Blitz reviews 24: GLOAM / OBSCURE EVIL, OUTRE-TOMBE, SÖNAMBULA, PESTE UMBRARUM, VETALA

24th part of short reviews.

GLOAM / OBSCURE EVIL – Gloam / Obscure Evil
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 7 / 10

Very good split from two little-known bands. Americans GLOAM offer a very solid black metal with an occult smell, strongly resembling the work of CULTES DES GHOULES. The sound is cleaner, otherwise the similarity is incredible. Peruvians OBSCURE EVIL, which existed only three years and by the time of the release of the record already split up, recorded two tracks of “drunken Latin American diabolism”. Simply put, this is the traditional Black Metal interspersed with rock and roll. Both sides of the split are quite cool, you won't regret if you buy it.

OUTRE-TOMBE – Nécrovortex
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Temple of Mystery Records
Rating: 6,5 / 10

The second album of the Canadian Death Metal band working in the Swedish style. The label positions OUTRE-TOMBE as conscious musicians, preferring to work long and carefully on their albums, rather than to fill up the stage with useless shit. Good intentions, but I don’t hear how “Nécrovortex” (besides the cool cover) differs from the one million records of, for example, Rogga Johansson who records his stuff with one left hand during the lunch breaks. I haven't found any super-good songs here. Such music is very difficult to spoil, but even harder to improve. It revolves around the same set of compositional solutions, and a certain freedom for performers exists only in the field of working with sound. In this regard, OUTRE-TOMBE acted strange.The sound is heavy and bold, but at the same time there is some internal softness in it, it's a common characteristic of French-speaking bands. All this makes “Nécrovortex” a good album, but not outstanding.

PESTE UMBRARUM – Night Shines Eternal
Year of release: 2018
Released by: self-release
Rating: 5 / 10

This American group sent a very good press kit, which is why it is especially unfortunate that the demo turned out uninteresting. Almost all of its components, I would characterize using the word "weak. Weak sound (despite the recording, which seems to be made by the most correct method - live in studio), powerless songs, frail melody, lack of genuine darkness... A little surprising, considering the experience of musicians. Fans of rose-smelling French or Canadian scenes would probably like it.

SÖNAMBULA – Bicéfalo
Year of release: 2018
Released by: self-release
Rating: 6 / 10

The second album of the Spanish death doom band. There is much more death than doom, so the music is often accelerated, and the sound tends to maximum heaviness... but only the sound. I don't feel a real extremity in this album. Groovy elements do not help either. I can't believe this music. Album of one listening.

VETALA – Retarded Necro Demential Hole
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Harvest of Death
Rating: 6,66 / 10

VETALA are representatives of the Portuguese Black Circle sect. Which, as is easy to understand, continues the work of various inner circles, but especially LLN. This is expressed in the overall style of the Black Cirlce groups - from sharply contrasting black and white design to sound quality that makes your ears bleed. I really want to say that here it is, at last - the authentic Black Metal in its pristine purity... but songs like “Pissing Terrorism” from one of VETALA albums make these guys' intentions doubtful. Unfortunately, I practically know nothing about musicians to draw any conclusions. As for music, there is sheer joy: chaos, dirt, destruction of the instruments and overt hatred for the listener. The average length of the songs is 10 minutes, so do not wait for mercy.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 24: GLOAM / OBSCURE EVIL, OUTRE-TOMBE, SÖNAMBULA, PESTE UMBRARUM, VETALA

Двадцать четвёртый выпуск кратких обзоров.

GLOAM / OBSCURE EVIL – Gloam / Obscure Evil
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 7 / 10

Очень неплохой сплит от двух мало кому известных команд. Американцы GLOAM предлагают весьма солидный чёрный метал с оккультным душком, сильно напоминающий работы CULTES DES GHOULES. Звук почище, в остальном сходство невероятное. Перуанцы OBSCURE EVIL, просуществовавшие всего три года и к моменту выпуска пластинки уже разбежавшиеся, записали два трека “пьяной латиноамериканской дьявольщины”. Проще говоря, это традиционный Black Metal вперемешку с рок-н-роллом. Обе стороны сплита слушаются с удовольствием, можно брать в коллекцию.

OUTRE-TOMBE – Nécrovortex
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Temple of Mystery Records
Оценка: 6,5 / 10

Второй альбом канадской Death Metal-группы, работающей в шведском стиле. Лейбл позиционирует OUTRE-TOMBE как музыкантов сознательных, предпочитающих конструировать свои альбомы долго и тщательно, а не заваливать сцену однотипными поделками. Намерения благие, но я не слышу, чем “Nécrovortex” (помимо классной обложки) отличается от миллиона записей того же Рогги Юханссона, которые он клепает одной левой во время обеденных перерывов. Суперхитов я тут не обнаружил. Такую музыку очень трудно испортить, но ещё труднее улучшить. Она вращается вокруг одного и того же набора композиционных решений, и определённая свобода для исполнителей существует лишь в области работы со звуком. В этом плане OUTRE-TOMBE поступили странно. Саунд тяжёлый и жирный, но в то же время в нём присутствует некоторая внутренняя смягчённость, характерная для франкоязычных банд. Всё это делает “Nécrovortex” хорошим альбомом, но не выдающимся.

PESTE UMBRARUM – Night Shines Eternal
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 5 / 10

Эта американская группа прислала очень хороший пресс-кит, поэтому особенно жаль, что демо оказалось никудышным. Почти все его составляющие я бы охарактеризовал словом “слабо”. Жиденький звучок (несмотря на запись, которая, похоже, сделана самым правильным методом – живьём в студии), лишённые мощи песни, хилая мелодичность, отсутствие подлинной тьмы… Немного удивительно, учитывая опыт музыкантов. Поклонникам пахнущей розами французской или канадской сцены, наверное, придётся по вкусу.

SÖNAMBULA – Bicéfalo
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 6 / 10

Второй альбом испанской дэт-думовой группы, где с этого года играет некто Алексей Богданов из России. Дэта тут намного больше, музыка часто ускоряется, а звучание стремится к максимальной тяжести… но именно звучание. Настоящей экстремальности в альбоме не ощущается. Элементы грува тоже не идут ему на пользу. Поэтому верить этой музыке не хочется. Послушал – и забыл.

VETALA – Retarded Necro Demential Hole
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Harvest of Death
Оценка: 6,66 / 10

VETALA – представители португальской Black Metal-секты Black Circle, которая, как легко понять, продолжает дело различных чёрных кругов, но в особенности LLN. Это выражается в общей стилистике групп Black Cirlce – от резко контрастного чёрно-белого оформления до убийственного для ушей качества звука. Очень хочется сказать, что вот оно, наконец-то – подлинный Black Metal в своей первозданной чистоте… но песни вроде “Pissing Terrorism” с одного из полноформатных альбомов VETALA заставляют усомниться в намерениях португальцев. К сожалению, я практически ничего не знаю о музыкантах, чтобы делать какие-то выводы. Что касается музыки, то здесь сплошная радость – каша, грязь, издевательское отношение к инструментам и неприкрытая ненависть к слушателю. Песни длятся в среднем по 10 минут, поэтому пощады не ждите.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий