Review: SS-18 – Kurukshetra Brahmastra War

Year of release: 2017
Released by: Thou Shalt Kill! Records
Rating: 8,3 / 10

My little vacation in Belgium is over, which means it's time to return to a pleasant routine. First of all, I suddenly had a desire to review the album, which has been on the table for almost six months. “Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” is the first work of the SS-18 which I listened to in its entirety. Before that, only individual tracks reached my ears, and with them everything was about the same as with other projects with the participation of Sadist: with your mind you understand that this is good and right, but the soul is seeking something else.

“Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” managed to catch it right away, although, as you see, it is only now I managed to gather my thoughts of it in a bunch. For me, this is primarily a musical album. Regarding the lyric part, alas, I don’t have much to say, as my knowledge of Hinduism, by and large, is limited to the song "Maha Kali" by DISSECTION. The mixture of religious vision with the theme of a nuclear apocalypse delights with its poetic nature, but it is obvious to me that the listener who knows a thing or two about Hinduism will find much more in SS-18 texts. I note that the lyrics to the album is excellent from a purely literary point of view, as well as both traditional and non-banal simultaneously.

The music on “Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” is eclectic in a good way. This is all Black Metal, but very diverse. I can not stand industrial metal, and therefore I ignored SS-18 for quite a long time, but on this album industrialism does not mean the presence of idiotic clanging samples and passing vocals through some fucking Kanye West's robotic shit. “Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” sounds harsh and disastrous, like a nuclear apocalypse; The album evokes images of fire and technology, bringing death to the whole world - this is the “industrialism” here. This is about the sound: completely live, but to a certain extent soulless. It is difficult to characterize music in general, because it is constantly changing. Each new track is not similar to the previous one. All sorts of techniques, solutions and decisions are used - except the most ancient ones, in the vein of BATHORY, HELLHAMMER etc. Therefore, it's meaningless to search for parallels. On the whole album I can notice only two regularities: the prevailing blast beat and a slow bias towards epicity and melody with each next song. The most delicious cake, however, is the penultimate thing, “Mahapralaya”, subtly reminiscent of "Навсегда" by KRUK. It's layers consist of slow, heavy rhythms, and catchy guitar and keyboard melodies are additional sweets. The last song, "Reminiscence", puts the dot under the album, but musically it is inferior to “Mahapralaya”, because the latter leaves behind a complete devastation.

Summing up, I boldly declare: “Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” should be taken, if only because it is a very independent album - a rare thing in modern music. SS-18 was lucky to develop its own style, which successfully embodied here. The disk is issued in the form of an interestingly folding six-panel hardback. More details on a video.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: SS-18 – Kurukshetra Brahmastra War

Год выхода: 2017
Издатель: Thou Shalt Kill! Records
Оценка: 8,3 / 10

Мой небольшой отпуск в Бельгии закончился, а это означает, что настала пора вернуться к приятной рутине. Первым делом у меня внезапно появилось желание отрецензировать альбом, лежащий на столе уже почти полгода. “Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” – первая работа SS-18, которую я послушал целиком. До этого моих ушей достигали лишь отдельные треки, и с ними всё было примерно так же, как с другими проектами с участием Садиста: умом понимаешь, что это хорошо и правильно, но душа отстраняется.

“Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” сумел зацепить сразу, хотя собрать в кучку соображения насчёт него, как видите, удалось лишь сейчас. Для меня это прежде всего музыкально выдающийся альбом. По лирической части, увы, сказать мне особо нечего, так как мои знания об индуизме, по большому счёту, ограничиваются песней DISSECTION “Maha Kali”. Смесь религиозного видения с тематикой ядерного апокалипсиса восхищает своей поэтичностью, однако для меня очевидно, что слушатель, шарящий в индуизме, найдёт в текстах SS-18 намного больше. Я же отмечу, что лирика к альбому превосходна с чисто литературной точки зрения, а также одновременно традиционна и небанальна.

Музыка на “Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” по-хорошему эклектична. Это всё Black Metal, но очень разнообразный. Я терпеть не могу индустриальный метал, и потому довольно долго игнорировал SS-18, однако на данном альбоме индустриальность не означает наличие идиотских лязгающих сэмплов и пропускания вокала через ебучую вокальную примочку Канье Уэста. “Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” звучит сурово и гибельно, как ядерный апокалипсис; альбом вызывает в голове образы огня и техники, несущей смерть всему свету – вот такая здесь “индустриальность”. Это касается именно звука – полностью живого, но в определённой степени бездушного. Музыку же трудно охарактеризовать общо, поскольку она постоянно меняется. Каждый новый трек не похож на предыдущий. Используются всевозможные приёмы, решения и техники, кроме самых древних – в духе BATHORY, HELLHAMMER и т.п. Поэтому проводить аналогии бессмысленно. На всём альбоме могу подметить лишь две закономерности: превалирующий бласт-бит и медленный уклон в сторону эпичности и мелодичности с каждой следующей песней. Самым вкусным тортом, впрочем, является предпоследняя вещь, “Mahapralaya”, неуловимо напоминающая “Навсегда” от KRUK. Её коржи состоят из медленных тяжёлых ритмов, а в качестве дополнительных сладостей выступают западающие в память гитарные и клавишные мелодии. Точку под альбомом ставит тягучая песня “Reminiscence”, однако в музыкальном плане она всяко уступает “Mahapralaya”, поскольку та оставляет за собой полное опустошение.

Подводя итог, смело заявляю: “Kurukshetra Brahmastra War” надо брать хотя бы потому, что это очень самостоятельный альбом – редкая вещь в современной музыке. SS-18 посчастливилось выработать собственный стиль, который с успехом воплотился здесь. Диск издан в виде интересно раскладывающегося шестипанельного хардбэка. Подробности на видео.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий