Blitz reviews 38: AEMPYREAN, VANANIDR, ZEALOT CULT, ÓREIÐA, SICULICIDIUM

38th part of short reviews.

AEMPYREAN – Fireborn
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Cyclopean Eye Productions
Rating: 6,5 / 10

Fast and chaotic Death Metal in the vein of early MORBID ANGEL and ABSU. Everything is played very diligently and correctly, there are atmospheric solos, but the music is spoiled by a weak, thin sound. The band is originally from India, so it is excusable, but the result, however, is affected anyways. A press release promising to tear the listener apart with the power of a chainsaw does not justify itself - the album is not bad, but it is difficult to call it powerful.

VANANIDR – Vananidr
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Purity Through Fire
Rating: 5,6 / 10

Nordic metal from Sweden, quite openly focused on IMMORTAL and a little bit on other classic Scandinavian formations. There are really indecently many familiar motives but the music is inherently very primitive. It can take only 1-2 listenings. The vocal is bad, the lyrics are even worse - the simplicity on the verge of idiocy. If anyone remembers the lyrics for the OBITUARY debut, then here it is almost the same, only about frost and northern warriors. The author of the project has a black stain on his career - participation in SATAN'S PENGUINS - so it is not surprising. Once a clown - always a clown. Listening to VANANIDR is not necessary.

ZEALOT CULT – Spiritual Sickness
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 7 / 10

Another followers of MORBID ANGEL in today's Blitz, but more skillful. Here we got front cover from Paolo Girardi, the sound from the right place, and the manner of performance is less pretentious. The vocals are cool - strained vomiting a-la John Tardy. The style of playing sometimes copies MORBID ANGEL so much that it’s scary: just listen to these heavy riffs with flageolets on “Sea of Suffering”. Not being a fan of MA, I am not thrilled with the album, but I cannot but recognize its strength. I recommend you to check out this good old school.

ÓREIÐA – Óreiða
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Harvest of Death
Rating: no rating

As you may have guessed by the name, this is an Icelandic project. Anonymous - of course! - and, which is absolutely predictable, from a guy with a bag on his head. The Icelandic scene makes me increasingly reluctant - it seems to have turned into a trend devouring itself even before it could grow into something serious. Wherever you go, you will find these terribly occult and confused anonymous projects, diligently trying to seem like something big and inaccessible to the mere mortal. This release from ÓREIÐA, for example, consists of 4 long tracks of primitive crude blasting a la ILDJARN + sounds of sea waves. No vocals. In principle, this can be listened to as a tolerable ambient, but the usual enthusiastic press release, which describes the album’s claims to various lofty matters, discourages any desire to touch it again. It is clear that all this is subjective, therefore I will refrain from ratings this time.
...they even pressed this on vinyl. What a showoff.

SICULICIDIUM – A halál és az iránytű
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Sun & Moon Records
Rating: 7 / 10

SICULICIDIUM is the project of the participants of WOLFSGREY, the Romanian band that I remember thanks to uch an archaic sound as if it really was created in Transylvanian forests hundreds of years ago. SICULICIDIUM is more modern but not by much. The new seven-inch contains two tracks where the classic Eastern European melody and the rather elegant Transylvanian darkness are perfectly combined. The vocals performed in the manner of the Hungarian DUSK or the Czech MASTER’S HAMMER - broaching, hoarse, shamanic voice. There are also quite bold acoustic fragments that are not typical of extreme metal. In general, the release is not the most exciting, but in today's Blitz, I most strongly recommend it, since it, unlike the others, is really able to offer something new (or not that hackneyed).

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 38: AEMPYREAN, VANANIDR, ZEALOT CULT, ÓREIÐA, SICULICIDIUM

38-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

AEMPYREAN – Fireborn
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Cyclopean Eye Productions
Оценка: 6,5 / 10

Быстрый и хаотический Death Metal в духе ранних MORBID ANGEL и ABSU. Всё сыграно весьма прилежно и правильно, есть атмосферные соло, однако музыку портит слабый, жидкий звучок. Группа родом из Индии, поэтому ей простительно, но на результате, тем не менее, сказывается. Пресс-релиз, обещающий разорвать слушателя на части с силой бензопилы, себя не оправдывает – альбом неплохой, но мощным его назвать трудно.

VANANIDR – Vananidr
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Purity Through Fire
Оценка: 5,6 / 10

Нордический метал из Швеции, довольно открыто ориентирующийся на IMMORTAL и по чуть-чуть на другие классические скандинавские банды. Знакомых с юности холодных мотивов прямо-таки неприлично много, однако музыка по своей сути весьма примитивна. Хватает её на одно-два прослушивания. Вокал никудышный, тексты ещё хуже – простота на грани дебилизма. Если кто помнит лирику к дебюту OBITUARY, то здесь почти то же самое, только про мороз и северных воинов. Автор проекта в своё время зашкварился участием в SATAN’S PENGUINS, поэтому я ничуть не удивлён. Слушать VANANIDR совершенно не обязательно.

ZEALOT CULT – Spiritual Sickness
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 7 / 10

Ещё одни последователи MORBID ANGEL в сегодняшнем блице, но более умелые. Тут и обложка от Джирарди, и звук из нужного места, и манера исполнения менее пафосная. Радует вокал – натужный сблёв а-ля Джон Тарди. Стиль игры порой настолько копирует MORBID ANGEL, что аж страшно: только вслушайтесь в эти тяжеленные риффы с флажолетами на “Sea of Suffering”. Не будучи фанатом MA, я не в восторге от альбома, однако не могу не признать его крутизны. Рекомендую заценить этот дебёлый олдскул.

ÓREIÐA – Óreiða
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Harvest of Death
Оценка: без оценки

Как вы уже догадались по названию, это исландский проект. Анонимный – разумеется! – и, что абсолютно предсказуемо, от мужика с мешком на голове. Исландская сцена вызывает у меня всё более сильное неприятие – она, похоже, превратилась в пожирающий себя тренд ещё раньше, чем успела вырасти во что-то серьёзное. Куда ни ткни, везде найдёшь эти страшно оккультные и замороченные анонимные проекты, старательно пытающиеся показаться чем-то большим и недоступным простому смертному. Вот этот релиз от ÓREIÐA, например, представляет собой 4 длинных трека примитивной сырой долбёжки а-ля ILDJARN под звук прибоя. Вокала нет. В принципе, это можно слушать как сносный эмбиент, однако привычно восторженный пресс-релиз, расписывающий претензии альбома на различные высокие материи, отбивает всякое желание прикасаться к нему снова. Понятно, что всё это субъективно, поэтому от выставления оценки в этот раз воздержусь.
…ещё и на виниле издали. Меньше выёбывайтесь.

SICULICIDIUM – A halál és az iránytű
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Sun & Moon Records
Оценка: 7 / 10

SICULICIDIUM – проект участников WOLFSGREY, румынской банды, которая запомнилась мне настолько архаичным звучанием, будто оно в самом деле создавалось в трансильванских лесах сотни лет назад. SICULICIDIUM будет посовременнее, но не намного. Новая семидюймовка содержит два трека, в которых отлично сочетаются классическая восточноевропейская мелодика и довольно изящная трансильванская тьма. Большую роль играет вокал, выполненный в духе венгерского DUSK или чешского MASTER’S HAMMER – протяжный, хриплый, шаманский. Есть также довольно смелые акустические фрагменты, нехарактерные для экстремального метала. В целом, релиз не самый захватывающий, но в сегодняшнем Блице я наиболее настоятельно рекомендую именно его, так как он, в отличие от остальных, действительно способен предложить что-то новое (или не настолько избитое).

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий