Review: ДО СКОНУ – Великое пробуждение среди великого сна

Year of release: 2014
Released by: Thou Shalt Kill! Records
Rating: 7,6 / 10

The third album, according to the band and its fans, was the beginning of a new round in the work of DO SKONU. In fact, it's easy to see a departure from the traditional methods on this LP. Fewer blast beats, almost no open rage. The songs have become much slower and more atmospheric, as well as more complex in terms of structures; the sound of a sharp turned into more soft and warm. Most likely, during the period of the songwriting, Varagian was fond of rock music of the 70s, or something like that. Banal epithets, like “hypnotic” and “monotonous”, fit perfectly well. A great example is the seven-minute “The Primal Nether”.

A huge role is played by vocals. A creaky, emotionless voice that stretches words slightly resembles INQUISITION (like music, too), but I would avoid direct comparisons. Varagian’s voice is noticeably more ... mystical than Dagon’s. It is as if it comes from behind a hazy veil, which in my imagination has a rotten green color. The poisonous essence of DO SKONU music is revealed on this album even better than before, although no reference to snake themes was noticed this time. But the fact remains: when listening, it is impossible not to imagine smoking cauldrons, dark magic rites and other shamanic affairs (although the album has nothing to do with the fashionable retro aesthetics of occultism hat is so popular among metal bands of today).

Of course, great interest are the lyrics. Perhaps they are even the defining element for the entire album. Written in a fanciful literary language, they demonstrate a serious variety. Some (unexpectedly for me, and a little disappointingly) are made in the spirit of the classic “safe” atheistic philosophy: criticism of God and faith, the topic of raising over the herd, and so on. Others turn to more serious things - the above-mentioned primal nether, Death, the end of the world. Finally, there is "Frontier Justice" and "Nectar of Bestial Passion", where the texts are the simplest and most extreme. It is wonderful that each song musically corresponds to its lyrics. “Atheistic” things turned out to be the most "rockish" (the title track, perhaps even too much - it smells like stoner rock in some places), “serious” songs - the darkest and deepest, and the simplest - the more traditional by Black Metal standards. Such an understanding of own music (characteristic, by the way, for a very small number of artists) cannot but rejoice.

My final impression of the “Great Awakening ...” is very good, although perhaps it’s still far from a masterpiece. The only - but large - claim is that the compositions as such are the weakest point of the album. Almost everything here is great - the atmosphere, the images, the lyrics, the vocals - but listening to the music itself is sometimes far from interesting. However, the musicians make new albums to develop, and the “Hell” of 2016 represents a significant step forward, but we'll talk about that next time. “The Great Awakening ...” was released in digibook format limited to 333 copies, and is currently sold out. Although individual specimens can still be fished out on Discocks or in various distros. Despite the minimalism, the design of the disc has a very powerful effect, especially if you read the texts rather than just flipping through the pages. See more details on a video.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: ДО СКОНУ – Великое пробуждение среди великого сна

Год выхода: 2014
Издатель: Thou Shalt Kill! Records
Оценка: 7,6 / 10

Третий альбом, по словам группы и знатоков-поклонников, являлся началом нового витка в творчестве ДО СКОНУ. В самом деле, на “Великом пробуждении…” сразу заметен отход от традиционных приёмов, которыми изобиловал “Холодные Потоки Смерти”. Мало бластбитов, почти нет открытой ярости. Песни стали значительно медленнее и атмосфернее, а также сложнее в плане структур; саунд из резкого превратился в мягкий и тёплый. Сскорее всего, в период их сочинения Varagian увлекался рок-музыкой 70-х, либо чем-то в этом роде. Банальные эпитеты, вроде “гипнотическая” и “монотонная”, подходят как нельзя лучше. Отличный пример – семиминутная “Изначальная Пустота”.

Огромную роль играет вокал. Скрипучий, лишённый эмоций голос, растягивающий слова, слегка напоминает INQUISITION (как и музыка), однако я бы избежал прямых сравнений. Голос Varagian’а заметно более… мистический, нежели у Dagon’а. Он будто бы доносится из-за туманной завесы, имеющей в моём воображении тухло-зелёный цвет. Ядовитая сущность музыки ДО СКОНУ раскрывается на этом альбоме ещё лучше, чем прежде, хотя никаких отсылок к змеиным темам в этот раз замечено не было. Но факт остаётся фактом: при прослушивании невозможно не представлять дымящиеся котлы, тёмную ворожбу и прочие шаманские дела (хотя альбом не имеет ничего общего с модной нынче эстетикой оккультизма в стиле ретро).

Конечно же, большой интерес представляют собой тексты песен. Пожалуй, они даже являются определяющим элементом для всего альбома. Написанные вычурным литературным языком, они демонстрируют нешуточное разнообразие. Какие-то (неожиданно для меня, и немного разочаровывающе) выполнены в духе классической “безопасной” атеистической философии: критика бога и веры, тема подъёма над стадом и так далее. Другие обращаются к более серьёзным вещам – той самой изначальной пустоте, Смерти, концу света. Наконец, есть “Самосуд” и “Нектар животной страсти”, где тексты самые простые и экстремальные. Прекрасно то, что каждая песня музыкально соответствует своей лирике. “Атеистические” вещи получились наиболее “рокерскими” (заглавный трек, пожалуй, даже чересчур – от него местами попахивает стоунером), “серьёзные” – самыми тёмными и глубокими, а простые – традиционными по меркам Black Metal. Такое понимание собственной музыки (характерное, кстати говоря, для очень небольшого количества артистов) не может не радовать.

Моё итоговое впечатление от “Великого пробуждения…” очень хорошее, хотя до шедевра ему, пожалуй, ещё далеко. Единственная – но крупная – претензия в том, что композиции как таковые являются слабейшим местом альбома. Почти всё в нём великолепно – атмосфера, образы, лирика, вокал – но слушать саму музыку интересно далеко не везде. Впрочем, у музыкантов заведено делать новые альбомы, чтобы развиваться, и “Ад” 2016-го года представляет собой значительный шаг вперёд, но об этом в следующий раз. “Великое пробуждение…” был выпущен в дигибуке тиражом в 333 копии, и на данный момент давно распродан, хотя отдельные экземпляры ещё можно выловить на Discocks или в различных дистро. Несмотря на минималистичность, оформление диска производит весьма мощный эффект, особенно если вчитываться в тексты, а не просто листать странички. Подробности на видео.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий