Review: BLACK GOAT – Magia Posthuma: The Inmost Darkness – Second Phenomenon

Year of release: 2018
Released by: Iron, Blood & Death Corporation
Rating: 7,4 / 10

It's always cool when you think that you already know about everything remarkable in the underground of the CIS, and then you come across a new interesting group. The Serpukhov project BLACK GOAT has existed since the last century, released a damn bunch of releases, but I only found out about it a few months ago, when I received a promo from a Mexican label.

BLACK GOAT is immediately distinguished by a non-trivial (for the Russian scene) set of sources of inspiration. The project is very serious about Satanism; Although I have always associated the abundance of Latin words and references to demonology with the operetta acts of LaVey's followers, it is still better than single-celled atheism, which parasites on satanic aesthetics. In addition, BLACK GOAT has good musical tastes. from HELLHAMMER to NECROMANTIA. Nobody cares about glamourous Scandinavians! This is reflected in the themes and aesthetics of the album, which, again, are not trivial by the standards of the Russian scene. Maybe I’m just ignorant, but I don’t remember in the CIS even a single project in the vein of MORTUARY DRAPE or above-mentioned NECROMANTIA, or MYSTIFIER. I mean, with all this retro occult stuff. BLACK GOAT diligently follows the precepts of its masterminds: the music on the album is moderately fast and primitive, the muddy-atmospheric sound suspiciously resembles analog one. When metal ends, flowery synthesizer parts, acoustics and samples come into play, or even some black masses start (see the second track performed by the friendly project CORONA BARATHRI). A cover on “Show me the Wrath” by SEPULTURA is slightly out of the general canvas, but it was played so well and close to the original that it doesn't spoil a party at all. In general, everything is amazingly good, but...

...but the second half of the album is performed in a completely different sound, and this is annoying. Allegedly, everything except the cover was done in one studio, but the difference is obvious. And I am also confused by some fragments where I hear either creative borrowing or outright plagiarism. In particular, this is the beginning of the second song, as well as the next acoustic track under number 3, where my degree of suspicion is ready to split the thermometer. Unfortunately, I still can not remember where I heard it.

Anyway, I recommend Bagnik Zine readers to familiarize themselves with this very, very good work. They do such stuff in Russia now - maybe someone will soon occupy a niche in Belarus as well.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: BLACK GOAT – Magia Posthuma: The Inmost Darkness – Second Phenomenon

Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Iron, Blood & Death Corporation
Оценка: 7,4 / 10

Всегда радует, когда думаешь, что уже знаешь обо всём примечательном в андеграунде СНГ, а затем натыкаешься на новую интересную группу. Серпуховский проект BLACK GOAT существует ещё с прошлого века, выпустил чёртову кучу релизов, но я о нём узнал лишь несколько месяцев назад, получив промо от мексиканского издателя.

BLACK GOAT сразу же выделяется нетривиальным (для российской сцены) набором источников вдохновения. Проект очень серьёзно относится к сатанизму; хотя изобилие латинских словечек и отсылок к демонологии всегда ассоциировалось у меня с опереточными деяниями последователей ЛаВея, это всё же лучше, чем одноклеточный атеизм, паразитирующий на сатанинской эстетике. Кроме того, у BLACK GOAT правильные музыкальные вкусы – начиная от HELLHAMMER и заканчивая NECROMANTIA. Попсовыми скандинавами здесь и не пахло. Это отражается на тематике и эстетике альбома, которые, снова-таки, нетривиальны по меркам российской сцены. Может, я просто невежда, но я не помню в в СНГ ни одного проекта в духе MORTUARY DRAPE, тех же NECROMANTIA, MYSTIFIER – чтоб с ретро-духом и оккультизмом. BLACK GOAT прилежно следует заветам своих вдохновителей: музыка на альбоме в меру быстра и примитивна, грязновато-атмосферный саунд подозрительно напоминает аналоговый. Когда заканчивается метал, в дело вступают витиеватые синтезаторные партии, акустика и сэмплы, либо вообще начинаются полноценные чёрные мессы (см. второй трек, исполненный дружественным проектом CORONA BARATHRI). Из общей канвы слегка выбивается кавер на “Show me the Wrath” SEPULTURA, но сыгран он настолько здорово и близко к оригиналу, что обедни вовсе не портит. Вообще, всё поразительно хорошо, вот только…

…вот только вторая половина альбома исполнена в совсем другом звуке, и это напрягает. Якобы всё, кроме кавера, делалось в одной студии, однако разница налицо. А ещё меня сильно смущают некоторые фрагменты, где я слышу либо творческие заимствования, либо откровенный плагиат. В частности, это начало второй песни, а также следующий за ней акустический трек под номером 3, на котором мой градус подозрительности готов расколоть термометр. К сожалению, мне пока не удаётся вспомнить, где же я это слышал.

Как бы то ни было, рекомендую читателям Bagnik Zine ознакомиться с этой весьма и весьма неплохой работой. Такое в России тоже делают – может, и в Беларуси кто-нибудь вскоре займёт нишу.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий