Review: ТУМАН – Zuhanás

Year of release: 2017
Released by: The Sinister Flame
Rating: 7,8 / 10

I don’t know how many years would have passed before my full acquaintance with the Hungarian Black Metal legend, if not for The Sinister Flame. I listened to a few fragments of ТУМАН works in the pastbut for obvious reasons, I always preferred DUSK, which was signed to my label Possession Productions (Shadow from DUSK has always been a permanent bass player for ТУМАН). But the Finnish label suddenly sent me a CD with an album, attaching a printed press release to it, and therefore the duty obliged me to immediately start listening.

First of all, it should be noted that “Zuhanás” is, in general, not Black Metal. Of course, the satanic beliefs of musicians do not cause doubts - if one day these people suddenly betray themselves, then the Earth will probably descend from its axis and go on an eternal voyage across the endless space. But the album is not about that. ТУМАН's departure from the traditional themes was noticeable even on “The Past is Alive”, and now it finally completed. The press release simply states that the album talks about the state between sleep and reality, and this is true. However, it doesn't say about how deeply and correctly this topic is disclosed. Metal bands rarely write successful lyrics about something like this. Most often, they make some big pile of horse shit the meaning of which is not clear even to the authors themselves. However, ТУМАН are able to reliably describe this feeling of “motionless falling” into infinite blackness, as well as detached thoughts and feelings arising from “hovering” in half-sleeping state. It turned out really dark.

Given the subject matter, it was logical to expect that the music at least partly turn into ambient, become more measured. But it doesn't happened, although in comparison with the predecessor, the sound really changed. “Zuhanás” is similar to the later works of DUSK: it has that characteristic Carpathian sound - foggy (sorry for the pun). With all the intensity, aggression and abundance of blast beats, the music seems to come from somewhere behind a veil. Here the instrumental parts are not so important, only the feeling of the darkness oozing from the damp Carpathian forests is. The vocals also work on the atmosphere, being performed and recorded in a special semi-shouting-half-whispering manner, reminiscent of the voice of a ghost (by the way, I recommend you to read the vocalist's biography, it is really interesting). Therefore, despite the subject matter, there is plenty of very dark energy here. I recommend “Zuhanás” to those who prefer solidity in the albums, not looking for radio hits for their playlists.

The album was released in jewel case with a standard booklet, the design of which fits perfectly into the general outline. The lyrics are in Hungarian and English, which is very convenient. See more details in this video. You can order the CD from The Sinister Flame or find it at Possession Productions. - we took a heap of copies in advance because ТУМАН deserves our total support.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: ТУМАН – Zuhanás

Год выхода: 2017
Издатель: The Sinister Flame
Оценка: 7,8 / 10

Не знаю, сколько бы ещё прошло лет до моего полноценного знакомства с венгерской Black Metal-легендой, если бы не The Sinister Flame. Я слушал урывками несколько работ ТУМАН, однако по понятным причинам всегда отдавал предпочтение DUSK, подписанному у нас на Possession (Shadow из DUSK c самого начала является бессменным басистом ТУМАН). Но финский лейбл внезапно прислал мне компакт-диск с альбомом, приложив к нему распечатанный пресс-релиз, и посему долг обязывал меня немедленно приступить к прослушиванию.

Прежде всего стоит отметить, что “Zuhanás” – это, в общем-то, не Black Metal. Конечно, сатанинские убеждения музыкантов сомнений не вызывают – если в один прекрасный день эти люди вдруг изменят себе, то Земля, наверное, сойдёт со своей оси и отправится в вечное плавание по бескрайнему космосу. Но альбом повествует совсем не об этом. Отход от традиционной тематики у ТУМАН был заметен ещё на “The Past is Alive”, и теперь он окончательно состоялся. В пресс-релизе по-простому утверждается, что альбом рассказывает о состоянии между сном и явью, и это правда. Однако там умалчивается о том, насколько глубоко и правильно раскрыта эта тема. Метал-группам редко удаётся писать удачные тексты о чём-то подобном. Чаще всего у них получается скучная поебень, смысл которой не ясен даже самим авторам. Однако ТУМАН удалось достоверно описать это ощущение “неподвижного падения” в бесконечную черноту, а также отрешённые мысли и чувства, возникающие при “зависании” в полудрёме. Получилось действительно темно.

Учитывая тематику, логично было ожидать, что музыка хотя бы отчасти превратится в эмбиент, станет более размеренной. Но ничего подобного, хотя в сравнении с предшественником звучание действительно поменялось. “Zuhanás” похож на поздние работы DUSK: у него тот самый характерный карпатский саунд – туманный, уж извините за каламбур. При всей интенсивности, агрессии и обилии бласт-битов, музыка как будто доносится откуда-то из-за вуали. Здесь не так уж важны инструментальные партии, важно лишь ощущение сочащегося из сырых карпатских лесов мрака. Вокал тоже работает на атмосферу, будучи исполненным и прописанным в особенной полукричащей-полушепчущей манере, напоминающей голос призрака (кстати, рекомендую ознакомиться с биографией вокалистки, это интересно). Поэтому, несмотря на тематику, тёмной энергии здесь предостаточно. “Zuhanás” я рекомендую именно тем, кто предпочитает в альбомах монолитность, не ища хитов для своего плейлиста.

Альбом выпущен в джевеле со стандартным буклетом, оформление которого отлично вписывается в общую канву. Тексты песен приведены на венгерском и английском языках, что очень удобно. Подробности на видео. Заказать диск можно как у издателя, так и, например, у нас на Possession – мы заранее взяли гору, поскольку ТУМАН нужно поддерживать.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий