Blitz reviews 32: ANGEL OF DAMNATION, NEFASTU, ONIROPHAGUS, ÖRMAGNA, PA VESH EN

32-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

ANGEL OF DAMNATION – Heathen Witchcraft
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 6,5 / 10

Traditional doom metal from highly respected personalities - members of FRONT BEAST, NOCTURNAL, SACRED STEEL, CROSS VAULT. Good old-fashioned music, but not very catchy. While only instruments are playing, everything is fine. The intro part is the best place on the album. When vocals with utterly careful pronunciation of syllables begin, it becomes boring, because the music immediately goes to the background. Well, and this is still typically German clean and degreased stuff, which is strange, considering how great FRONT BEAST and NOCTURNAL sound. It is clear that the genre is different, but there is no need to lick it so that it shines.

NEFASTU – Obscura Transcendência
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Purodium Rekords
Rating: 8,4 / 10

New seven-inch EP from the Portuguese band. A great stuff in the vein of Finnish followers of DARKTHRONE, such as SARGEIST. Right type of rawness and primitiveness, but there is also this special cold melody, which is now very rare to meet. All three songs are superb. It is a pity that there are only three of them. Highly recommended!

ONIROPHAGUS – Endarkenment (Illumination Through Putrefaction)
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Xtreem Music
Rating: 8 / 10

New album from a respected death doom metla band. Conceptual epic, consisting of four giant songs, each of which could be a separate mini-album. Heavy music with a strong bias towards slow lead-gray death metal, but not without mourning melody. All this, coupled with excellent design. The situation is spoiled only by a clumsy sound (especially noticeable on drums), which immediately betrays the southern origin of the album. When they say that in Spain / Italy / Portugal they don’t know how to play extreme metal, they mean not the playing itself, but this type of sound.

ÖRMAGNA – Örmagna
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Signal Rex
Rating: 5,6 / 10

With this album, Signal Rex has gone the wrong way. The Portuguese publisher very carefully selects releases for the roster, and you always know what to expect from it. But here we are dealing with another novelty from the fashionable Icelandic scene, which in itself does not inspire confidence. Örmagna is diligently disguised as Black Metal, but it seems to me that I managed to get to the bottom - this is just Icelandic analogue of fucking LIFELOVER, with all the necessary suffering and misery. Icelanders play this stuff pretty well and metallic, it doesn't sound like pop rock shit at all. Some riffs are even catchy... but the essence is rotten.

PA VESH EN – Cryptic Rites of Necromancy
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Iron Bonehead Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

While the local audience is interested in events in the camps of fucking euthanazias and allions, PA VESH EN releases another piece of dark art, anticipating the second full-length album. There are changes in the music. The familiar distant-ghostly sound has not gone away, but the material sounds much more aggressive now. Now this is a completely straightforward and very angry Black Metal with classic tremolos, and it is pretty frightening, considering this special PA VESH EN sound. All the remnants of the former depressive melody are crammed into the last track, and even then they are most often drowned out by the blast beats. The names of the songs also do not imply any despondency - only death and dark rituals. Very good release. It will be interesting to see if the album will be made the same way.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 32: ANGEL OF DAMNATION, NEFASTU, ONIROPHAGUS, ÖRMAGNA, PA VESH EN

32-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

ANGEL OF DAMNATION – Heathen Witchcraft
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 6,5 / 10

Традиционный дум от весьма уважаемых личностей – участников FRONT BEAST, NOCTURNAL, SACRED STEEL, CROSS VAULT. Хорошая старомодная музыка, но не очень цепляет. Пока играют только инструменты, всё отлично. Вступительная часть – лучшее место на альбоме. Когда начинается вокал с предельно тщательным произношением слогов, становится скучно, поскольку музыка сразу уходит на второй план. Ну и ещё это всё по-немецки чистенько и обезжиренно, что странно, учитывая весьма-таки правильное звучание FRONT BEAST и NOCTURNAL. Понятно, что жанр другой, но не надо ж вылизывать так, чтобы блестело.

NEFASTU – Obscura Transcendência
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Purodium Rekords
Оценка: 8,4 / 10

Новый семидюймовый EP от португальской банды. Отличная штука в духе финских последователей DARKTHRONE, типа SARGEIST – правильная сырость и примитивность, но есть и эта особенная холодная мелодичность, которая сейчас встречается очень редко. Все три песни превосходны. Жаль, что так мало. Поклонникам винилового формата жэстачайшэ рекомендую брать.

ONIROPHAGUS – Endarkenment (Illumination Through Putrefaction)
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Xtreem Music
Оценка: 8 / 10

Новый альбом от уважаемой дэт-думовой банды. Концептуальный эпик, состоящий из четырёх гигантских песен, каждая из которых тянет на отдельный мини-альбом. Тяжеленная музыка с сильным перекосом в сторону медленного свинцово-серого дэта, но не лишённая траурной мелодики. Всё это вкупе с прекрасным оформлением. Ситуацию портит лишь корявый саунд (особенно заметно на ударных), сразу выдающий южное происхождение альбома. Когда говорят, что в Испании / Италии / Португалии не умеют играть экстремальный метал, имеют в виду не игру, а вот такой звук, где с виду всё в порядке, но воспринимается он совсем иначе, нежели на альбомах из других стран.

ÖRMAGNA – Örmagna
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Signal Rex
Оценка: 5,6 / 10

С этим альбомом Signal Rex занесло куда-то не туда. Португальский издатель очень тщательно выбирает релизы для ростера, и ты всегда знаешь, чего от него ждать. Но здесь мы имеем дело с очередной новинкой с модной исландской сцены, которая сама по себе не внушает доверия. Örmagna старательно маскируется под Black Metal, но мне, кажется, удалось добраться до сути – это всего-навсего исландский аналог ёбани от LIFELOVER, со всеми необходимыми пиздостраданиями и убожеством. В исполнении исландцев оно звучит не так погано, а местами даже западает в память, но в сущности это гниль.

PA VESH EN – Cryptic Rites of Necromancy
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Iron Bonehead Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

Пока тутэйшая аудитория интересуется событиями в стане эвтаназий и аллионов, PA VESH EN выпускает очередной релиз, предваряющий второй полноформатник. В музыке наметились изменения. Привычный отдалённо-призрачный саунд никуда не делся, но сам материал резко прибавил в агрессии. Теперь это уже абсолютно прямолинейный и весьма злобный Black Metal с классическими тремоло, которые в саунде PA VESH EN оказывают пугающий эффект. Все остатки прежней депрессивной мелодики запиханы в последний трек, да и то их чаще всего заглушают бласт-биты. Названия песен также не предполагают никакого уныния – только смерть и мрачные ритуалы. Очень неплохой релиз. Будет интересно узнать, во что это перерастёт на альбоме.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий