Blitz reviews 42: ARCANE VOIDSPLITTER, VOËMMR, NORDJEVEL, TEMPTRESS, BHLEG / NECHOCHWEN

42nd part of short reviews.

ARCANE VOIDSPLITTER – Voice of the Stars
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Aesthetic Death Records
Rating: 9 / 10

An excellent release that gets into Blitz just because you don’t need to write a lot about it. Everything here is revealed already in the design and the names of the album and tracks: a magnificent space ambient with very active use of an electric guitar. The mood of the music is impeccable, the sound is amazing, the duration is just right. The best soundtrack to your dreams about cosmos. A small lack of diversity is the only reason I don’t give the album the highest possible score.

 

VOËMMR – O ovnh intot adr mordrb
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Harvest of Death
Rating: 6,66 / 10

In Portugal, for some reason, the legacy of the Black Legions is very popular - so popular that followers / imitators continue to emerge every year. VOËMMR is one of these. The project is a representative of some mysterious Aldebaran Circle, along with like-minded fanatics. I have an ambiguous attitude towards this trend. On the one hand, this whole imitation of “closed circles” and black adverbs, combined with the release of albums on Bandcamp and on vinyl looks like a clownery. On the other hand, Portuguese imitators often make music better than LLN (however, this does not require much effort). “Ovnh intot adr mordrb” reliably reproduces many of the features of Black Metal from LLN: tortured schizophrenic vocals, uncomfortable atmosphere, oppressive darkness. But the Portuguese project also took over the worst sides of LLN, and the sound here is too clear to hide them. Therefore, I can recommend the album only to true fans of the Black Legions.

 

NORDJEVEL – Necrogenesis
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Osmose Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

NORDJEVEL are representatives of one of the most dreary, disgusting and impotent phenomena in the world - the younger generation of the Norwegian “Black Metal”, which Osmose Productions for some reason actively supports. And I didn’t doubt for a second that this group would give me another batch of vomit about kaos, mörk and døden, but everything went better than expected. Perhaps, because NORDJEVEL is not trying to revive something there, they just blast their fucking cold metalas angrily as possible. Apart from songs like “Devilry", where of late 90's start getting hiccups, NORDJEVEL is in fact closer to MARDUK of my favorite period, when they crushed the enemy with the tracks of a pazer division of their name. Blastbeats, ecstatic tremolos, ruthless sound, vocals in the vein of Caligula from DARK FUNERAL - good, even a little nostalgic. Those who are still not tired of the aforementioned bands should grab “Necrogenesis” with both hands.

 

TEMPTRESS – The Orb
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Dying Victims Productions
Rating: 6,9 / 10

Seven-inch EP, containing two tracks of classic Heavy Metal - soft and melodic, even atmospheric, but not crossing the line beyond which the pink faggotry begins. The sound is extremely old-fashioned - it is more like the end of the 70s, rather than the mid-80s. As I understand it, the release is made to test the potential of the young band. If so, then its potential is high, and I, for example, will be interested to hear the full-length album from these Italians.

 

NECHOCHWEN / BHLEG – Sorlande Sky / Majestic Translucence
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Nordvis Produktion
Rating: 6,7 / 10

Seven-inch split from the American and Swedish bands who compete with each other in the enormity of the names and in the knowledge of intricate traditions of small nations. Both play atmospheric metal, heavily mixed with neofolk. The Swedes prefer the standard “extensive riff + blastbeat” scheme, where folk instruments parts are ingrained. Americans play more complicated music with an abundance of acoustics and riffs of non-standard sizes. AGALLOCH nod their heads approvingly, although NECOCHWEN is still too far from them. Good split, it has its own character. Also it is acting as the exemplary release of Nordvis.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 42: ARCANE VOIDSPLITTER, VOËMMR, NORDJEVEL, TEMPTRESS, BHLEG / NECHOCHWEN

42-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

ARCANE VOIDSPLITTER – Voice of the Stars
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Aesthetic Death Records
Оценка: 9 / 10

Превосходный релиз, который попадает в Блиц только потому, что о нём не нужно писать много. Здесь всё раскрыто уже в оформлении и названиях альбома и треков: величественный космический эмбиент с очень активным использованием электрогитары. Настроение музыки выдержано безупречно, звучание восхитительно, продолжительность – в самый раз. Лучший саундтрек к вашим грёзам о космосе. Небольшой недостаток разнообразия – единственная причина, по которой я не выставляю альбому максимально возможный балл.

 

VOËMMR – O ovnh intot adr mordrb
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Harvest of Death
Оценка: 6,66 / 10

В Португалии почему-то очень популярно наследие Чёрных Легионов – настолько популярно, что последователи / подражатели продолжают возникать каждый год. VOËMMR – один из таких. Проект является представителем некого таинственного круга Aldebaran Circle, наряду с такими же фанатиками. Отношение к этой тенденции у меня неоднозначное. С одной стороны, вся эта имитация “закрытых кругов” и чёрных наречий, сочетающаяся с выпуском альбомов в цифре на Bandcamp и на виниле, выглядит как клоунада. С другой стороны, португальские подражатели зачастую делают музыку получше, чем LLN (впрочем, это не требует особых усилий). “O ovnh intot adr mordrb” достоверно воспроизводит многие особенности Black Metal от LLN: здесь страдальческий шизофренический вокал, неуютная атмосфера, давящая тьма. Но португальский проект перенял и худшие стороны, а звук здесь слишком чист, чтобы скрыть их. Поэтому альбом я могу порекомендовать только истинным поклонникам Чёрных Легионов.

 

NORDJEVEL – Necrogenesis
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Osmose Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

NORDJEVEL являются представителями одного из самых унылых, уёбищных и импотентных явлений на свете – молодого поколения норвежского “Black Metal”, которое зачем-то активно поддерживает Osmose Productions. И я ни секунды не сомневался, что сия группа подсунет мне очередную порцию блевоты про каос, мёрке и дёден, однако всё прошло лучше, чем ожидалось. Возможно, потому, что NORDJEVEL не пытается чего-то там возрождать, а просто ебашит холодный северный метал как можно злее. Если не считать песен типа “Devilry”, на которой просыпается икота у IMMORTAL конца 90-х, то NORDJEVEL по сути ближе к MARDUK моего любимого периода, когда те давили врага гусеницами танковой дивизии имени себя. Бластбиты, исступлённые тремоло, безжалостный саунд, вокал в духе Калигулы из DARK FUNERAL – вполне себе хорошо, даже немного ностальгически. Те, кто до сих пор не устал от вышеупомянутых банд, должны хвататься за “Necrogenesis” обеими руками.

 

TEMPTRESS – The Orb
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Dying Victims Productions
Оценка: 6,9 / 10

Семидюймовый EP, содержащий два трека классического Heavy Metal – мягкого и мелодичного, даже атмосферного, но не переходящего ту грань, за которой начинается голимая размазня. Звучание крайне старомодное – это, скорее, конец 70-х, нежели середина 80-х. Как я понимаю, релиз выпущен для проверки потенциала молодой группы. Если так, то потенциал у неё хороший, и мне, например, будет интересно услышать полноформатный альбом от этих итальянцев.

 

NECHOCHWEN / BHLEG – Sorlande Sky / Majestic Translucence
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Nordvis Produktion
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

Семидюймовый сплит от американской и шведской банд, которые соревнуются друг с другом в чудовищности названий и знании всяких заковыристых традиций малых народов. Обе играют атмосферный метал, густо замешанный на неофолке. Шведы предпочитают стандартную схему “пространный рифф + бластбит”, на которую накладываются партии народных инструментов. Американцы играют более сложную музыку с обилием акустики и риффами нестандартных размеров. AGALLOCH одобрительно кивают головами, хотя NECOCHWEN до них, конечно, как до Луны. В целом, неплохой сплит, обладающий своим характером, а также выступающий в роли образцово-показательного релиза Nordvis.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий