Review: AETHYRICK – Praxis

Year of release: 2018
Released by: The Sinister Flame
Rating: 7,8 / 10

The second disc from The Sinister Flame promo package received at my address is the debut album of the Finnish AETHYRICK, which, according to the modern fashion, prefer to be encrypted, hiding their faces under the masks. In my opinion, the do that in vain - they have nothing to be ashamed of, the album was very good.

Contrary to local traditions, AETHYRICK play not the orthodoxal Black Metal, but quite impressive and beautiful Atmospheric Metal with deep spirituality and ritual overtones. I did not see Satanism here (just some easy-going devilry) but the lyrics very well and eloquently reveal the theme of worshiping the primordial fiery essence of the Earth, which can both endow the emerging life with its warmth or burn it to the core... The texts for the album came out much more complex than music, therefore they deserve careful study.

As for music, it is quite consciously based on proven style solutions. There is a warm guitar sound, a lot of melody and long riffs laid on the blast beats. Of course, fast and slow fragments are interspersed with inserts with a classic "burzumic" mid-tempo rhytms. Absolutely nothing new. On such albums everything depends on the quality of the melodies, and I am pleased to announce that "Praxis" got very high standards. And the quality is rising along the way. The first song is not very impressive, but the second one makes you shake your head to the beat, and then everything becomes even better. The band manages to keep a balance between “entertainment” and seriousness, between softness and gloominess. Additional elements, such as synthesizer parts, do not let the music stagnate, constantly develop it, add a new dimension. The album invokes a feeling of something high-spirited; the photograph of the mountains, flooded by the rays of the rising sun making their way through the clouds, in the center of the booklet conveys this feeling in the best way possible.

However, I must note that “Praxis” seems to me a bit too smooth for an album addressing the basics of existence. There is power and magic in it, but there is no primordiality that would paint a picture of the “place almost forgotten by modern mind" in your brain - as it described in the press release. If the music on the album is OK, then the sound is too "Hollywoodish", it does not allow you to feel involved in what the lyrics are about. This is definitely a flaw.

Unfortunately, “Praxis” came to me without an inlay, so I decided not to make the usual video with a detailed view on the release. Let me just say that the booklet is pretty simply designed: in addition to the above-mentioned photo in the middle, there are only texts and some occult symbol inside. Based on the foregoing, I recommend the album to fans of good atmospheric music with clever lyrics (the nearest reference points are ODIOUS DEVOTION and EARTH & PILLARS).

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: AETHYRICK – Praxis

Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: The Sinister Flame
Оценка: 7,8 / 10

Второй диск из поступившего на мой адрес промо-пакета от The Sinister Flame – дебютный альбом финнов AETHYRICK, которые, по современной моде, предпочитают шифроваться, пряча лица под масками. На мой взгляд, зря – стыдиться им нечего, альбом получился очень хорошим.

Наперекор местным традициям AETHYRICK исполняют вовсе не ортодоксальный Black Metal, а довольно красивый атмосферный метал с глубокой духовностью и ритуальным подтекстом. Сатанизма я здесь не узрел (так, лёгкая бесовщина), зато в лирике очень хорошо и красноречиво раскрыта тема преклонения перед первозданной огненной сущностью Земли, что может как одарить своим теплом зарождающуюся жизнь, так и спалить её дотла… Тексты к альбому вышли намного более комплексными, чем музыка, поэтому заслуживают внимательного изучения.

Что же касается музыки, то она вполне сознательно опирается на проверенные решения стиля. Здесь тёплый гитарный звук, много мелодичности и длинных риффов, положенных на бласт-биты. Разумеется, быстрые и медленные фрагменты перемежаются вставками с классическим “бурзумовским” ударным ритмом. Абсолютно ничего нового. На таких альбомах всё зависит от качества мелодий, и я рад сообщить, что на “Praxis” оно весьма высокое. Причём повышается оно по ходу дела. Первая песня не очень впечатляет, зато вторая местами заставляет покачивать головой в такт, а дальше и того прекраснее. Группе удаётся соблюдать баланс между “развлекательностью” и серьёзностью, между мягкостью и угрюмостью. Дополнительные элементы, такие как партии синтезатора, не дают музыке застаиваться, постоянно развивают её, добавляют новое измерение. Альбом вызывает ощущение чего-то высокого, выспреннего; расположенная на развороте буклета фотография гор, залитых пробивающимися сквозь облака лучами восходящего солнца, как нельзя лучше передаёт это чувство.

Впрочем, не могу не отметить, что “Praxis” кажется мне немного чересчур гладеньким для альбома, обращающегося к основам существования. Мощь и магия в нём имеются, однако нет первобытности, которая нарисовала бы в уме картину описанного в пресс-релизе “места, почти забытого современным разумом”. Если музыка на альбоме в порядке, то саунд слишком “голливудский”, он не позволяет почувствовать сопричастность с тем, о чём рассказывают тексты.  Это, безусловно, недостаток.

К большому сожалению, диск с “Praxis” прибыл ко мне без задника, поэтому я решил не делать привычное видео с детальным рассмотрением релиза. Скажу лишь, что буклет оформлен сдержанно: помимо вышеупомянутой фотографии на развороте, в нём есть лишь тексты да какой-то оккультный символ. Исходя из всего вышесказанного, рекомендую альбом поклонникам хорошей атмосферной музыки с умной лирикой (ближайшие ориентиры – ODIOUS DEVOTION и EARTH & PILLARS).

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий