Blitz reviews 37: NECROSLEEZER, TEZCATLIPOCA, ECTOVOID, PUTREFIED CORPSE, UNDEATH

37th part of short reviews.

NECROSLEEZER – Pope Kill
Year of release: 1998 / 2019 (this version)
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

Reissue of an old demo recorded in 1995 by two BLASPHEMY musicians. The demo then did not attract the attention of the labels, so the band broke up, without recording anything else. Now, 21 years later, it received a decent release - vinyls from NWN and tapes from Darkness Attack. The material on the demo is very similar to BLASPHEMY, but it sounds a bit more rock-n-roll and tenacious - rather, even in the vein of the latest BEHERIT album. Must have!

TEZCATLIPOCA – Tlayohualtlapelani
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Iron Bonehead Productions
Rating: 6 / 10

Reading the names of the songs of this band, I understand what some standard Russsian feels, trying to read the song titles written by Belarusian latin. “Huey Tlatoani” - holy shit! The music, however, is not so impressive. The culture of the Aztecs does not cause any response in my soul, and the metal here is rather mediocre - something moderately Scandinavian from the mid-90s, with southern flavor. Elements of folk could change the game, but they are too few. In addition, the recording quality is creepy; I welcome simple solutions in the studio, but then you don’t have to turn up the volume so much.

ECTOVOID – Inner Death
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 7,3 / 10

Classic Death Metal with excellent rhythm and high speeds. In some places, it even resembles our LJOSAZABOJSTWA, only badly drunk and with broken fingers. This EP does not offer anything outstanding - pure charge of energy. The main problem lies in the sound, the severity of which, as it seems to me, was created by more artificial methods - simply put, there is too much noise. However, the masters for vinyl always sound quite different in digital form - maybe this is one of such cases.

PUTREFIED CORPSE – Left to Rot
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Xtreem Music
Rating: 7,5 / 10

Nice debut album of the Dutch gang. The quintet performs an absolutely traditional Death Metal, but does it skillfully, with good balance and quality of the songs. Attention is drawn by the non-trivial vocals that resemble Sylvain Houde from early KATAKLYSM and Chris Barnes from SFU's "13". A very significant release for Xtreem Music - this Spanish label has become famous for this kind of music.

UNDEATH – Demo ’19
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Caligari Records
Rating: 6,2 / 10

The first demo of the American Death Metal band, released so far only on tapes. The material is similar to IMMOLATION, but has a more sinister undertone and ambition that goes beyond the standard riffs. The sound raises questions - it feels as if it was intentionally made worse so that it corresponds to the demo status. Overall, not bad; in the end, it can become something big, or a dummy. And - rare advice for me - in this case, I would recommend the group to focus not on the atmosphere, but on the improvement of technical skills. They are good even now, but the potential is much higher!

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 37: NECROSLEEZER, TEZCATLIPOCA, ECTOVOID, PUTREFIED CORPSE, UNDEATH

37-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

NECROSLEEZER – Pope Kill
Год выхода: 1998 / 2019 (это издание)
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

Переиздание старого демо, записанного в 1995-ом году двумя музыкантами BLASPHEMY. Демо тогда не привлекло внимания лейблов, поэтому группа распалась, не записав больше ничего. Теперь, 21 год спустя, оно получило достойный релиз – винилы от NWN и кассеты от Darkness Attack. Материал на демо очень похож на BLASPHEMY, но звучит чуток более рок-н-ролльно и цепко – скорее, даже в духе последнего альбома BEHERIT. Надо брать!

TEZCATLIPOCA – Tlayohualtlapelani
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Iron Bonehead Productions
Оценка: 6 / 10

Читая названия песен этой группы, я понимаю, как чувствует себя условный уралец, пытаясь прочесть слова, написанные беларуской латинкой. “Huey Tlatoani” – в самом деле, я хуею. С музыки, правда, охуеть не получается. Культура ацтеков не вызывает в моей душе никакого отклика, а метал здесь достаточно посредственный – что-то такое умеренно-скандинавское из середины 90-х, только с мексиканским колоритом. Элементы фолка могли бы изменить правила игры, однако их слишком мало. Кроме того, качество записи жуткое; я приветствую простые решения в студии, но не надо потом так сильно задирать громкость.

ECTOVOID – Inner Death
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 7,3 / 10

Классический Death Metal с отличной ритмикой и высокими скоростями. Местами внезапно напоминает наших LJOSAZABOJSTWA, только сильно пьяных и с переломанными пальцами. Ничего выдающегося семидюймовка не предлагает – чистый заряд энергии. Главная проблема кроется в звуке, тяжесть которого, как мне кажется, создана больше искусственными методами – слишом уж много шума. Впрочем, мастера для винила всегда звучат в цифре совсем не так, как на пластинке – может быть, это один из таких случаев.

PUTREFIED CORPSE – Left to Rot
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Xtreem Music
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Хороший дебютный альбом голландской банды. Квинтет исполняет абсолютно традиционный Death Metal, но делает это умело, сбалансированно и качественно. Внимание на себя обращает нетривиальный вокал, напоминающий Сильвена Уда из классической эпохи KATAKLYSM и Криса Барнса на “13”. Очень показательный релиз для Xtreem Music – именно такой музыкой прославился этот испанский лейбл.

UNDEATH – Demo ’19
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Caligari Records
Оценка: 6,2 / 10

Первое демо американской Death Metal-группы, вышедшее пока только на кассетах. Материал похож на IMMOLATION, но имеет более зловещий оттенок и амбиции, выходящие за пределы стандартных риффов. Саунд вызывает вопросы – такое ощущение, будто его намеренно сделали хуже, дабы оный соответствовал статусу демо. В целом – неплохо; из этого может вырасти как что-то очень большое, так и пустышка. Причём – редкий для меня совет – в данном случае я бы порекомендовал группе сосредоточиться не на атмосфере, а на совершенствовании технических навыков. Они вызывают уважение уже сейчас, а ведь группе не исполнилось и года!

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий