Blitz reviews 40: SATANIC WARMASTER / ARCHGOAT, ENTRAPMENT, STARGAZER / YSENGRIN, INFERNARIUM, UNGOLIANTHA

40th part of short reviews.

SATANIC WARMASTER / ARCHGOAT – Lux Satanae (Thirteen Hymns of Finnish Devil Worship)
Year of release: 2015
Released by: Hells Headbangers Records
Rating: 9,6 / 10

Making a second attempt to make friends with SATANIC WARMASTER (and at the same time continuing to work on releases of Hells Headbangers), I again listened to this split, which I didn’t understood at it's release time. My attitude changed from bewilderment to pure admiration. This is actually a cut of the best Finnish Black Metal - so different, but comprehensively proper. Split contains 4 rewritten tracks from SW and 9 from ARCHGOAT. If Werwolf just offers the best old stuff in a new wrapper (plus made a cover on its own PEST band), then ARCHGOAT re-recorded all the material from their classic first three releases. The main trouble of all re-recordings - fucked-up sound - didn’t even run around here. All the advantages of the originals are preserved and multiplied. In short, an almost flawless split that performs all the tasks assigned to it. The only controversial point about the release is the complectation. All the material takes a little more than 41 minutes, therefore placing it on two CDs is quite a strange move.

ENTRAPMENT – Imminent Violent Death
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Dawnbreed Records
Rating: 7,8 / 10

Another good release in today's Blitz is an album, about that there is nothing to be said because it's very simple to describe, but it doesn't mean it's bad. While I got to listen to ENTRAPMENT, the band split up, but its latest album is worthy of attention. Like the previous ones, this is the traditional Death Metal of the Swedish type, diligently repeating the early DISMEMBER and ENTOMBED on “Clandestine” (still gloomy, but with some hooliganish mood). The peculiarityof the music is that the band does not shy away from slow, murky songs, and also, on the contrary, sometimes increases the guitar tone and speeds to the level of the old dirty grind stuff a-la REPULSION. Therefore, the album has a rare variety for this style of Death Metal, while maintaining the proper dark mood. Strongly recommended! The digital version, by the way, is available for free download on Bandcamp, but the album deserves more - take a closer look at the CD or vinyl.

STARGAZER / YSENGRIN – D.A.V.V.N.
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 6,7 / 10

Ambiguous release from the NWN. The most experienced Australians STARGAZER (membersof MOURNFUL CONGREGATION, among other things) and the French YSENGRIN are participating. The first ones spent three years on two songs for this split, which implies some kind of monumental work, but in reality the result sounds only like half a year of intense work. The metal track is really complex and mysterious, but the band went a bit too far with extravagance. But the second track, ambient one, I liked much more - in a mysterious way it reminds “Snø og granskog (Utferd)” from DARKTHRONE. As for the song from YSENGRIN, here we have a typical jumble of styles that they are trying to sell as a conceptual piece. Sorry, but this will not work. There is no audio version of the split on label's Bandcamp, so I attach one of the songs of Australians.

INFERNARIUM – Kadotuksen harmonia
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Helter Skelter Productions
Rating: 6,9 / 10

Finnish Black Metal as it is; traditional, rough and cold, sound in the vein of HORNA. Vocalist from KALMANKANTAJA (I think I wrote it correctly). Half of the album is a high-speed, vicious blasting, the other half is a mid-tempo evil blasting, plus some melancholy and samples with Christian songs. All the classics. The thematical part is also classic traditional and almost irrelevant blasphemy. However, the band also opposes Islam, and this is very good thing. My advise - work in this direction in the future.

UNGOLIANTHA – The Howl in the Waste
Year of release: 2019
Released by: self-release
Rating: 4,8 / 10

For the first time I listened to this Ukrainian band. Never again. When the band has release on More Hate, it is always suspicious... Just like in the worst cases at the turn of the century - tiresome “symphonic” pathos of incessant keyboard parts, bad vocals with bad accent, boring guitar parts. Most of these bands try to hide their flaws with high-volume sound and vigorous performance, , but this does not help - on the contrary, it only gets worse when they try to push this bullshit into your ears with force. They didn't released this on CD so far - at least this is good.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 40: SATANIC WARMASTER / ARCHGOAT, ENTRAPMENT, STARGAZER / YSENGRIN, INFERNARIUM, UNGOLIANTHA

40-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

SATANIC WARMASTER / ARCHGOAT – Lux Satanae (Thirteen Hymns of Finnish Devil Worship)
Год выхода: 2015
Издатель: Hells Headbangers Records
Оценка: 9,6 / 10

Предпринимая вторую попытку подружиться с SATANIC WARMASTER (а заодно продолжая работать над релизами Hells Headbangers), я снова послушал этот сплит, который в своё время вообще не понял. Отношение изменилось с недоумевающего на категорически восхищённое. Это в самом деле срез лучшего финского Black Metal – такого разного, но всесторонне правильного. Сплит содержит 4 перезаписанных трека от SW и 9 от ARCHGOAT. Если Вервольф предлагает просто лучшие старые вещи в новой обёртке (плюс сделал кавер на свою же группу PEST), то ARCHGOAT перезаписали весь материал со своих классических первых трёх релизов. Главная беда всех перезаписей – испоганенный саунд – здесь даже рядом не пробегала. Все достоинства оригиналов сохранены и приумножены. Короче говоря, практически безупречный сплит, который выполняет все поставленные перед ним задачи. Единственный спорный момент по поводу релиза – его комплектация. Весь материал занимает чуть более 41-й минуты, и разместить его на двух компактах, конечно, было красивым, но совершенно необязательным ходом.

ENTRAPMENT – Imminent Violent Death
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Dawnbreed Records
Оценка: 7,8 / 10

Ещё один хороший релиз в сегодняшнем Блице – альбом, о котором нечего сказать потому, что неохота повторяться, а не потому, что он слабый. Пока я добрался до ENTRAPMENT, группа успела развалиться, но её последний альбом всё-таки достоин внимания. Как и предыдущие, это традиционный Death Metal шведского образца, прилежно повторяющий ранних DISMEMBER и ENTOMBED на “Clandestine” (ещё мрачно, но уже присутствуют залихватские притопы и прихлопы). Особенностью является то, что группа не чурается тягучих, медленных песен, а также, наоборот, повышения гитарного тона и скоростей до уровня старой грязной гринды типа REPULSION. Поэтому альбом обладает редким для стиля разнообразием, сохраняя правильный настрой. Рекомендую! Цифровая версия, кстати, доступна для бесплатного скачивания на Bandcamp, но альбом заслуживает большего – присмотритесь к CD или винилу.

STARGAZER / YSENGRIN – D.A.V.V.N.
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

Неоднозначный релиз от NWN. Участвуют опытнейшие австралийцы STARGAZER (участники MOURNFUL CONGREGATION, помимо всего прочего) и французы YSENGRIN. Первые потратили на две песни для сплита аж три года, что подразумевает некий монументальный труд, но реально результат звучит как полгода от силы. Метал-трек действительно сложный и загадочный, однако с экстравагантностью группа слегка переборщила. Зато второй трек, эмбиентный, мне понравился гораздо больше – мистическим образом он напоминает “Snø og granskog (Utferd)” от DARKTHRONE. Что касается вещи от YSENGRIN, то здесь мы имеем типичную мешанину стилей, которую пытаются выдать за концептуальное произведение. Пардон, но такой номер не пройдёт. На Bandcamp лейбла не залита аудиоверсия сплита, поэтому прикрепляю трек от австралийцев.

INFERNARIUM – Kadotuksen harmonia
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Helter Skelter Productions
Оценка: 6,9 / 10

Финский Black Metal как есть; традиционное, грубое и холодное, звучание в духе HORNA. Вокалист из KALMANKANTAJA (вроде правильно написал). Половина альбома – скоростная злобная долбёжка, другая половина – среднетемповая злобная долбёжка, плюс немного меланхолии и сэмплов с христианскими песенками. Всё по классике. Тематика туда же – традиционное и уже практически утратившее актуальность богохульство. Однако группа также выступает против ислама, а это дело похвальное. Советую в дальнейшем развивать эту составляющую.

UNGOLIANTHA – The Howl in the Waste
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 4,8 / 10

Впервые послушал эту украинскую банду. Больше слушать не буду. Неспроста они издавались на More Hate… Всё как в худших случаях на рубеже веков – мгновенно заёбывающий “симфонический” пафос непрекращающихся клавишных партий, дурной вокал с дурным акцентом, скучные гитары. Большинство таких групп старается скрыть свои недостатки запуленным на максимальную громкость звуком и энергичной работой, но это не спасает – наоборот, от того, что тебе пытаются насильно запихать в уши этот порожняк, становится только хуже. На диске пока не издали – и то хорошо.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий