Blitz reviews: BARÚS, GOAT EXPLOSION, ONSET, RODENT EPOCH, RUIN

22nd part of short reviews.

BARÚS – Drowned
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Memento Mori
Rating: 7,5 / 10

Tricky progressive death metal from France. The release on Memento Mori in itself implies that “progressiveness” is in second place here. So it is: in front of us is very heavy, weird and gloomy death metal which the Spanish label has always preferred. Complex musical constructions only make it even more unfriendly. Perhaps, this is their only function - in my view, all this could have been played in more traditional sizes, but it’s the band's decision. Good and atmospheric album, which requires a lot of time for listening.

 

 

GOAT EXPLOSION – Rumors of Man
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Into Endless Chaos Records
Rating: 6,3 / 10

Very characteristic Heavy / Stoner Metal, just so much so that nothing to say. Choose any epithet appropriate to this style, and be sure that it fits. The canonical sound, the canonical style of performance. Perhaps the vocals are distinguished by their German origin, which is felt due to the light accent. In addition, the music sometimes unfolds unexpectedly epic canvases to the listener, but not for long. Not a bad album, but nothing outstanding.

 

ONSET – Unstructured Dissemination
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Weird Truth Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

Instrumental ambient doom from Singapore - it would seem, who in their right mind would listen to this? But the cover, made in the spirit of the design of fantastic books in the 70s, is already causing serious curiosity. And the publisher's name finally convinces that this release should be paid attention to. In fact, Singaporeans perform very unusual and atmospheric music, which could serve as a good soundtrack for a dark and slightly psychedelic Sci-Fi series. The riffs, collected along the bottom of the barrel of various Doom Metal styles, are strong but the keyboard parts are even better; they really make difference. It is noteworthy that Mirai Kawashima (SIGH) is responsible for the majority of the synth parts. Apparently, this is the whole secret. I recommend to listen to this album.

 

RODENT EPOCH – Rodentlord
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Saturnal Records
Rating: 6,8 / 10

Driving, malicious and very nasty black metal. A press release proudly states that this release will kill your ego and pull out the dirty animal essence. I have heard more brutal records, but the statement as a whole is justified. All the ingredients of old extreme metal are mixed here - blood, guts, shit, sexual perversions, vomit, satanism, unmotivated violence, occultism, black magic, necrophilia, and so on. Plus killer design of the CD. It is a pity that the music as such has let us down - nothing interesting happens in it, as the group was ashamed to go all the way and flop into a totally piggy madness. The half measures are unacceptable!

 

RUIN – Human Annihilation
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Memento Mori
Rating: 7 / 10

Another release from Memento Mori, and, of course, this is again the gloomy metal of death, but in many respects the opposite of BARÚS. Having formed in 1990 (and having broken up a year later, to return in 2015), RUIN remain faithful to the primitive traditions of the genre. Therefore, their album is stupid, aggressive, dirty and powerful, like an overgrown retard. And that's a compliment. The band tried very hard to make “Human Annihilation” consistent with the spirit of the old era in everything, from music to the cover.The deaf sound and the merciless nature of the album will scare away many, but those who love to lie in other people's guts have every chance to get a new favorite. In fact, after such albums you do not understand how bands like MONSTROSITY, HATE ETERNAL, DECAPITATED, etc. can be attributed to Death Metal genre. The real metal of death is here before you.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 22: BARÚS, GOAT EXPLOSION, ONSET, RODENT EPOCH, RUIN

Двадцать второй выпуск кратких обзоров.

BARÚS – Drowned
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Memento Mori
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Замороченный прогрессивный Death Metal из Франции. Издание на Memento Mori само по себе подразумевает, что “прогрессивность” здесь стоит на втором месте. Так оно и есть: перед нами неподъёмно тяжёлый, тягучий и мрачный дэт, которому испанский лейбл всегда отдавал предпочтение. Сложные музыкальные конструкции лишь делают его ещё более недружелюбным. Пожалуй, это их единственная функция – как по мне, всё это можно было бы сыграть в более традиционных размерах, но дело хозяйское. Хороший и атмосферный альбом, требующий немало времени на расслушивание.

 

 

GOAT EXPLOSION – Rumors of Man
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Into Endless Chaos Records
Оценка: 6,3 / 10

Очень характерный Heavy / Stoner Metal, прямо настолько, что и сказать нечего. Выбирайте любой эпитет, подходящий этому стилю, и будьте уверены, что он подойдёт. Каноничный звук, каноничная манера игры, и разве что вокал выделяется своим немецким происхождением, которое ощущается благодаря лёгкому акценту. Кроме того, музыка иногда разворачивает перед слушателем неожиданно эпические полотна, однако ненадолго. Неплохой альбом, но ничего выдающегося.

 

ONSET – Unstructured Dissemination
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Weird Truth Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

Инструментальный эмбиент-дум, да ещё из Сингапура – казалось бы, кто в здравом уме станет это слушать? Но одна только обложка, выполенная в духе оформления фантастических книг в 70-х, уже вызывает серьёзное любопытство. А имя издателя окончательно убеждает, что на сей релиз нужно обратить внимание. В самом деле, сингапурцы исполняют очень необычную и атмосферную музыку, которая могла бы послужить хорошим саундтреком для мрачного и немного психоделического НФ-сериала. Риффы, собранные по сусекам различных стилей Doom Metal, сильны, но клавишные партии ещё лучше; в них и кроется самая мякотка. Примечательно, что за большую часть партий отвечает сам Мираи Кавашима (SIGH) – видимо, в этом весь секрет. Рекомендую ознакомиться.

 

RODENT EPOCH – Rodentlord
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Saturnal Records
Оценка: 6,8 / 10

Драйвовый, злостный и очень мерзкий чёрный метал. Пресс-релиз гордо заявляет, что этот релиз убьёт ваше эго и вытащит наружу грязную животную сущность. Слыхали мы вещи и более зверские, но заявление в целом оправданное. Здесь смешиваются все ингредиенты старого экстремального метала – кровь, кишки, говно, сексуальные извращения, блевотина, сатанизм, немотивированное насилие, оккультизм, чёрная магия, некрофилия и так далее.  Плюс убойное оформление диска. Жаль, что музыка как таковая подкачала – в ней не происходит ничего интересного, поскольку группа постеснялась пойти до конца и плюхнуться в совсем уж свинскую распиздяйщину. А полумер мы не приемлем!

 

RUIN – Human Annihilation
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Memento Mori
Оценка: 7 / 10

Ещё один релиз от Memento Mori, и, конечно, это снова угрюмый метал смерти, но во многом противоположный BARÚS. Сформировавшись в 1990-ом году (и распавшись год спустя, чтобы вернуться в 2015-ом), RUIN остаются верны первобытным традициям жанра. Поэтому их альбом тупой, агрессивный, грязный и мощный, как дебил-переросток. Если что, это комплимент. Группа очень постаралась, чтобы “Human Annihilation” во всём соответствовал духу давней эпохи, начиная от музыки и заканчивая обложкой. Глуховатый саунд и беспощадная природа альбома отпугнут многих, но любители поваляться в чужих кишках имеют все шансы заполучить нового фаворита. На самом деле, после таких альбомов не понимаешь, как вообще можно относить к Death Metal банды типа MONSTROSITY, HATE ETERNAL, DECAPITATED и т.п. Настоящий метал смерти – вот он, перед вами.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий