Review: ULVKROS – Palieskaje varjactva

Year of release: 2017
Released by: Barbatos Productions
Rating: 8,2 / 10

If anyone does not know, ULVKROS is another good young formation from Belarus. The project - I'm 99% sure that it's solo - s shrouded in a veil of secrecy and anonymity, the fashion for which, frankly speaking, has already managed to become fucking annoying, almost as all these MGLA-like bags on the heads. A couple of years ago, digital copies of cassette demos appeared on the Web, which, however, neither I nor any of my acquaintances had ever seen, so the question arises whether these cassettes actually exist (besides the specimens captured in the photographs). In total there were three demos, and in 2017 Barbatos Productions released all of them on CD compilation, which I now have the honor to review.

Everything about ULVKROS in a good way resembles the beginning and middle of the 90s - starting with this theme with cassettes and ending with aesthetics and music. Even the tracklist tunes in the right way: if the cover of ISENGARD is still all right (although it is also rare), then the cover of MYSTERIES is already a serious statement. An ordinary metal listener from Ukraine easily understands Polish Cults, but our local shitheads, despite the close proximity, don't know a damn thing about that - they only interested in batushkas / bartushkas and fucking behemots. The music on the first and second demo has a lot of parallels with the same MYSTERIES, FULLMOON and other dangerous figures of the classic metal underground of Poland, but it has more melody. The second demo, perhaps, is even closer to the late BILSKIRNIR with its RAC rhythm. Local giants KAMAEDZITCA also ran somewhere nearby (probably to the training in the gym). Interestingly, the sound of both demo is very bad: home-made baking in a not very successful manifestation - vocal recorded in a karaoke microphone, a bad drum machine, and so on. Only the guitar sounds fine. But the author did not complicate the music with some tricky arrangements, so the home sound is perceived almost without irritation. In a strange way, he managed to hook on the archaic atmosphere that we are looking for in such music. Of course, this is not Isengard Studio, but what in this world sounds like Isengard Studio today? Nothing, I say.

The text part of the demo shows that, despite the obvious NS bias, ULVKROS is far from the modern examples of pure political propaganda translated into music. This is quite unfashionable right-wing radicalism which can be found in old bands like our ŠTURM, as well as in acting, but old-school ones, like SATANIC WARMASTER. Images of forests, swamps, mists and ancient castles, rituals to the glory of the Black Sun, the war for the native land - and all this comes from a perspective that is very close to Black Metal.

The third demo starts from the track, which, according to the Internet, was not on the tape (but in vain) - “Balotnyja ahni”. This is one of the most powerful things on the compilation: a terribly old ambient that resurrects the very, very early recordings of MORTIIS or, say, GRAVELAND. It turns out that almost all the third demo consists of ambient and acoustics, and in it the spirit of the early 90s is as strong as ever - probably because the home origin of the recording does not matter. A synthesizer is always a synthetizer, especially with such simple and atmospheric parts. The material from the third demo is great, and if you ask me to compare it with the first two, then I find it difficult to say what I like more. The collection ends with the aforementioned MYSTERIES cover, for which a new text was written in Belarusian. The cover turned out to be powerful, and the drums here suspiciously resemble real ones.

As a result, I confidently assert that my attitude towards ULVKROS, thanks to this compilation, has become extremely positive - even despite the guy's ignoring the suggestion to do an interview. The minor flaws of the recording and music do not take away the positive qualities and rare kind of spirituality. In view of this, the release of the disc on Barbatos seems a musician's miscalculation to me. Ermak, without changing his principles, blurted out 100 copies with a primitive design, saving on everything (well, and then there was also a traditional seven-inch split for fifteen hundred rubles). Underground is underground, but I believe that ULVKROS deserves more. owever, the cheapness partly went to the benefit: this awful computed-made cover that you can see above on matte paper turned into a very atmospheric canvas, which is revealed in all its glory when you unfold a short booklet. It's good that there are texts inside. You can look at everything closer in this video.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: ULVKROS – Palieskaje varjactva

Год выхода: 2017
Издатель: Barbatos Productions
Оценка: 8,2 / 10

Если кто не знает, ULVKROS – это ещё одна хорошая молодая формация из Беларуси. Проект – на 99% уверен, что сольный – окутан завесой тайны и анонимности, мода на которую, честно говоря, уже успела заебать почти так же, как вездесущие мешки на головах. Пару лет назад в Сети появились цифровые копии с кассетных демо, которых, впрочем, ни я, ни кто-либо из моих знакомых в глаза не видел, поэтому возникает вопрос, существуют ли они на самом деле (помимо экземпляров, которые запечатлены на фотографиях). Всего демок вышло три, а в 2017-ом Barbatos Productions выпустил на CD их собрание, которое я сейчас имею честь рецензировать.

Всё в ULVKROS по-хорошему напоминает начало-середину 90-х – начиная с этой темы с кассетами и заканчивая эстетикой и музыкой. Даже треклист настраивает на правильный лад: если кавер на ISENGARD ещё куда ни шло (хотя тоже редкость), то кавер на MYSTERIES – уже серьёзное заявление. Это в Украине рядовой слушатель андеграундного метала с лёгкостью разбирается в польских Культах, а тутэйшим говнарям, несмотря на близкое соседство, невдомёк – им подавай Батюшек / Бартушек и прочих Бегемотов. Музыка на первом и втором демо имеет массу параллелей с теми же MYSTERIES, FULLMOON и прочими опасными деятелями классического правого метал-андеграунда Польши, однако в ней больше мелодичности. Второе демо, пожалуй, даже ближе к позднему BILSKIRNIR с его RAC-ритмикой. Местные гиганты KAMAEDZITCA тоже пробегали где-то поблизости (наверное, на тренировку в зал). Интересно, что звук обоих демо весьма хреновый: домашняя выпечка в не самом удачном проявлении – записанный в караоке-микрофон вокал, скверная драм-машина, и так далее. Претензий нет лишь к гитаре. Но автор не стал усложнять музыку какими-то хитрыми аранжировками, поэтому домашний звук воспринимается практически без раздражения. Странным образом ему удалось зацепить ту архаическую атмосферу, которую мы ищем в подобной музыке. Конечно, это далеко не Isengard Studio, но что сегодня в этом мире звучит как Isengard Studio?

Текстовая часть демо показывает, что, несмотря на очевидный уклон В НС, ULVKROS далёк от современных образчиков чистой политической пропаганды, подаваемой под музыку. Это тот совсем не модный правый радикализм, который можно найти у старых банд вроде нашего ŠTURM, а также у действующих, но олдскульных, как SATANIC WARMASTER. Образы лесов, болот, туманов и древних замков, ритуалы во славу Чёрного Солнца, война за родную землю – и всё это подаётся с перспективы, весьма близкой к Black Metal.

Третье демо стартует с трека, которого, если верить Интернету, на кассете не было (а зря) – “Balotnyja ahni”. Это одна из самых сильных вещей на сборнике: жутко старинный эмбиент, воскрешающий в памяти совсем-совсем ранние записи MORTIIS или, скажем, GRAVELAND. Оказывается, почти всё третье демо состоит из эмбиента и акустики, и в нём дух начала 90-х силён как никогда – наверное, потому, что здесь домашнее происхождение записи не играет роли. Синтезатор – он и есть синтезатор, особенно с такими простыми и атмосферными партиями. Материал с третьего демо прекрасен, и если вы попросите меня сравнить его с первыми двумя, то я затруднюсь сказать, что мне нравится больше. Заканчивается сборник вышеупомянутым кавером на MYSTERIES, для которого был написан новый текст на беларуском. Кавер получился мощным, причём ударка на нём подозрительно напоминает живую.

По итогу с уверенность утверждаю, что моё отношение к ULVKROS, благодаря этому сборнику, стало крайне положительным – даже несмотря на игнорирование предложения сделать интервью. Небольшие недостатки записи и музыки не отнимают у неё положительные свойства и редкий в наши времена дух. Ввиду этого, выпуск диска на Barbatos видится мне просчётом со стороны музыканта. Ермак, не изменяя своим принципам, ляпнул 100 копий с примитивным оформлением, сэкономив на всём (ну и потом ещё был традиционный семидюймовый сплит за полторы тыщи рублей). Андеграунд андеграундом, но я считаю, что ULVKROS заслуживает большего. Впрочем, дешевизна отчасти пошла релизу на пользу: намалёванная на компьютере корявая обложка, которую вы видите вверху, на матовой бумаге превратилась в очень даже атмосферное полотно, которое во всей красе раскрывается при разворачивании куцего буклета. Хорошо, что внутри всё-таки есть тексты. Посмотреть на всё поближе можно на видео.

Post Author: F1sher16

1 thought on “Рецензия: ULVKROS – Palieskaje varjactva

Добавить комментарий