Review: DEKONSTRUKTOR – Eating the Universe

Year of release: 2014 / 2017 (this version)
Released by: addicted labelVoron NEST
Rating: 7 / 10

I was superficially familiar with DEKONSTRUKTOR even before I received the package from an unnamed label, as their newest album was released by Hymn of Apocalypse created by the owner of Cold Breath of Silence, and some smaller releases were printed by Pestis Insaniae. In addition, DEKONSTRUKTOR is connected with the Black Metal scene in terms of radical views - at least, I got this impression of them. “Eating the Universe” is the band's debut, released 5 years ago in digital format and on cassettes, and then reprinted by two labels on CD (and released again on cassettes, and again in digital format). The strong side of CD release is that it alone contains the full version of the final track, lasting a little over half an hour. On cassette editions, it was reduced to 18 and a half minutes.

The lyrics to the album, replete with vivid images, still do not push the main message too deep: consistent, complete deconstruction of the universe. This, most likely, is about “personal space”, but for the one whose inner universe is eaten by worm, there difference between micrososmos and macrocosmos exists no more. The musical part tries to keep up with the theme. Technically, this is stoner doom metal, but its execution and emotional palette are more reminiscent of sludge. There is no frivolity, no invigorating rhythms, no positive vibes. Pulsating riffs create an uncomfortable feeling of constant tension, negative energy is pushing from the speakers in a continuous stream. This is quite depressing and hard for your brains, but I think this is exactly what the band aimed on. Only the semi-punk track “14” is knocked out of the general canvas, but everything else is done according to the rules of a gloomiest doom metal, stripped down to the extreme. The sound is crude and primitive: most likely, the songs were recorded in “live in studio” mode. Here and there, obvious errors of play are encountered, but I welcome this - sloppy execution is fully consistent with the misanthropic nature of DEKONSTRUKTOR. The vocals were recorded from somewhere far away, which reminded me of St. Petersburg MOROK, who, in turn, was guided by the oldest recordings of Norwegian ISENGARD. An exclusive piece of the final track, mentioned above, is 12 minutes of ambient, simulating radio signals directed into space, and at the end it turns into a wild rattle and noise.

I see the disadvantage of the album is that it is determined exclusively by the atmospheric-sensual gamut. A less impressionable listener, most likely, will not find nothing special here. Music as such is not a strong point of “Eating the Universe” - it is a very straightforward collection of compositions. The most important part here is not what they play, but how they play it. While the evil cosmic radiation of the album will affect you, you will listen to it. But when you get used to its radiation, you are unlikely will get the CD from the shelf again. The CD, by the way, is also published rather plainly - with a 4-page booklet - but in this case this is enough. Details on a videoTo achieve perfection, publishers should have released a print run in red tray jewel cases. Trademark black and red design of DEKONSTRUKTOR would look just killer in such cases.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: DEKONSTRUKTOR – Eating the Universe

Год выхода: 2014 / 2017 (это издание)
Издатель: addicted labelVoron NEST
Оценка: 7 / 10

С группой DEKONSTRUKTOR я был поверхностно знаком ещё до получения посылки от безымянного лейбла, так как её новый альбом вышел на конторе Hymn of Apocalypse, созданной владельцем Cold Breath of Silence, а другие релизы выходят на Pestis Insaniae. Кроме того, DEKONSTRUKTOR связывает с Black Metal-сценой радикальность музыки и взглядов – такое у меня сложилось впечатление. “Eating the Universe” – дебют группы, вышедший 5 лет назад в цифре и на кассетах, а затем переизданный силами двух лейблов на CD (и снова на кассетах, и снова в цифре). Предполагаемая ценность CD-варианта в том, что он единственный содержит полную версию финального трека, длящуюся чуть более получаса. На кассетных изданиях он сокращён до 18-ти с половиной минут.

Лирика к альбому, изобилующая яркими образами, всё же не слишком глубоко заталкивает основной посыл: последовательная, полная деконструкция вселенной. Речь, скорее всего, идёт о “личном пространстве”, но для того, чья внутренняя вселенная пожрана червями, разницы между крахом микрокосма и макрокосма уже не существует. Музыкальная часть старается идти в ногу с тематической. Технически, это стоунер-дум, однако его исполнение и эмоциональная палитра больше напоминают сладж. Нет ни легкомыслия, ни бодрящих ритмов, ни позитивных вибраций. Пульсирующие риффы создают неуютное ощущение постоянного напряжения, негативная энергия сплошным потоком струится из динамиков. Это откровенно угнетает и давит на мозги – думаю, такого эффекта группа и добивалась. Из общей канвы выбивается только полупанковский трек “14”, а всё остальное сделано по правилам упрощённого до крайности мрачного дума. Саунд грубый и примитивный: скорее всего, песни записывались в режиме “live in studio”. Кое-где встречаются очевидные ошибки игры, но я это приветствую – небезупречное исполнение полностью соответствует мизантропической природе DEKONSTRUKTOR. Вокал записан откуда-то издалека, что напомнило мне питерский МОРОК, ориентирующийся, в свою очередь, на самые старые записи норвежского ISENGARD. Эксклюзивный кусок финального трека, упомянутого выше, представляет собой 12 минут эмбиента, имитирующего устремлённые в космос радиосигналы, и под конец превращающегося в дикий скрежет. Задумка отличная, обогащающая концепцию, но реализация мне не понравилась – если сам не придумаешь смысловую нагрузку для этого отрезка, остаётся лишь недоумевать, на что ты потратил 12 минут жизни.

Недостатком альбома мне видится то, что он определяется исключительно атмосферно-чувственной гаммой. Менее впечатлительный слушатель, скорее всего, не отыщет в нём ничего интересного для себя. Музыка как таковая не является сильной стороной “Eating the Universe” – это весьма незамысловатое собрание сочинений. Здесь важно не что сыграно, а как это сыграно. Пока злая космическая радиация альбома будет воздействовать на вас, вы будете его слушать. Но когда привыкнете к его излучению, вы вряд ли будете часто доставать диск с полки. Диск, к слову, тоже издан достаточно незамысловато – с 4-страничным буклетом – но в данном случае этого хватает. Подробности на видео. Чтобы достигнуть идеала, издателям стоило выпустить тираж в джевелах с красными треями. Фирменный чёрно-красный дизайн DEKONSTRUKTOR убойно смотрелся бы в таких коробках.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий