Blitz reviews 41: BLOODLUST, NOCTAMBULIST, TERRAVORE, ILLIMITABLE DOLOR, HORRENDOUS

41st part of short reviews.

BLOODLUST – Black Mass
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Iron, Blood and Death Corporation
Rating: 7 / 10

Latin Satanic Thrash / Speed Metal, possessing all traditional attributes. From a couple of hundreds of identical albums that I have listened to in recent years, this one is not better nor worse. Cheerful songs, mad lyrics, right sound, wild cover - what else do you need? Buy it - you will not regret. Also, I advise you to listen to the thing “Demonized Wheels”.

NOCTAMBULIST – Atmospheres of Desolation
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 7 / 10

Chaotic Death Metal in the vein of ULCERATE, late GORGUTS and so on. It has the same oppressive atmosphere, but, according to a subjective impression, it is simpler for perception. In recent years, I rarely feel the desire to listen to such music, so I have nothing more to say. The album is good, but how good it is not for me to judge.

TERRAVORE – Unforeseen Consequences
Year of release: 2017
Released by: Stormspell Records
Rating: 5,8 / 10

The publishers of the CD version of this album proudly stand for “Old Fart Stuck in the 80s and Proud of It”. I respect this position, but, in my opinion, they are too mired in thrash, positioning the “Unforeseen Consequences” as the “Eastern European response to the early KREATOR, REVENANT, BRUTALITY, and so on.” Reviewers go even further by seriously comparing this album with “Hell Awaits”, for example. Excuse me, but this is the most banal pubertal thrash of the American type, where people sing about stupid shit like infringement of freedoms, nuclear apocalypses and toxic avengers. It is difficult to find music so empty in terms of content. And to listen to it for the sake of compositions as such ... well, the Bulgarians do not offer anything that would not have been played a thousand times before, and more vigorously. I see no point in the existence of this disk. The album goes to someone's (not mine; I don't need it even for free) far shelf to be covered in dust together with VIOLATOR, BIO-CANCER, SUICIDAL ANGELS, HAVOK and other hollow bands.

ILLIMITABLE DOLOR – Leaden Light
Year of release: 2017
Released by: Transcending Obscurity Records
Rating: 7,8 / 10

First-class atmospheric Doom / Death Metal from Australia. So good that I almost decided to write a full-length review on it, but after a couple of listenings I gave up on this idea. The album still lacks something, but you definitely need to listen to it. In addition to the complex and interesting compositions, underlined by funeral keyboards, “Leaden Light” stands out with genuine melancholy, along with a contemplative detachment. I will not compare it to some classic works from the 90s, as this would offend the album’s self-sufficiency, but the feelings from it are really very nostalgic.

HORRENDOUS – Idol
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Season of Mist
Rating: 7 / 10

Progressive Death Metal that should delight fans of guitar frills and Mike Portnoy throwing his drum sticks in the air. Of course, I'd rather listen to the same album of ILDJARN twenty times, than this, but one can not but admit that the band coped well with it's task. The closest analogue in music is probably “Individual Through Patterns”. However, I was most interested in vocals that is almost as variable as instrumental parts. Good stuff.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 41: BLOODLUST, NOCTAMBULIST, TERRAVORE, ILLIMITABLE DOLOR, HORRENDOUS

41-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

BLOODLUST – Black Mass
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Iron, Blood and Death Corporation
Оценка: 7 / 10

Латиноамериканский сатанинский Thrash / Speed Metal, обладающий всеми неизменными атрибутами. От пары сотен таких же альбомов, прослушанных мной в последние годы, этот ничем в лучшую сторону не отличается, но и в худшую тоже. Бодрые песни, угорелая лирика, правильный саунд, дикая обложка – чего ещё надо? Купите – не пожалеете. Отдельно советую послушать вещь “Demonized Wheels”.

NOCTAMBULIST – Atmospheres of Desolation
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 7 / 10

Хаотический Death Metal в духе ULCERATE, поздних GORGUTS и так далее. Обладает той же гнетущей атмосферой, но, по субъективному впечатлению, более прост для восприятия. В последние годы я редко испытываю желание слушать такую музыку, поэтому больше мне сказать нечего. Альбом хороший, а насколько хороший – судить не мне.

TERRAVORE – Unforeseen Consequences
Год выхода: 2017
Издатель: Stormspell Records
Оценка: 5,8 / 10

Издатели CD-версии этого альбома гордо обозначают себя “Старые пердуны, застрявшие в 80-х и гордые этим”. Я уважаю такую позицию, но, по-моему, они слишком погрязли в трэше, позиционируя “Unforeseen Consequences” как “восточноевропейский ответ ранним KREATOR, REVENANT, BRUTALITY и так далее”. Рецензенты идут ещё дальше, всерьёз сравнивая этот альбом с “Hell Awaits”, например. Помилуйте – это же самый банальный пубертатный трэшак американского образца, в котором поют о хуйне типа ущемления свобод, ядерных апокалипсисах и токсичных мстителях. Трудно найти музыку, содержание которой представляло бы собой ещё более зияющую пустоту. А слушать это ради композиций как таковых… ну, болгары не предлагают ничего, что уже не было бы сыграно тысячи раз, причём более энергично. Смысла в существовании этого диска я не вижу. Альбом отправляется на чью-то (не мою, мне даром не нужно) дальнюю полку к VIOLATOR, BIO-CANCER, SUICIDAL ANGELS, HAVOK и прочим пустышкам.

ILLIMITABLE DOLOR – Leaden Light
Год выхода: 2017
Издатель: Transcending Obscurity Records
Оценка: 7,8 / 10

Первосортный атмосферный Doom / Death Metal из Австралии. Настолько хорош, что я почти решил написать на него полноформатную рецензию, однако после пары прослушиваний отказался от этой затеи. Какой-то мелочи альбому всё же недостаёт, однако слушать его обязательно нужно. Помимо насыщенной и интересной в композиционном плане музыки, подчёркнутой похоронными клавишами, “Leaden Light” выделяется неподдельной меланхолией вкупе с созерцательной отрешённостью. Не стану сравнивать его с какими-то классическими работами из 90-х, поскольку это оскорбило бы самодостаточность альбома, однако ощущения от него действительно очень ностальгические.

HORRENDOUS – Idol
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Season of Mist
Оценка: 7 / 10

Прогрессивный Death Metal, который должен привести в восторг любителей гитарных выкрутасов и подбрасывающего в воздух палочки Майка Портного. Конечно, я лучше двадцать раз послушаю один и тот же альбом ILDJARN, чем это, но нельзя не признать, что группа хорошо справилась с поставленной задачей. Ближайший аналог по музыке – это, наверное, “Individual Through Patterns”. Однако меня больше всего заинтересовал вокал, в разнообразии мало чем уступающий партиям инструментов.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий