Blitz reviews 30: GROG, SAMMAS EQUINOX, SPEARHEAD, THE BLACK SORCERY, WAN

30th part of short reviews.

GROG – Macabre Requiems
Year of release: 1996 / 2018 (this version)
Released by: Helldprod Records
Rating: 7,4 / 10

Vinyl reissue of the debut album of the famous (I think so) Portuguese death-grind band. The original was released on CD in 1996, and has not been reprinted in any way since. The music is an excellent old brutal death metal, reminiscent of CANNIBAL CORPSE (especially “Butchered at Birth”). The putrid atmosphere is attached. The compositions in some places are simply delightful, in some places they are pretty mediocre (this happens much less often). In general, very cool album. It is strange that it wasn't re-released earlier.

SAMMAS EQUINOX – Pilgrimage / Boahjenásti
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Signal Rex
Rating: 7,6 / 10

The project of BLOOD RED FOG members. Judging by their main band, these Finns are not always good at composing riffs, but they are perfect when it comes to creating the right aura.This compilation of demos confirms this: there are 6 (+ intro) tracks of old school metal on nebulous themes with authentic raw northern melodies (not to be confused with glossy Norwegian shit). Very spiritual music, albeit imperfect in compositional terms.

SPEARHEAD – Pacifism is Cowardice
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Invictus Productions
Rating: 6,8 / 10

New album of the warlike group, bearing an unequivocal title. SPEARHEAD play comprehensively correct Black / Death Metal in the vein of ANGELCORPSE, PERDITION TEMPLE, and so on, but, like almost all British bands I know, they suffer from British national stiffness. It seems to me that something is stopping them from arranging real Armageddon in songs and revealing a dull sound in all its destructive beauty. And this restraint is the only reason that the album, despite a lot of merits, seems boring to me.

THE BLACK SORCERY – Wolven Degrade
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Krucyator Productions
Rating: 4 / 10

The debut album of this band, released last year, I strongly liked because of it's shameless but powerful ARCHGOAT worship. Now the folk from the Internet tirelessly praises the new album, but I think that these Canadians failed miserably. “Wolven Degrade” is really a degradation, on all points. Disgusting frail sound - it's half the problem. The music, which has become indistinguishable from the faceless shitty brutal diarrhea metal from Mexico or some fucking Indonesia - that's the real problem. Vocals go in the same cesspool - speaking in once fashionable terms, it's just a stupid "pigsqueal". Complete failure.

WAN – Gammal är äldst
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Carnal Records
Rating: 6,9 / 10

Very good mini-album, made by the classic canons of Scandinavian Black Metal. I usually say this with disdain, but in this case everything is really cool: an ancient evil, no attempt to imitate IMMORTAL / WATAIN / MARDUK and other rock stars, and it also seems to be recorded on 4 tracks! Perhaps, in spirit, it is closest to the early DARKTHRONE. Influences and the attitude are more or less the same. The songs texts are probably a bit too hooliganish, but it's OK. A true power of Old!

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 30: GROG, SAMMAS EQUINOX, SPEARHEAD, THE BLACK SORCERY, WAN

Тридцатый выпуск кратких обзоров.

GROG – Macabre Requiems
Год выхода: 1996 / 2018 (это издание)
Издатель: Helldprod Records
Оценка: 7,4 / 10

Переиздание дебютного альбома знаковой (судя по всему) португальской дэт-грайндовой банды на виниле. Оригинал вышел в 1996-ом году на CD, и с тех пор не переиздавался ни в каком виде. Музыка представляет собой отличный старинный брутальный метал смерти, напоминающий CANNIBAL CORPSE (в особенности “Butchered at Birth”). Гнилостная атмосфера прилагается. Композиции местами просто восхитительны, местами довольно бесталанны (это случается значительно реже). В целом – клёвый альбом. Странно, что его переиздают только сейчас.

SAMMAS EQUINOX – Pilgrimage / Boahjenásti
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Signal Rex
Оценка: 7,6 / 10

Проект участников BLOOD RED FOG. Если судить по их основной группе, эти финны не всегда хороши в сочинении риффов, но безупречны, когда дело доходит до создания нужной ауры. Данный сборник демок это подтверждает: на нём расположено 6 (+ вступление) треков старообрядческого метала на туманные темы, обладающего аутентичной грубой северной мелодикой (не путать с глянцевой норвежской хуетой). Очень одухотворённая музыка, пусть и несовершенная в композиционном плане.

SPEARHEAD – Pacifism is Cowardice
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Invictus Productions
Оценка: 6,8 / 10

Новый альбом воинственной группы, носящий однозначное название. SPEARHEAD играют всесторонне правильный Black / Death Metal в духе ANGELCORPSE, PERDITION TEMPLE и так далее, но, как практически все известные мне британские группы, страдают от национальной чопорности. Им как будто что-то мешает устроить настоящий Армагеддон в песнях и раскрыть глуховатый звук во всей разрушительной красе. И эта сдержанность является единственной причиной тому, что альбом, несмотря на массу достоинств, кажется мне скучноватым.

THE BLACK SORCERY – Wolven Degrade
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Krucyator Productions
Оценка: 4 / 10

Дебютный альбом этой банды, вышедший в прошлом году, сильно мне понравился своим бесстыжим, но мощным копированием ARCHGOAT. Сейчас народец из Сети неустанно нахваливает новинку, но, как по мне, канадцы сели в лужу. “Wolven Degrade” – это действительно деградация, причём по всем пунктам. Отвратительный хилый звук – это полбеды. Музыка, которая стала неотличимой от безликого уёбищного кишкобрутала, что тоннами поноса выливают в этот мир всякеие извращенцы-мексикашки – вот настоящая беда. В ту же выгребную яму отправляется вокал, который, выражаясь некогда модными терминами, представляет собой убогий “пигсквил”. Полный провал.

WAN – Gammal är äldst
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Carnal Records
Оценка: 6,9 / 10

Очень неплохой мини-альбом, выполненный по классическим канонам скандинавского Black Metal. Обычно я говорю это с пренебрежением, но в данном случае всё действительно круто: старинное зло, никаких попыток подражать IMMORTAL / WATAIN / MARDUK и прочим звёздам, а ещё это, кажется, записывалось на 4 дорожки! Пожалуй, по духу это ближе всего к ранним DARKTHRONE. Ориентиры, атмосфера и позиции схожие. Тексты, возможно, излишне хулиганские, ну да ладно. Хорошая злостная вещь!

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий