Review: AMBER TEARS - When No Trails

Year of release: 2019
Released by: BadMoodMan Music
Rating: 8,3 / 10

It seems to me that very few people expected the release of the new album of AMBER TEARS - nine years have passed since the release of the previous album, and I personally forgot abot this band from Penza. As it turned out, the group did not die, but just very slowly sculpted its new creation. And I must point out that the wait was worth it.

On the first two albums, AMBER TIES were honest clo... followers of GODS TOWER; they interpreted the Belarusian folk guitar sound in their doomish and soulful style. It sounded cool, but the impression was spoiled by somewhat sloppy compositions and fucking disaster of a vocal. Regarding the new album, there are two news: the vocals are better, and GODS TOWER cloning was left in the past. Although AMBER TEARS melodious guitar riffs still contain some references to GODS TOWER, most of the material is “independent” now. If you carefully study the compositions with a magnifying glass, it turns out that there is nothing special about them. But a big role is played by the powerful and atmospheric sounding of the instruments, as well as the ingenious scatter of additional tracks. Listening to a traditional doom riff is one thing. Listening to this riff, accompanied by a simple and effective acoustic part or keyboard arrangement, is another thing. “When no Trails" is incredibly dramatic, musically emotional and beautiful. Finally, once again I hear the band not hesitating to let the guitar float freely for a minute and a half, so that it can play great solos. Great - just like SATURNUS or DOOM: VS on “Earthless”.

The vocal is still the weakest point, although now it can be perceived without twitching eyelids. When Mr. Bandurin needs to growl, he is so desperately straining that I start worrying about his underwear. Let the respected sir not consider it an insult - he tries, but it seems to me that it is better to sing in a more natural manner than to try to squeeze something unsuitable for consumption. In addition, the vocals are devoid of emotion, it's just a neutral roar. The same Thomas Jensen from SATURNUS, for example, knows how to growl much lower, more extreme, and still manages to tear the soul to shreds. It would not be superfluous to peep him a couple of techniques.

In general, the return of the band after a long pause was extremely successful. The CD for my collection is on it's way. (I am (slightly embarrassed by the design though - what kind of post-punk is this?). Unfortunately, "When no Trails" seems to be the last work of AMBER TEARS, but it is not a shame to leave on such a note.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: ЯНТАРНЫЕ СЛЁЗЫ – Когда нет троп

Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: BadMoodMan Music
Оценка: 8,3 / 10

Мне кажется, выхода нового альбома ЯНТАРНЫХ СЛЁЗ мало кто ожидал – с момента выпуска предыдущей пластинки прошло девять лет, и лично я уже и думать забыл про пензенцев. Как оказалось, группа не умерла, а просто очень медленно ваяла своё новое творение. И должен отметить, что ожидание того стоило.

На первых двух альбомах ЯНТАРНЫЕ СЛЁЗЫ были честными кло… последователями GODS TOWER, интерпретировавшими фирменный фолькорный гитарный саунд беларусов в душевном думовом ключе. Звучало это классно, но впечатление портила некая не поддающаяся описанию аляповатость композиций, а также уёбищный вокал. По поводу нового альбома есть две новости: вокал стал лучше, а клонирование GODS TOWER осталось в прошлом. Хотя певучие гитарные риффы ЯНТАРНЫХ СЛЁЗ ещё содержат отдельные отсылки к GODS TOWER, большая часть материала всё-таки “своя”. Оказывается, пензенцы превосходно работают самостоятельно. Если внимательно изучать композиции с лупой, обнаружится, что ничего особенного в них нет. Но огромную роль играет мощное и атмосферное звучание инструментов, а также хитроумный разброс дополнительных дорожек по трекам. Слушать традиционный думовый рифф – это одно. Слушать этот рифф, сопровождаемый простой и эффективной акустической партией или клавишной аранжировкой – это совсем другое. “Когда нет троп” до ужаса драматичен, музыкально эмоционален и красив. В кои-то веки я вновь слышу группу, не стесняющуюся отпускать гитару в свободное плавание на минуту-полторы, чтобы та поиграла отличные соло. Атдуши – прямо как у SATURNUS или DOOM:VS на “Earthless”.

Вокал по-прежнему является самым слабым местом, хотя теперь его можно воспринимать без подёргиваний веком. Когда господину Бандурину нужно рычать, он так отчаянно тужится, что становится боязно за его исподнее. Пусть уважаемый не сочтёт это за оскорбление – он старается, но мне кажется, что лучше петь в более естественной для себя манере, чем стараться выдавить нечто непригодное к употреблению. Кроме того, вокал лишён эмоций, это просто нейтральный рык. Тот же Томас Йенсен из SATURNUS, например, умеет рычать гораздо ниже, экстремальнее, и всё равно умудряется изорвать душу в клочья. Подсмотреть у него пару приёмов было бы не лишним.

В целом, возвращение группы после длительной паузы получилось крайне успешным. Всем бы так. Диск в коллекцию уже на пути ко мне (слегка смущает оформление – что это за пост-панк?). К сожалению, “Когда нет троп”, очевидно, останется последней работой ЯНТАРНЫХ СЛЁЗ, но уйти на такой ноте совсем не стыдно.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий