Blitz reviews 34: GJENDØD, MALOKARPATAN, SE LUSIFERIN KANNEL, TOXIK ATTACK, PALE DIVINE

34th part of short reviews.

GJENDØD – Krigsdøger
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Hellthrasher Productions
Rating: 5,6 / 10

Norwegian “Black” Metal. Again. I have no idea how this piece of work attracted the attention of two good publishers at once - Darker Than Black and Hellthrasher. Probably, with a cover. In the best moments, “Krigsdøger” reminds BURZUM on “Belus” and “Umskiptar”, but with a dull aura and without good music. The rest is mostly shit. The sound is bad, the vocals are disgusting. Sometimes you can find good fragments of music, I give them that. But this does not save the third-rate album from the coming oblivion, which seems inevitable to me.

MALOKARPATAN – Cesta podzemnými sálami Kovovlada
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Sun & Moon Records
Rating: 6,7 / 10

Seven-inch from the stern men from Slovakia participating in ALGOR, KROLOK and other good bands. This band's image instantly refers to ROOT, MASTER’S HAMMER, NIFELHEIM and TORMENTOR, but for this release it’s hard to say how big the similarity really is. The first track on the record is a strange ambient piece about something big and evil, crawling somewhere deep under ground. The second is no less underground and harsh, but metallic this time. A simple mid-tempo thing with sinister keyboard parts, musically reminiscent of old BATHORY and MASTER’S HAMMER, leaves a good impression, but a weak aftertaste. Need to listen more to understand if it's really that good. 

SE LUSIFERIN KANNEL – Valtakunta
Year of release: 2017
Released by: Signal Rex
Rating: 5 / 10

Super-tipped Finnish metal about everything and all that. Very reminiscent of a wave of American “Black” Metal of about a decade ago: not only indigestible sound with parts and instruments vocalized to the same level, but also music insanely bloated from pathos and self-importance, behind which gray emptiness is most likely hidden. The album is characterized by a cold and brutal atmosphere of total devastation, this is true, but it tired me by the middle of the first 17-minute track. To sustain three more pieces of the same crap is not easy.

TOXIK ATTACK – Assassinos em Série
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Helldprod Records
Rating: 5,3 / 10

Another meaningless pseudo-old school thrash in the vein of VIOLATOR and shit. Cheerful and melodic nonsense with a thin sound could be fine while you are in the certain mood, if not the vocalist. His gimmicks and disgusting squeals are really shameful to listen to. Fukk it.

PALE DIVINE – Pale Divine
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 6 / 10

Traditional Doom Metal from USA which has a powerful aftertaste of typically American groove metal, even though they are trying to present this as BLACK SABBATH and PENTAGRAM influence. For the fans of very specific style of music. Not for me.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 34: GJENDØD, MALOKARPATAN, SE LUSIFERIN KANNEL, TOXIK ATTACK, PALE DIVINE

34-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

GJENDØD – Krigsdøger
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Hellthrasher Productions
Оценка: 5,6 / 10

Норвежский “Black” Metal. Опять. Понятия не имею, чем это произведение привлекло внимание сразу двух хороших издателей – Darker Than Black и Hellthrasher. Наверное, обложкой. В лучшие моменты “Krigsdøger” напоминает BURZUM на “Belus” и “Umskiptar”, только с унылой аурой и без хорошей музыки. В остальные – говно. Зву скверный, вокал отвратителен. Иногда в музыке проскакивают неплохие мелодии, отдаю должное. Но это не спасает третьесортный альбом от грядущего забвения, которое видится мне неизбежным.

MALOKARPATAN – Cesta podzemnými sálami Kovovlada
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Sun & Moon Records
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

Семидюймовка от суровых мужиков из Словакии, участвующих в ALGOR, KROLOK и других группах, чуть похуже. Имидж банды моментально отсылает к ROOT, MASTER’S HAMMER, NIFELHEIM и TORMENTOR, но по этому релизу трудно сказать, насколько велико сходство в действительности. Первый трек на пластинки – странноватый эмбиент про нечто большое и злое, ворочающееся где-то глубоко под землёй. Второй – не менее подземный и суровый, но уже металлический. Простая среднетемповая вещь со зловещими клавишными партиями, музыкально напоминающая старых BATHORY и MASTER’S HAMMER, оставляет хорошие впечатления, но слабое послевкусие. Нужно слушать больше. 

SE LUSIFERIN KANNEL – Valtakunta
Год выхода: 2017
Издатель: Signal Rex
Оценка: 5 / 10

Супер-замудрёный финский метал обо всех и обо всём. Очень напоминает волну американского “Black” Metal примерно десятилетней давности: не только неудобоваримым звуком с запуленными на один уровень партиями инструментов и вокала, но и безумно раздутой от пафоса и собственной значимости музыкой, за которой, скорее всего, скрывается серая пустота. Альбому присуща холодная и жестокая атмосфера тотального опустошения, это верно, однако он утомил меня уже к середине первого 17-минутного трека. Выдержать ещё три таких же куска было непросто.

TOXIK ATTACK – Assassinos em Série
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Helldprod Records
Оценка: 5,3 / 10

Очередной бессмысленный псевдо-олдскульный трэш в духе всяческих VIOLATOR’ов. Бодрая и мелодичная ерунда с жиденьким звуком могла бы зайти под определённое настроение, если бы не вокалист, от кривляний и мерзкого визга которого рука тянется к ножу. Ну его нахой.

PALE DIVINE – Pale Divine
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Традиционный дум из США, обладающий мощным привкусом типично американского грув-метала, хоть это и пытаются выдать за влияние BLACK SABBATH и PENTAGRAM. На любителя. Не на меня.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий