Blitz reviews 26: VANIK, VEILED, CARNATION, NAZRAK, DØDSFALL

26th part of short reviews.

VANIK – II Dark Season
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 7,5 / 10

US Heavy / Speed Metal that is really Heavy / Speed Metal, not trying to be extreme. The band was founded by the live guitarist of MIDNIGHT. And the weak side of MIDNIGHT, in my opinion, has always been these very attempts to be extreme. Here, the purity of the style is respected, and this benefits the album. Energetic music with rumbling bass is expectedly reminiscent of VENOM. The songs are short, but very rich. The theme of the album is based on all sorts of horrors, so the music has an ominous touch in the vein of retro movies and books. Cool!

 

VEILED – In Blinding Presence
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Into Endless Chaos Records
Rating: 7,5 / 10

A nice debut album from the new German band. Mentally unhealthy metal, purposefully trying to destroy your perception and arrange a whirlwind of various grotesque visions in your head. Intense music, full of dissonances, is equally similar to DEATHSPELL OMEGA and late MAYHEM. Perceived surprisingly easy, but you need to behave prudently; you don’t have time to look back, as it pulls you into its net and you’ll wake up in a room with soft walls.

 

CARNATION – Chapel of Abhorrence
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Season of Mist
Rating: 7 / 10

Death Metal in the vein of such classic acts as ENTOMBED, GRAVE, BOLT THROWER, GRAVE, CANNIBAL CORPSE. Everything is done according to the canons, there is a pleasant addition in the form of short sinister synthesizer parts, and the voice of the vocalist strikingly reminds George Fisher. Plus a cover by Juanjo Castellano that looks like it was drawn in the early 90's. It would seem that there is nothing to complain about, but ... like all recent releases of Season of Mist, there is a place for some polishing, as if the album was originally made not for musicians themselves, but for the market purposes. Therefore, if I want to listen to something in the best Swedish tradition, I will take some of the releases of Memento Mori.

 

NAZRAK – Cantiques funèbres
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Wolfspell Records
Rating: 5,7 / 10

Very sugary (just listen to those synth "bells"...) French atmospheric metal. Music, as usual, is plentifully watered with syrup and showered with marzipan. However, inside you can find, as our local smart ass metalloids like to say, a bit of "coal". But no more than on ALCEST first albums, for example. All in all, this music is not for me, it's something very romantic and soft.

 

DØDSFALL – Døden skal ikke vente
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Osmose Productions
Rating: 5 / 10

Osmose for some reason continues to release albums of bands proudly using discredited label "Norwegian Black Metal". The professional “critic” will surely call the new DØDSFALL album “eclectic” or “versatile”. I will say that here they just grabbed everything that came to hand. There are mediocre pieces from the category of “compose a riff in 5 seconds.” There are borrowings from honorary countrymen like IMMORTAL (and who else would you expect?). There are sugary melodies, stretched into half a song. Suddenly there are flowery parties in the vein of DEATH's "Symbolic" - good, but inappropriate. And so on and so forth ... The album was recorded at Necromorbus studio but you don’t feel it at all. he sound is completely devoid of black magic characteristic of the Swedish studio. I do not understand why the Norwegians continue to rape the corpse of the once great national phenomenon, thereby only disgracing themselves.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 26: VANIK, VEILED, CARNATION, NAZRAK, DØDSFALL

Двадцать шестой выпуск кратких обзоров.

VANIK – II Dark Season
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Штатовский Heavy / Speed Metal, который отличается тем, что это действительно Heavy / Speed Metal, без потуг на экстремальность. Группа основана концертным гитаристом MIDNIGHT, а слабой стороной MIDNIGHT, на мой взгляд, всегда являлись именно эти самые потуги. Здесь же чистота стиля соблюдена, и это идёт альбому на пользу. Энергичная музыка с урчащим басом ожидаемо напоминает VENOM. Песни короткие, но очень насыщенные. Тематика альбома основана на всяческих ужасах, поэтому музыка обладает зловещей ноткой в стиле ретро. Отлично!

 

VEILED – In Blinding Presence
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Into Endless Chaos Records
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Неплохой дебютный альбом от новой немецкой группы. Психически нездоровый метал, целенаправленно старающийся разрушить ваше восприятие и устроить в голове вихрь различных гротескных видений. Интенсивная музыка, полная диссонансов, в равной степени похожа на DEATHSPELL OMEGA и поздних MAYHEM. Воспринимается на удивление легко, но нужно вести себя осмотрительно; не успеешь оглянуться, как она затянет тебя в свои сети, и очнёшься уже в комнате с мягкими стенами.

 

CARNATION – Chapel of Abhorrence
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Season of Mist
Оценка: 7 / 10

Death Metal в духе таких классических актов, как ENTOMBED, GRAVE, BOLT THROWER, GRAVE, CANNIBAL CORPSE. Всё сделано по канонам, есть приятное дополнение в виде коротеньких зловещих партий синтезатора, а голос вокалиста поразительно напоминает Джорджа Фишера. Плюс обложка от Хуанхо Кастельяно, исполненная в духе начала 90-х. Казалось бы, придраться не к чему, но… как и у всех последних релизов Season of Mist, здесь есть место некой отполированности, будто альбом изначально делался не для себя, а для рынка. Поэтому, если мне захочется послушать что-то в лучших шведских традициях, я обращусь к релизам Memento Mori.

 

NAZRAK – Cantiques funèbres
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Wolfspell Records
Оценка: 5,7 / 10

Очень слащавый (чего стоят одни лишь эти синтезаторные “колокольчики”) французский атмосферный метал. Музыка, как обычно, обильно полита сиропом и осыпана марципанами. Впрочем, внутри можно найти, как выражаются наши местные продвинуто мыслящие миталисты, немного “угля”. Но не больше, чем у тех же ALCEST на первых альбомах. В общем, такое не по мне.

 

DØDSFALL – Døden skal ikke vente
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Osmose Productions
Оценка: 5 / 10

Osmose зачем-то продолжает выпускать альбомы групп, гордо навешивающих на себя давным-давно дискредитированный ярлык “норвежский Black Metal”. Профессиональный “критик” наверняка назовёт новый альбом DØDSFALL “эклектичным” или “разносторонним”. Я же скажу, что здесь просто нахватали всё, что попадалось под руку. Есть бездарные куски из разряда “сочини рифф за 5 секунд”. Есть заимствования у почётных земляков типа IMMORTAL (а кого ещё вы ожидали? Не BURZUM же, ещё фашистами назовут!). Есть слащавые мелодии, растянутые на половину песни. Внезапно есть витиеватые партии в духе “Symbolic” DEATH – хорошие, но неуместные. И так далее, и тому подобное… Альбом записывался на Necromorbus, но этого совсем не чувствуешь. Звучание полностью лишено чёрной магии, характерной для шведской студии. Не понимаю, зачем норвежцы продолжают насиловать труп некогда великого национального феномена, тем самым только позоря себя.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий