Blitz reviews 25: MYRHOLT, PAINTHING, HELLLIGHT, VELVET DREAM, WITCH KING

25th part of short reviews.

MYRHOLT – Nordland
Year of release: 2018
Released by: self-release
Rating: 5,5 / 10

The creativity of MYRHOLT clearly demonstrates why a society that has attained a high level of well-being needs war; it will make all idlers busy. MYRHOLT is a project of some hyperactive madman named Ole Aleksander Myrholt, a member of almost two dozen bands which are united only by their uselessness. MYRHOLT is definitely a circus: this project allegedly existed since 1992, changed the name 7 times during these years, and only in 2017 it began to produce at least something. But in no small amounts. “Nordland” is already the fourth full-length (and there is still a lot of singles), and it is positioned as “Norwegian Black Metal, no more and no less”. I can't argue about it being Norwegian, there is no doubts about that. But I did not notice Black Metal here. Cries, tremolo, runes on the cover and musical moves taken from the classics are not Black Metal yet. The music on the album is desperately reminiscent of KAMPFAR, as well as the themes. In my eyes, this is not a compliment, but I must admit that this humble rip-off turned out to be of high quality. Although some decisions cause only sorrow - like, for example, some kind of rap in the second half of the second track. Enough wasting words; I can recommend “Nordland” only to illegible lovers of everything Norwegian.

 

PAINTHING – Where Are You Now…?
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Solitude Productions
Rating: 5,8 / 10

With all my heart I adore the Polish music scene, but I associate Polish Doom Metal with something totally unsuitable for use. Until now, I have not heard a single sensible doom metal band from Poland. Usually, they provide some kind of bubble gum with a snot, nothing more. The press release says that this is a doom metal in the vein of the golden times of the 90s, but I would say that the spirit of the troubled 2000s pervades it. The bad pronunciation of the vocalist, clumsy pure-voiced fragments and confusion in the music make me recall the worst samples of Russian doom metal, which Solitude Productions almost always avoided. Why they suddenly decided to take up PAINTHING is not clear. Probably because there are OKTOR members in the line-up. Or because the keyboard parts here are much better than the rest, and the guitars are cabaple of playing some heart-rending melody from time to time. These melodies are just awesome, but the “heavy” parts are no good.

HELLLIGHT – As We Slowly Fade
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Solitude Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

The new album of a highly experienced and respected Brazilian group became my first acquaintance with it, although I sold a lot of HELLLIGHT CDs in the past. Everything here turned out as I expected. This is a bit boring music for me (after all, I am not a doom metal guy) performed according to the canons of the funeral doom death (not vice versa!): slow, mournful, solemn riffs, interludes on the piano and acoustics, stilted clean vocal and moody roar. There are a couple of songs in a darker key, death doom metal key, with keyboard “organs” that reminded me about the recent release of COMATOSE VIGIL A.K. Undoubtedly, this is a very good and solid album, just not my type of music.

VELVET DREAM – Darkened Mysteria
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Into Endless Chaos Records
Rating: 7,5 / 10

While I am writing these lines, there is -20 frost outside, accompanied by a chilling wind, so I have enough of winter. If you are not lucky enough and you live in a region where there is no winter or if it simply did not came, VELVET DREAM can help you. The album of this mysterious project offers more than an hour of winter ambient from deserted gloomy mountains. Hypnotic cold sounds are diluted by the creaking of boots in the snow, drops and raging streams from warm caves, the voice of the wind echoing among the gorges covered with snow and ice. This is a very good and canonical ambient release, not offering a celebration of fantasy and not always successfully executed, but able to deliver a lot of amazing minutes. Released as digipack limited to 100 copies only.

WITCH KING – Voice of the Ossuary
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 8 / 10

Looking at the name of the project, I thought that I am dealing with another retro doom, but I was wrong. From the first seconds the pile of real Death / Black Metal metal struck me. Metal of death undoubtedly prevails here but ruthlessness and hellish energy comes from the Black side. As usual in such cases, there is nothing special to say about the album, besides the fact that it is absolutely mad and heavy. Oh yeah, also it really has songs, not just primeval blasting and roaring. The songs, however, are not particularly inventive, but the band deserves respect for trying. ARCHGOAT and TEITANBLOOD fans should listen to this.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 25: MYRHOLT, PAINTHING, HELLLIGHT, VELVET DREAM, WITCH KING

Двадцать пятый выпуск кратких обзоров.

MYRHOLT – Nordland
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 5,5 / 10

Творчество MYRHOLT наглядно демонстрирует, почему обществу, достигшему высокого уровня благосостояния, необходима война – она займёт всех бездельников. MYRHOLT – проект некого гиперактивного безумца по имени Оле Александер Мирхольт, участника почти двух десятков никому не нужных банд, которые объединяет лишь их паршивость. MYRHOLT – та ещё клоунада; проект якобы существовал аж с 1992-го, за годы 7 раз сменив название, и только в 2017-ом начав выпускать хоть что-то. Зато сразу пачками. “Nordland” – уже четвёртый полноформат (а ещё есть гора синглов), и позиционируется он как “норвежский Black Metal, ни больше ни меньше”. Что норвежский – это никто не оспаривает, а вот Black Metal я здесь не заметил. Крики, тремоло, руны на обложке и перенятые у классиков музыкальные ходы – это ещё не Black Metal. Музыка на альбом отчаянно напоминает KAMPFAR, тематика тоже. В моих глазах это не комплимент, но надо признать, что обдиралово получилось качественным. Хотя некоторые решения вызывают лишь скорбь – как, например, некое подобие рэпа во второй половине второго трека. Хватит, пожалуй, тратить слова, а то уже получается какой-то не блиц; могу порекомендовать “Nordland” только неразборчивым любителям всего норвежского.

 

PAINTHING – Where Are You Now…?
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Solitude Productions
Оценка: 5,8 / 10

Я всей душой обожаю польскую музыкальную сцену, но польский Doom Metal ассоциируется у меня с чем-то таким малопригодным к употреблению. До сих пор не слышал ни одной толковой думовой банд из Польши – сплошь попадается жвачка с соплями. PAINTHING, к сожалению, ничем особо не отличается от остальных. Пресс-релиз гласит, что это дум в духе золотых времён 90-х, но я бы сказал, что его пропитывает дух смутных 2000-х. Дурное произношение вокалиста, плохие чистоголосые фрагменты и разброд в музыке заставляют вспомнить о скверных образцах российского дума, которого именно Solitude Productions почти всегда сторонились, снимая лишь сливки. Почему они вдруг решили взяться за PAINTHING – непонятно. Наверное, потому, что в составе числятся участники OKTOR. Или потому, что клавишные партии здесь гораздо лучше всего остального, а гитары нет-нет, да и выдадут одну-другую душераздирающую мелодию. Именно эти мелодии полякам удались на ура, зато “тяжёлые” отрезки ни на что не годны.

HELLLIGHT – As We Slowly Fade
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Solitude Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

Новый альбом многоопытной и уважаемой бразильской группы стал для меня первым с ней знакомством, хотя дисков в прошлом я напродал немало. В принципе, всё вышло как я ожидал. Это немного скучноватая для меня музыка (всё-таки я не (д)умер), исполненная по канонам похоронного дум-дэта (не наоборот!): медлительные, скорбные, торжественные риффы, интерлюдии на фортепиано и акустике, высокопарный чистый вокал и угрюмый рёв. Есть пара песен и в более мрачном ключе, уже дэт-думовом, с клавишными “органами”, которые напомнили недавний релиз COMATOSE VIGIL A.K. Бесспорно, это очень хороший и солидный альбом, просто не для меня.

VELVET DREAM – Darkened Mysteria
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Into Endless Chaos Records
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Пока я пишу эти строки, за окном стоит двадцатиградусный мороз, сопровождаемый леденящим ветром, поэтому зимы мне хватает. Если же вам не повезло жить в регионе, где зимы не бывает, либо она просто не задалась, VELVET DREAM может вам помочь. Альбом этого таинственного проекта предлагает более часа зимнего эмбиента с безлюдных мрачных гор. Гипнотические холодные звуки разбавляются скрипом сапог по снегу, капелью и бурлящими потоками из тёплых пещер, голосом ветра, эхом отдающимся среди покрытых снегом и льдом ущелий. Это очень хороший и каноничный эмбиентный релиз, не предлагающий торжества фантазии и не всегда удачно исполненный, но способный доставить немало потрясающих минут. Тираж – всего 100 копий в дигипаке.

WITCH KING – Voice of the Ossuary
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 8 / 10

Глянув на название проекта, я подумал, что имею дело с очередным ретро-думом, но не тут-то было. С первых секунд на меня обрушилась гора настоящего Death / Black Metal-железа. Метала смерти здесь, пожалуй, побольше, но беспощадность и адская энергия, без сомнения, идёт с Чёрной стороны. Как обычно в таких случаях, сказать об альбоме особо нечего, помимо того, что он абсолютно бешеный и тяжеленный. Ах да, ещё здесь действительно есть песни, а не просто первобытная молотиловка. Песни, правда, не особенно изобретательные, но за попытку честь и хвала. Фанатикам ARCHGOAT и TEITANBLOOD слушать в обязательном порядке.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий