Рецензия: NIEZGAL – Stogn ź niebyćcia

Year of release: 2018
Released by: Handful of Hate
Rating: 9 / 10

It is both easy and difficult for me to talk about a posthumous NIEZGAL album. It is easy because the music on it is more understandable and congenial to me than on all previous recordings of the group. It is difficult because it is a potentially iconic album whose place in history has yet to be defined. Speaking of iconic status, I do not meanthat this is “a dead musician's album”. Unfortunately, the venerable public, as usual, did not understand shit from “Stogn ź niebyćcia”. If we omit the omnipresent fuckheads with their "why Belarusians sing in Polish", in the bottom line we have three main reactions. Some immediately loved the album, because Stogn died (and many times they listened to the album in Vkontakte social media, thus expressing support), others started talk shit about it because of a specific way of recording. Third part of listeneers - very few of them - appreciated the album for its true worth, perceiving it as it really is.

Based on the drafts left after Stogn’s suicide, his associate P.Z. (now playing in ŁATANU), created the album, which, in my opinion, is the best album in both the NIEZGAL discography and in all Belarusian metal in 2018th. Coming out on December 30th, it thereby put a bullet under the year (although ID: VISION still had time to squeeze in with their next useless digital EP, but who cares about it besides themselves?). The end is now set in the existence of the group. The thought that “Statut” was the peak creation of NIEZGAL and Stogn personally was beautiful, but it always seemed injust to me. With all its undeniable merits, “Statut” is not “Reinkaos”. But “Stogn ź niebyćcia” is a genuine epitaph for the band and one of its creators.

The album's sound has little in similar with the previous works. The music is almost devoid of thrashiness, characteristic of both "Apošnimi krokami lutaści” and "Statut". The songs are more flowing, their separate fragments cling to each other, intertwining and metamorphing. This style, coupled with well-designed riffs, helps to perceive music with greater ease. The sound - a stumbling block for fans of emasculated recordings - turned out to be rude and untidy in an amicable way. In contrast to the clean and ringing old NIEZGAL recordings, “Stogn ź niebyćcia” strikes with dampness, gloom and rot. The album was recorded overnight at a rehearsal point - everything except guitars. I do not know whether Stogn’s drafts are used in their original form, or they have been re-recorded before. But if the first is true, then it is understandable why it was decided to abandon the lengthy studio record sessions. However, the final material was subjected to mixing and mastering, so the album sounds like an album, and not like a rehearsal.

The most important thing is the mood and atmosphere of “Stogn ź niebyćcia”. It is impossible to describe this mixture of oppressive apocalyptic darkness, anger, hatred and depression, which ultimately leads to death. The effect is doubled due to the fact that the music is perfectly combined with eloquent texts, conveying the sensations that arise when you read them. The texts are made in the vein of Krywian Black Metal traditions , which makes them even more impressive - for those who understand it. Both they and music make it possible to touch something ominous, located outside of being. NIEZGAL retired (finally completing its existence with an infinitely dark song with an unequivocal title “Suicide”) but staked out a place in eternity. Therefore, “Stogn ź niebyćcia” will be listened to for a long time and may have a noticeable impact on Belarusian Black Metal.

The album released as 6-panel digipack limited to 333 copies. The design is minimalistic but perfectly combined with some of the lyrics. See more details on a video. In Russia, it is distributed through Thou Shalt Kill! Records, in Belarus - through Possession Productions. The rest of the world can order it directly from Handful of Hate's bandcamp.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: NIEZGAL – Stogn ź niebyćcia

Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Handful of Hate
Оценка: 9 / 10

Говорить о посмертном альбоме NIEZGAL одновременно легко и трудно. Легко потому, что музыка на нём для меня более понятная и близкая по духу, нежели на всех предыдущих записях группы. Трудно потому, что это потенциально знаковый альбом, чьему месту в истории ещё предстоит быть определённым. Говоря о знаковости, я имею в виду вовсе не то, что это “альбом мёртвого музыканта”. К сожалению, почтенная публика, как обычно, нихуя не поняла из “Stogn ź niebyćcia”. Если отбросить вездесущих колхозников с их “а чаво у белоруссов тексты на польском”, в сухом остатке мы имеем три основных реакции. Одни немедленно возлюбили альбом, потому что Stogn умер (и много раз послушали Вконтакте, выразив тем самым поддержку), другие заговняли за специфический способ записи. Третьи – очень немногие – оценили его по достоинству, восприняв таким, какой он на самом деле есть.

Основываясь на черновиках, оставшихся после самоубийства Stogn’а, его соратник P.Z. (теперь играющий в ŁATANU), сотворил альбом, являющийся, по моему мнению, лучшим альбомом как в дискографии NIEZGAL, так и во всём метале Беларуси в 2018-ом. Выйдя 30-го декабря, он тем самым поставил под годом жирную точку (правда, 31-го ещё успели втиснуться ID:VISION с очередным цифровым миником, но кому это интересно, кроме них самих?). Точка теперь поставлена и в существовании группы. Мысль о том, что “Statut” стал пиковым творением NIEZGAL и лично Stogn’а, была красивой, но мне это всегда казалось несправедливостью. При всех его неоспоримых достоинствах, “Statut” – это не “Reinkaos”. Но “Stogn ź niebyćcia” – подлинная эпитафия для группы и одного из её создателей.

Альбом мало похож по звучанию на предыдущие работы. Он более Black-металлический во всех смыслах. Музыка практически лишена трэшевости, характерной как для “Apošnimi krokami lutaści”, так и для “Statut”. Песни более текучие, их отдельные фрагменты цепляются друг за друга, переплетаясь и метаморфируя. Эта манера, вкупе с отлично продуманными риффами, помогает воспринимать музыку с большей лёгкостью. Звук – камень преткновения для любителей выхолощенных записей – получился по-хорошему грубым и неряшливым. В отличие от чистых и звонких старых записей NIEZGAL, от “Stogn ź niebyćcia” разит сыростью, мраком и гнилью. Альбом записывался за одну ночь на репетиционной точке – всё, кроме гитар. Я не знаю, используются ли здесь черновики Stogn’а в первозданном виде, либо они были перезаписаны раньше. Но если верно первое, то понятно, почему было принято решение отказаться от длительных студийных рекорд-сессий. Впрочем, конечный материал всё-таки подвергся сведению и мастерингу, так что альбом звучит именно как альбом, а не как репетиция.

Самое главное – это настроение и атмосфера “Stogn ź niebyćcia”. Невозможно описать словами эту смесь давящей апокалиптической тьмы, злобы, ненависти и депрессии, которая в конечном итоге ведёт к смерти. Эффект удваивается за счёт того, что музыка превосходно сочетается с красноречивыми текстами, передавая ощущения, которые возникают при их прочтении. Тексты выполнены в духе тёмного крыўскага Black Metal-колорита, что делает их ещё более впечатляющими – для тех, кто это понимает. И они, и музыка дают возможность прикоснуться к чему-то зловещему, находящемуся за пределами бытия. NIEZGAL ушла на покой (окончательно завершив своё существование бесконечно сумрачной песней с недвусмысленным названием “Suicyd”), но застолбила за собой место в вечности. Поэтому “Stogn ź niebyćcia” будет слушаться ещё долго, и, возможно, окажет заметное влияние на Black Metal Беларуси.

Альбом выпущен тиражом в 333 копии в 6-панельном дигипаке с минималистичным, но осмысленным оформлением. Все подробности на видео. В РФ распространением занимается Убий!, в Беларуси – Possession Productions, остальной мир может заказывать диск напрямую у издателя на Bandcamp.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий