеместно.

 

KJELD – Banier fan Frisia
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Heidens Hart Records
Оценка: 5,7 / 10

Голландский национальный метал с уклоном в атмосферное звучание. Издан на кругом правильном лейбле Heidens Hart, владельца которого я уважаю, но ещё не припомню случая, чтобы мне действительно понравился хоть один его релиз. Тут та же ситуация – музыка неплохая, но вторичная, саунд жиденький. Ударные так слабы, будто барабанщик их гладит, а не бьёт. Слегка слащаво и неубедительно. Только последняя песня хорошая, похожа на SAOR.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий