Review: HORTHODOX – Нисхождение

Year of release: 2018
Released by: S.N.D. Production
Rating: 7,7 / 10

Releases like this have a notoriously sad fate. Being the creation of the people directly connected with the metal scene, they automatically lose the attention of fans of another scene - a noise scene on which the album could have great success. As for them metalheads, even among the most advanced of them, the percentage of those who are ready to listen to a 50-minute ambient track is extremely low (hey, they can't even listen to BURZUM masterpieces). I myself am no better - I did not intend to listen to HORTHODOX in the near future, and only the disc presented to me at the Martial Winter festival forced me to change my plans.

HORTHODOX is the brainchild of Horth (KARNA, MORITURUS, COLDSTRAIN, GOATPSALM, as well as SICKRITES, JYOTIṢAVEDĀṄGA) and Varagian (ДО СКОНУ). The leader of the Ukrainian group is responsible only for the guitar, Horth is busy with everything else. Given the richest track record of the author of the music, one could immediately guess that the album would be utterly dark, deserted and cold. So it happened. I associate Orthodox theme in the underground - thanks to one (or two?) well-known Polish group and another Russian - with circus and rip-off. In general, this is the way it should be, because this is exactly what happens in churches. But there is also a key aspect - spiritual. Apparently, "Нисхождение" is interested in this precise aspect.

When you try to analyze ambient album that have no booklet with explanations it remains to rely only on your own assumptions and feelings. For me, "Нисхождение" is... well, descent into the darkest depths of Hell. Music is very slowly moving away from the mundane, adding up to noises, distorted voices, church chants and guitar rumble. In these long minutes, "Нисхождение" reminds of my favorite recordings of Sunn O))) - the earliest demos, where everything was created using a simple, but infinitely deep guitar feedback, or whatever it is called. The guitar makes the sound dense and even darker. It does not hypnotize, neither does it tear nerves with dissonance, but gradually increases tension.

The climax comes after half an hour. The rhythmic synthesized sounds that come into play strongly resemble the steps of viscous slush. The ultimate goal is already close... Then an extensive panorama of 6-8 minutes opens. During this period, all the additional sounds recede, bringing forth a naked ambient that draws images that are filled with colossal Darkness that cannot be expressed in words. In the end, the album comes to something bottomless and ritualistic, and the great descent ends. One would like to add “and the camera floats away...”.

Having caught my breath, and trying to analyze what I heard, I cannot reach an unambiguous conclusion. In my opinion, that part of the album that comes after the 30th minute is much stronger. On the other hand, there is a place for contrast on which the spectacularity of almost any phenomenon is based. If the first half hour were just as powerful, the sensations from the ending would probably be very blurry. Therefore, whatever one may say, the album should be listened to in its entirety, despite the duration. Genre requirements! Fans of previous works of Horth must buy it. The album was released as digisleeve with the simplest design. The label asks for 6$ only. See more details in this video.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: HORTHODOX – Нисхождение

Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: S.N.D. Production
Оценка: 7,7 / 10

Релизы, подобные этому, имеют заведомо печальную судьбу. Будучи творением рук людей, непосредственно связанных с метал-сценой, они автоматически лишаются внимания поклонников другой сцены – шумовой, на которой альбом мог бы иметь большой успех. Что касается миталистов, то даже среди самых продвинутых из них крайне низок процент тех, кто готов слушать 50-минутный эмбиентный трек (чего уж там, у многих не хватает терпения даже нетлёнки BURZUM). Сам я ничем не лучше – HORTHODOX я слушать в ближайшее время не собирался, и лишь диск, подаренный мне на фестивале Martial Winter, вынудил изменить планы.

HORTHODOX является детищем Horth’а (KARNA, MORITURUS, COLDSTRAIN, GOATPSALM, а также SICKRITES, JYOTIṢAVEDĀṄGA) и Varagian’а (ДО СКОНУ). Лидер украинской группы ответственен лишь за гитару, Horth занят всем остальным. Учитывая богатейший послужной список автора музыки, можно было сразу угадать, что альбом окажется кромешно тёмным, безлюдным и холодным. Так и получилось. У меня православная тематика в андеграунде – спасибо одной (или уже двум?) небезызвестной польской группе и ещё одной российской – в последнее время ассоциируется с цирком и кидаловом. В общем-то, так и должно быть, ведь в церквях именно это и происходит. Но есть ещё и ключевой аспект – духовный. Именно о нём, судя по всему, идёт речь на “Нисхождении”.

Когда пытаешься анализировать эмбиентные альбомы, к которым не прилагается буклет с пояснениями, остаётся опираться лишь на собственные предположения и ощущения. Мне “Нисхождение” показалось, кхм… нисхождением в темнейшие глубины Ада. Музыка очень медленно отдаляется от мирского, складываясь из шумов, искажённых голосов, церковных песнопений и гитарного гула. В эти долгие минуты “Нисхождение” напоминает мои любимые записи Sunn O))) – самые ранние демо, где всё создавалось с помощью простого, но бесконечно глубокого гитарного фидбэка, или как оно там ещё называется. Гитара делает звучание плотным и ещё более мрачным. Оно не гипнотизирует, однако и не рвёт нервы диссонансами, но постепенно усиливает напряжение.

Кульминация наступает по истечению получаса. Ритмичные синтезированные звуки, вступающие в дело, сильно напоминают шаги по вязкой жиже. Цель уже близка… Затем открывается обширная, минут на 6-8, панорама. В этот период все дополнительные звуки отступают, выводя вперёд голый эмбиент, рисующий в мозгу исполненные колоссального Мрака образы, которые невозможно передать словами. В конце концов, альбом подходит к чему-то бездонно-ритуальному, и Нисхождение завершается. Так и хочется добавить “и камера уплывает вдаль…”.

Отдышавшись, и попытавшись проанализировать услышанное, я не могу прийти к однозначному выводу. На мой взгляд, та часть альбома, что идёт после 30-й минуты, намного сильнее. С другой стороны, здесь имеет место быть контраст, на котором зиждется эффектность практически любого явления. Будь первые полчаса такими же мощными, ощущения от концовки, наверное, были бы сильно размытыми. Поэтому, как ни крути, альбом нужно слушать целиком, несмотря на продолжительность. Жанр обязывает. Поклонникам предыдущих работ Horth’а брать в обязательном порядке. Альбом издан в дигисливе с простейшим оформлением, издатель запрашивает за него всего 200 российских рублей. Подробности на видео.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий