Review: MAJESTIC DOWNFALL – Waters of Fate

Year of release: 2018
Released by: Chaos Records / Solitude Productions / Weird Truth Productions
Rating: 7,9 / 10

Now that is my kind of album. This US doom metal project that decided to move to Mexico (unbelievable, they actually move both sides!) releases its fifth full-length at three labels at once: Mexican Chaos Records, Russian Solitude Productions, and Japanese Weird Truth Productions. For some reason, the Mexican release is infringed on rights - there is one less track on it - but our lands, fortunately, are under the mournful shadow of the mighty Solitude wing, so it will be easy for Bagnik Zine readers to obtain the full version of the album.

MAJESTIC DOWNFALL performs great Doom Death Metal which reminded me about the epic masterpiece of DOOM:VS - "Earthless". Not that “Waters of Fate” is really so similar, for sure there are works that are spiritually closer to it, but I'm not so versed in the genre to know about them. It is important that this is a wonderful music, possessing all the necessary qualities to take a place in the collection and become one of the favorite albums for repeated listening. These heavy riffs have a harsh melodic beauty imbued with a powerful feeling, and the emotional vocals make you believe that all this is done not just for the sake of entertainment. Huge songs - 11.5 minutes on average - throw a severe test to the listener. This is not a funeral doom with its ultra-slow riffs; here you cannot catch one tune and sail on it until the very end. Each composition contains such a number of "bricks" that would be enough for the construction of 4-5 songs, no less. At the same time, MAJESTIC DOWNFALL manage not to go beyond the borders of the style, they even barely dilute the material with high-speed fragments. There is a lot of acoustics of course but not enough to get sick of it. And those beautiful guitar solos!

The album was mixed and mastered not at some shithole, but at Necromorbus Studios. As a result, it has a very powerful, slightly viscous and atmospheric sound, giving the music an extra dimension. It is impossible to imagine a better option: the multifaceted “Waters of Fate” offers you the opportunity to cry a bit, to take a walk somewhere outside our world, and also to wonder how far the ingenuity of the composers goes. However, in the latter lies the only serious drawback of the album: the songs are too bulky to remember at least something from them, except for general impressions. If we compare it with aforementioned "Earthless" the fundamental difference becomes clear: DOOM:VS album stays with you forever, while MAJESTIC DOWNFALL new work owns your soul only until the moment when your CD player stops playing it.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: MAJESTIC DOWNFALL – Waters of Fate

Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Chaos Records / Solitude Productions / Weird Truth Productions
Оценка: 7,9 / 10

Вот это альбом по мне. Штатовский думовый проект, переехавший в Мексику (невероятно, но именно так, а не наоборот), выпускает уже пятый свой полноформат силами аж трёх лейблов – мексиканского Chaos Records, российского Solitude Productions и японского Weird Truth Productions. Мексиканский релиз почему-то ущемлён в правах – на нём на один трек меньше – но наши земли, к счастью, находятся под скорбной тенью могучего крыла Solitude, поэтому тутэйшым читателям Bagnik Zine будет несложно заполучить полную версию альбома.

MAJESTIC DOWNFALL исполняет замечательнейший Doom Death Metal, напомнивший мне прежде всего эпический шедевр DOOM:VS “Earthless”. Не то чтобы “Waters of Fate” прямо так сильно похож на него, наверняка есть и более близкие по духу работы, но я не настолько сведущ в жанре, чтобы знать о них. Важно то, что это прекрасная музыка, обладающая всеми необходимыми качествами для того, чтобы занять место в коллекции и регулярно переслушиваться. Здешние тяжёлые риффы обладают суровой мелодической красотой, пропитанной мощным чувством, а эмоциональный вокал заставляет поверить, что всё это делается не просто ради развлечения. Огромные песни – 11,5 минут в среднем – подбрасывают слушателю суровое испытание. Это не похоронный дум с его ультра-медленными риффами, здесь нельзя зацепиться за одну мелодию и плыть на ней до самого конца. Каждая композиция содержит такое количество “кирпичиков”, что их хватило бы на постройку 4-5 песен, не меньше. При этом MAJESTIC DOWNFALL ухитряются не выходить за рамки стиля, они даже почти не разбавляют материал скоростными фрагментами. Акустики, конечно, много, но не настолько, чтобы пресытиться ею. А какие здесь гитарные соло!

Альбом сводился и мастерился не абы где, а на Necromorbus Studios. Как следствие, он обладает очень мощным, немного вязким и атмосферным саундом, придающим музыке дополнительное измерение. Лучшего варианта и представить нельзя: многогранный “Waters of Fate” предлагает и пустить слезу, и погулять где-то за пределами нашего мира, и подивиться изобретательности композиторов. Впрочем, в последнем кроется единственный серьёзный недостаток альбома: песни слишком громоздкие, чтобы запомнить хоть что-то из них, кроме общих впечатлений. Если сравнивать с тем же “Earthless”, становится понятно коренное различие: альбом DOOM:VS остаётся с тобой навсегда, а новая работа MAJESTIC DOWNFALL лишь до того момента, когда проигрыватель замолкает.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий