Review: DRUADAN FOREST – Dismal Spells… Part I

Year of release: 2019
Released by: Werewolf Records
Rating: 8,4 / 10

I've get to know DRUADAN FOREST recently, thanks to the split with THE TRUE WERWOLF. The track from Werewolf on that disc seemed rather boring to me, but DRUADAN FOREST with its 22-minute work left a pleasant impression. And then came the third full-length album.

Basically, all you need to know about DRUADAN FOREST is that it's a brainchild of the creator of VARGRAV. The track record of the musician has more than 10 names, but one VARGRAV is enough to understand what kind of music DRUADAN FOREST plays. The early works of the project combined ambient with tolkienist metal, but now it focused on clean (proud, beautiful, epic) ambient, which I do not want to call “dungeon synth” not even because of my dislike of this term, but simply because DRUADAN FOREST's music takes place, let’s say, in the open air. However, the album does not at all try to move far from the classic synth landscapes of the mid-late 90s. If the first track, similar, for example, to the work of THANGORODRIM, can be a little puzzling at first, then on the second track everything falls into place. This is an amazingly atmospheric and beautiful thing about winter, which occasionally dangles a couple of centimeters from BURZUM plagiarism, but it still fills the soul with strong feelings. Further as on the thumb: canonical material in a new frame. The magical landscapes of the forgotten dragonrealm- well, you understand.

“Dismal Spells ... Part I” stands out for its manicly thorough approach to music. Firstly, the sound quality is absolutely perfect here. For me, this is a dubious merit, but hey, someone must do this from time to time. Moreover, this is the sound of a real synthesizer, and not ... a synthesizer synthesized on a computer. Secondly, the author seeks to maximize the use of the instrument, adding different effects and simulating wind, string, percussion, and sometimes the whole orchestra at once. However, he does not abuse it, leaving most of the space for the usual ambient, and I thank him for that. Thirdly, the musician overcome the sin of laziness, which so often defeats his colleagues in the scene. The album consists of four huge tracks, and it seems that any other person would have acted in the only right way: wrote the main melody for each track, and then twist for 20 minutes until the teeth ache. But V-Khaoz is not like that: his compositions are finished musical canvases with intros, main parts, interludes, author's digressions, endings, epilogues ... Each fragment of any of the compositions stretches long enough to be memorable, but not so much to bother you. 72 minutes of material are not tiresome at all - you immediately want to return to them again. Here, propbably, I should roll off. Take an album, run your imagination engine at least at first gear, and you will have a pleasure comparable to reading your favorite fantasy saga.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: DRUADAN FOREST – Dismal Spells… Part I

Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Werewolf Records
Оценка: 8,4 / 10

Я познакомился с DRUADAN FOREST совсем недавно, благодаря сплиту этого проекта с THE TRUE WERWOLF. Композиция от Вервольфа на том диске мне показалась довольно занудной, зато DRUADAN FOREST со своей 22-минутной работой оставил приятнейшее впечатление. А тут и третий полноформат подоспел.

В принципе, всё, что вам нужно знать о DRUADAN FOREST – это детище создателя VARGRAV. В послужном списке музыканта есть ещё более 10 имён, но одного VARGRAV достаточно, чтобы понимать, какая у DRUADAN FOREST музыка. Ранние работы проекта сочетали эмбиент с металом на толкиеновскую тематику, однако теперь он сосредоточился на чистом (гордом, красивом, эпическом) эмбиенте, который не хочется обзывать “данжн синтом” даже не из-за моей неприязни к этому термину, но просто потому, что действие музыки DRUADAN FOREST происходит, скажем так, на открытом воздухе. Впрочем, альбом вовсе не пытается далеко отходить от классических синтовых пейзажей образца середины-конца 90-х. Если первый трек, похожий, например, на творчество THANGORODRIM, может поначалу слегка озадачить, то на втором всё становится на свои места. Это потрясающе атмосферная и красивая вещь про зиму, которая изредка хоть и болтается в паре сантиметров от плагиата на BURZUM, но всё равно наполняет душу сильными чувствами. Дальше как по накатанной: каноничный материал в новом обрамлении. Магические ландшафты забытого драконьего королевства – ну, вы поняли.

“Dismal Spells… Part I” выделяется маниакально тщательным подходом к музыке. Во-первых, здесь прямо-таки идеальное качество звука. Для меня это сомнительное достоинство, но ведь и так тоже иногда надо делать. Тем более, это звук настоящего синтезатора, а не… синтезированного на компьютере синтезатора. Во-вторых, автор стремится по-максимуму использовать возможности инструмента, добавляя разные эффекты и имитируя духовые, струнные, ударные, а иногда и целый оркестр разом. Однако он не злоупотребляет этим, оставляя большую часть пространства для привычного эмбиента, за что ему огромное спасибо. В-третьих, музыкант победил грех лености, который так часто одолевает его коллег по сцене. Альбом состоит из четырёх огромных треков, и кажется, что любой другой повёл бы себя единственно верным образом: написал для каждого трека основную мелодию, а затем крутил её так и сяк 20 минут напролёт, пока зубы не заболят. Но V-Khaoz не таков: его композиции представляют собой законченные музыкальные полотна со вступлениями, основными частями, интерлюдиями, авторскими отступлениями, завершениями, эпилогами…  Каждый фрагмент любой из композиций тянется достаточно долго, чтобы запомниться, но не настолько, чтобы надоесть. 72 минуты материала ничуть не утомляют – к ним сразу же хочется вернуться снова. На этом, пожалуй, закругляюсь. Берите альбом, запустите воображение работать хотя бы на первой передаче, и вас ждёт удовольствие, сравнимое с прочтением вашей любимой фэнтези-саги.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий