Review: TRANSNADEŽNOST’ – Monomyth

Year of release: 2018
Released by: addicted label
Rating: 7,5 / 10

With this review, I start a fascinating, ahem, trip on the releases of a Moscow label without name and logo. Both the nameless label itself and its releases are an almost perfect embodiment of what I try to avoid in music and music-related work. In simple words, this is some kind of wild drug-heavy shit that I, on my own accord, would not touch with a shovel - as I informed the label owner, who came to me with a request to review the discs. Nevertheless, this did not frighten the stubborn Anton Kitaev, and soon I went to the post office for a pack of eight releases containing all sorts of oddities, erupted by human minds, throats and hands under the influence of various substances and circumstances. The debut album of the band with the savage name TRANSNADEŽNOST ’left the most pleasant and comprehensible impression, so I'll start with it.

“Monomyth” is psychedelic rock, which in fact means a jumble of experimental genres popular in the early 70s: stoner, prog, space, hard, as well as a little blues, surf and fuck knows what else - I am not an expert. The album is almost entirely instrumental, which means that you can evaluate it exclusively with your ears. I am glad to inform you that you can enjoy listening to “Monomyth” without resorting to additional stimulants. There is quite good music here, rarely transforming into pointless mess, and never into jerking off the guitar. Both guitars, bass and drums work in a tight bunch, not allowing themselves to scatter wherever. The sound is enriched by glockenspiel and, if I am not mistaken, maracas. Compositions have rather traditional structures, although it can be difficult to recognize them, since it seems that the main riff may break off after fifteen seconds, and the allegedly decorative solo following it can stretch for four to five minutes of a “song in a song”.

The mood of the album varies from dreamy to frivolous to a little gloomy. According to subjective sensations, the vigorous parts are total success, while the “cosmic” ones are not all equally useful - only the measured thing “Star Child” is almost impeccable, and, by the way, contains a good trumpet part. The mystical “Huldra”, the only song with vocals, gives almost nothing to the album; it only gives you confidence that this band does not need vocals. The vocal itself is neither bad nor good, it just seems superfluous here. If all the other tracks give some emotions, then “Huldra”, paradoxically, leaves nothing. Fortunately, the last two things on the disc are very good. "Chewbacca" is fluid and intriguing, while 12-minute "Day/Night" successfully combines simplicity with dynamics and a soothing atmosphere.

The album was published in 200 copies in a 4-panel digipack. Simple and stylish design conveys almost all the emotions and images embedded into music. As usual, you can get a detailed overlook on a video. You can order a compact disc at label's Bandcamp.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: TRANSNADEŽNOST’ – Monomyth

Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: addicted label
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

С этой рецензии я начинаю увлекательный, кхм, трип по релизам московской конторы, не имеющей названия и логотипа. Как сам безымянный лейбл, так и его релизы – это почти идеальное воплощение того, чего я стараюсь избегать в музыке и связанной с ней труде. Говоря простыми словами, это всякая наркоманская дичь, к которой я по собственному желанию не прикоснулся бы и лопатой – о чём и сообщил владельцу лейбла, вышедшему на меня с просьбой отрецензировать диски. Тем не менее, упорного Антона Китаева это не напугало, и вскоре я отправился на почту за пачкой из восьми релизов, содержащих всякие странности, извергнутые людскими умами, глотками и руками под воздействием различных веществ и обстоятельств. Дебютный альбом группы с диким названием TRANSNADEŽNOST’ оставил наиболее приятное и простое для осознание впечатление, поэтому с него и начну.

“Monomyth” – психоделический рок, что на деле означает мешанину экспериментальных жанров, популярных в начале 70-х: стоунер, прог, спейс, хард, а также чуть-чуть блюза, сёрфа и хуй знает чего ещё – я не эксперт. Альбом практически целиком и полностью инструментальный, а это значит, что оценивать его можно исключительно ушами. Рад сообщить, что от прослушивания “Monomyth” можно испытывать удовольствие, не прибегая к дополнительным стимуляторам. Тут вполне себе хорошая музыка, редко уходящая в пространную размазню, и никогда – в пустой дроч. Обе гитары, бас и ударные работают в плотной связке, не позволяя себе разбегаться кто куда. Звучание обогащают колокольчики и, если не ошибаюсь, марака. Композиции имеют довольно традиционные структуры, хотя распознать их бывает сложно, так как вроде бы основной рифф может оборваться через пятнадцать секунд, а следующее за ним якобы декоративное соло – растянуться на четыре-пять минут “песни в песне”.

Настроение альбома варьируется от мечтательного к легкомысленному к немного угрюмому. По субъективным ощущениям, бодрые отрезки удались на славу, в то время как “космические” не все одинаково полезны – почти безукоризненна лишь размеренная вещь “Star Child”, где, кстати, содержится увесистая партия трубы. Мистическая “Huldra”, единственная песня с вокалом, практически ничего не даёт альбому; она лишь вселяет уверенность, что вокал этой группе не нужен. Сам по себе вокал не плох и не хорош, просто он кажется здесь лишним. Если все остальные треки дарят некие эмоции, то “Huldra”, как ни парадоксально, нет. Благо, две последние вещи на диске очень хороши. “Chewbacca” подвижная и словно бы интригующая, а 12-минутная “Day / Night” успешно сочетает простоту с динамикой и успокаивающей атмосферой.

Альбом издан тиражом в 200 копий в 4-панельном дигипаке. Простое и стильное оформление передаёт почти все эмоции и образы, заложенные в музыку. Как обычно, посмотреть поближе можно на видео. Заказать компакт можно на Bandcamp лейбла, либо на его странице, ссылка на которую приведена в начале рецензии. Учитывая “некоммерческую” природу издательства, полагаю, ценник для жителей СНГ на него будет пониже, чем на Bandcamp.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий