Blitz reviews 43: HEXENBRETT, GRAVE INFESTATION, OLKOTH, CREMATORY STENCH, DOOMBRINGER

43rd part of short reviews.

HEXENBRETT – Erste Beschwörung
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Caligari Records
Rating: 6,2 / 10

Occult and very dark Heavy Metal from Germany. The melody is angry and sharp, the atmosphere is really “witchy”. However, it is felt that this is only the beginning of something more interesting - the potential is not nearly realized. The EP is released on cassettesthe digital version can be downloaded from Bandcamp for free.

GRAVE INFESTATION – Infesticide
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Invictus Productions
Rating: 8 / 10

True Death Metal. Carefully sustained musical and visual aesthetics of the demo era of the genre. Partly reminiscent of NIHILIST, partly SADISTIC INTENT. The dirty aura of death metal from the mid-80s is reproduced flawlessly - I seriously advise you to listen to this.

OLKOTH – The Immortal Depths & Treasures of Necromancy
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Signal Rex
Rating: 6,8 / 10

A collection of two demo records of the American band, released in 2016 and 2017. Mystically sounding, mysterious, slightly bruised Black Metal, where a primitive synthesizer is actively used. In slow segments, it is very similar to KROHM. All in all, quite good, but the atmosphere of this music is stronger than anything else.

CREMATORY STENCH – Grotesque Deformities
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Blood Harvest
Rating: 7 / 10

Another small release keeping the spirit of old Death Metal alive. The music of this Californian trio is very close to early ASPHYX (slow and medium tempo, viscous riffs and tremolo, the atmosphere of sewers filled with rotten meat), the vocals are almost identical to that of Jeff Becerra of POSSESSED. Very good.

DOOMBRINGER – Walpurgis Fires
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 6 / 10

This album became for me an acquaintance with the notorious Polish group, where the members of the magnificent CULTES DES GHOULES and BESTIAL RAIDS play. I will not call the experience a complete disappointment, but I expected something more impressive. If in the first track the hash of Thrash Metal, Doom Metal and various styles of Black Metal works fine, then afterwards it becomes rather slurred. Slowing down where you need to accelerate, accelerations where you need to slow down... A few listening sessions did not allow me to understand what it is and what it is eaten with. However, I am convinced that at the live shows, “Walpurgis Rites” will be perceived completely differently.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 43: HEXENBRETT, GRAVE INFESTATION, OLKOTH, CREMATORY STENCH, DOOMBRINGER

43-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

HEXENBRETT – Erste Beschwörung
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Caligari Records
Оценка: 6,2 / 10

Оккультный и очень тёмный Heavy Metal из Германии. Мелодика злая и резкая, атмосфера действительно “ведьминская”. Впрочем, чувствуется, что это только начало чего-то более интересного – потенциал и близко не реализован. EP издан на кассетах, цифровую версию можно бесплатно скачать на Bandcamp группы.

GRAVE INFESTATION – Infesticide
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Invictus Productions
Оценка: 8 / 10

Death Metal от сохи. Тщательно выдержанная музыкальная и визуальная эстетика демо-эпохи жанра. Отчасти напоминает NIHILIST, отчасти SADISTIC INTENT. Грязная аура метала Смерти из середины 80-х воспроизведена безупречно – советую брать.

OLKOTH – The Immortal Depths & Treasures of Necromancy
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Signal Rex
Оценка: 6,8 / 10

Собрание из двух демо-записей американской банды, вышедших в 2016-ом и 2017-ом годах. Мистически звучащий, таинственный, немного пришибленный Black Metal, в котором активно используется примитивный синтезатор. В медленных отрезках сильно похож на KROHM. В целом, хорошо, но атмосфера у этой музыки сильнее, чем всё остальное.

CREMATORY STENCH – Grotesque Deformities
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Blood Harvest
Оценка: 7 / 10

Ещё один небольшой релиз в духе старого Death Metal. Музыка калифорнийского трио весьма близка к ранним ASPHYX (медленный и средний темп, тягучие риффы и тремоло, атмосфера забитых гнилым мясом сточных канав), вокал почти идентичен оному у Джефа Беккеры из POSSESSED. Очень хорошо.

DOOMBRINGER – Walpurgis Fires
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 6 / 10

Этот альбом стал для меня знакомством с небезызвестной польской группой, где играют участники великолепных CULTES DES GHOULES и BESTIAL RAIDS. Не назову полученный опыт полнейшим разочарованием, но я ожидал чего-то более впечатляющего. Если в первом треке мешанина Thrash Metal, Doom Metal и различных стилей Black Metal работает отлично, то дальше она становится довольно невнятной. Тормоза там, где надо ускориться, ускорения там, где надо притормозить… Несколько прослушиваний так и не позволили мне понять, что это такое и с чем его едят. Впрочем, убеждён, что на концертах “Walpurgis Rites” будет восприниматься совершенно иначе.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий