Рецензия: GRENOUER – Death of a Bite

Year of release: 1993 / 2018 (this version)
Released by: Metal Race Records
Rating: 6 / 10

I took the next retro-release from Metal Race with great skepticism - GRENOUER, from its second recording, I associate with all the sores of post-soviet metal at the turn of the century: a merciless musical vinaigrette, "deep meaning" of the lyrics, AWFUL graphic design.In the light of all this, by the way, it was fun to know that GRENOUER had recently signed up for Sleazsy Rider Records. It is impossible to think of a more suitable office - the Greeks has long specialized in the production of discs that you don't even want to take in your hands, not saying about listening.

But this is not important right, because Death of a Bite” is a completely different thing, real Death Metal! At least, that what Anatoly from Metal Race said to me. As always, he did not deceive. Indeed, on this 1993' demo the metal of death is presented in its purest form, without any “let's play rock here, and then strike a spoon on the pan, and say that these are elements of industrial”. The question is, is this a good demo that really deserved re-release?

I am not 100% sure about that. “Death of a Bite” is that type of Death metal which with equal success could have come out in 1993 or 2008 or whenever. Except the sound, manner of performance of vocals and texts, it has no unique features from the past era that make him worthwile. Pretty simple and dynamic music with simple guitar solos, dull and aggressive, as it should be. The influence of CANNIBAL CORPSE is clearly visible, but the level of ingenuity and technicality of GRENOUER is lower than even on “Butchered at Birth”. The texts, as I have already said, correspond to the spirit of the time, but in places there is complete absurdity going on in them, as if they were first written in English, and then translated back using an alpha version of Promt. "Aggression. Perforated enemy / agony. / Replacing functions. Anxiety. Cancer changer ”- I really want to add:“ Ahinea. Awesome delirium ”. In view of the foregoing, I can only recommend this release to collectors of everything oldas well as to loyal fans of GRENOUER (strangely, but they exist) - after all, this is the first edition of “Death of a Bite” on CD.

CD version from Metal Race made quite well, especially when you consider that, in addition to the cover and a couple of photos, no material on the design was available. They even managed to create a full booklet. The design can be criticized for being a bit blury, but if you compare it to other GRENOUER releases, it looks like an exhibit from Tretyakov Gallery. See more details on a video.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: GRENOUER – Death of a Bite

Год выхода: 1993 / 2018 (это издание)
Издатель: Metal Race Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Очередной ретро-релиз от Metal Race я воспринял с большим скептицизмом – группа GRENOUER уже со второй своей записи ассоциируется у меня со всеми болячками постсовкового метала на рубеже веков: беспощадный музыкальный винегрет, глубокий смысол текстаф и ЧУДОВИЩНЫЙ графический дизайн. В свете всего этого, кстати, было забавно узнать, что GRENOUER недавно подписались на Sleazsy Rider Records. Более подходящую контору придумать нельзя – греческое издательство издавна специализируется на выпуске дисков, которые неприятно даже брать в руки, не говоря уж о том, чтобы слушать.

Но это всё ерунда, а вот “Death of a Bite” – совсем другое дело, настоящий Death Metal! По крайней мере, так утверждает глава Metal Race Анатолий. Как всегда, он не обманул. Действительно, на демке 1993-го года метал смерти представлен в чистейшем виде, без всякого там “давайте вот тут сыграем рок, а тут ударим ложкой по кастрюле, и скажем, что это элементы индастриала”. Вопрос в том, так ли это демо хорошо, что его следовало переиздавать?

Ответить однозначно не могу. “Death of a Bite” относится к тому подвиду Death Metal, который с равным успехом мог выйти что в 1993-ем, что в 2008-ом. Помимо звука, манеры исполнения вокала и текстов, у него нет никаких уникальных черт, относящихся к ушедшей эпохе, из-за которых его стоило бы слушать. Довольно несложная музыка, динамичная, с простыми гитарными соло, тупая и агрессивная, как и должно быть. Хорошо заметно влияние CANNIBAL CORPSE, однако уровень изобретательности и техничности у GRENOUER ниже, чем даже на “Butchered at Birth”. Тексты, как я уже сказал, соответствуют духу времени, но местами в них творится полный абсурд, как будто они сначала писались на английском, а потом переводились обратно альфа-версией Промта. “Агрессия. Прободенный враг / Агония. / Замена функций. Тревога. Раковый чейндж” – так и просится добавить: “Ахинея. Бодяжный делирий”. Ввиду всего вышесказанного, я могу порекомендовать сей релиз только коллекционерам всего старого “нашего”, а также преданным поклонникам группы GRENOUER (странно, но таковые существуют) – как-никак, это первое издание “Death of a Bite” на CD.

Компакт от Metal Race сделан весьма неплохо, особенно если учесть, что, помимо обложки и пары фотографий, никакого материала по оформлению не имелось. Получилось даже собрать полноценный буклет. Дизайн можно покритиковать за небольшую мыльность, но на фоне остальных релизов GRENOUER это прямо-таки экспонат из Третьяковской галереи. Подробнее смотрите на видео.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий