Blitz reviews 36: DEVOID OF THOUGHT, BEWITCHER, TARGET, NECROHOLOCAUST, HISS FROM THE MOAT

36th part of short reviews.

DEVOID OF THOUGHT – Cosmic Apoptosis
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Caligari Records
Rating: 7 / 10

Italian Death Metal band with a demo of three songs. It’s not quite clear why they were doing a demo, since they are already on the label ... Well, that’s all very well, even if I heard it a thousand times before. Authentic darkness and madness, otherworldly atmosphere, heart-rending musicianship with sharp breakdowns to high speeds. If the band made this demo in order to search for a new publisher, then they tried in vain - it was better to immediately run to Memento Mori, they love this kind of stuff. Although some decisions, such as small batches of sore pure vocals, may scare away the Spaniard, who is used to the more traditional death-doom strain.

BEWITCHER – Too Fast for the Flames
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 8 / 10

A lively seven-inch single from the American speed metal band. It is rather unusual to hear such things from Shadow Kingdom who prefer more measured and adult material, but it's nice! Fans of MIDNIGHT, VENOM and BAT surely must give it a try. In addition to the title track, the record contains a killer cover of W.A.S.P. Cool!

TARGET – Deep Water Flames
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Australis Records
Rating: 6 / 10

Chilean technical death metal, shamelessly copying DECAPITATED' style of 2004-2011 period. I have a complicated attitude towards DECAPITATED, because apart from their debut, they play very bad music very well. But anyway, it should be noted that their style is unique. Now the Poles have a high-quality Chilean clone. I'll let DECAPITATED fans decide if it's good or bad, and I will give this album a neutrally-positive rating.

NECROHOLOCAUST – Laudem Antichristus
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Iron Bonehead Productions
Rating: 7,1 / 10

The Canadian band that plays goat metal, and it is not at all ashamed of it. You know the similarities already. In my opinion, the record is being spoiled by overly smooth death metal sound, but everything else is OK, and there is nothing more I can add.

HISS FROM THE MOAT – The Harrier
Year of release: 2019
Released by: M-Theory Audio
Rating: 5,7 / 10

HISS FROM THE MOAT's debut album, as I remember, was selling very well in my distro, so, coupled with its Italian origin, I was almost completely sure that it is shit. Now I can say I wasn't really wrong. The music on the album is a noisy and pretentious material in the vein of other fancy Italians - HOUR OF PENANCE. Or, for instance, BELPHEGOR. All these blast beats, choir shouts and sinister synths at the right moment are impressive when you are 18-20 years old, but then you realize that nothing stands behind this set of beautiful sounds. In addition, the album has a weak dry sound where the the music feels itself like a smug director of the office, suddenly waking up naked on the roadway. HOUR OF PENANCE at least got balls to sound like a fucking bombarder.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 36: DEVOID OF THOUGHT, BEWITCHER, TARGET, NECROHOLOCAUST, HISS FROM THE MOAT

36-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

DEVOID OF THOUGHT – Cosmic Apoptosis
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Caligari Records
Оценка: 7 / 10

Итальянская Death Metal-группа с демо-записью из трёх песен. Не совсем ясно, зачем было делать демо, раз они уже на лейбле… Ну а так-то всё очень хорошо, пусть и избито. Аутентичный мрак и безумие, потусторонняя атмосфера, истошное музицирование с резкими срывами на высокие скорости. Если группа сделала это демо в целях поиска нового издателя, то зря старалась – лучше было сразу бежать на Memento Mori, там такое любят. Хотя некоторые решения, вроде маленьких партий больного чистого вокала, могут отпугнуть испанца, привыкшего к традиционной дэт-думовой тягучести.

BEWITCHER – Too Fast for the Flames
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 8 / 10

Бойкий семидюймовый сингл от американской спидовой банды. Довольно непривычно слышать такое от Shadow Kingdom, тяготеющего к размеренному стариковскому материалу, но приятно! Любителям всяческих MIDNIGHT, VENOM, BAT и т.п. обязательно придётся по вкусу. Помимо заглавного трека, на пластинке содержится убойный кавер на W.A.S.P. Атдуши!

TARGET – Deep Water Flames
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Australis Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Чилийский техничный дэт, бесстыже обдирающий DECAPITATED образца 2004-2011. К DECAPITATED у меня отношение сложное, поскольку эти поляки, если не считать дебюта, очень хорошо играют очень плохую музыку. И нельзя не отметить, что стиль у них уникальный. Теперь вот у поляков есть качественный чилийский клон. Хорошо это или плохо – решать фанатам DECAPITATED, а я выставлю нейтрально-положительный балл.

NECROHOLOCAUST – Laudem Antichristus
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Iron Bonehead Productions
Оценка: 7,1 / 10

Канадская группа, которая играет козлометал, нисколько этого не стыдясь. Вы сами знаете, на что это похоже. На мой взгляд, запись портит излишне гладкий дэтовый саунд, ну а так-то здесь всё по цеху, и добавить нечего.

HISS FROM THE MOAT – The Harrier
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: M-Theory Audio
Оценка: 5,7 / 10

Дебютный альбом HISS FROM THE MOAT, помнится, отлично продавался у меня в дистро, поэтому, вкупе с его итальянским происхождением, вселил в меня почти полную уверенность, что эта группа – говно. В принципе, я почти не ошибся. Музыка на альбоме представляет собой шумный и пафосный материал в духе других модных итальянцев – HOUR OF PENANCE. Или, скажем, BELPHEGOR. Все эти бласт-биты, хоровые выкрики и зловещие синты в нужный момент впечатляют, когда тебе 18-20 лет, но потом понимаешь, что за этим набором красивых звуков ничего не стоит. Кроме того, альбом имеет жидкий звучок, в котором музыка чувствует себя как самодовольный директор офиса, внезапно проснувшийся нагишом на проезжей части. У HOUR OF PENANCE всё хотя бы ебашит как надо.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий