Review: THE GRAND ASTORIA – Deathmarch

Year of release: 2013
Released by: addicted label
Rating: 6 / 10

The next release from Nameless Label is a half-hour EP of the Russian band THE GRAND ASTORIA, released in 2013. The discography of Petersburgers is very impressive: two dozen releases, among which there are even exclusives on 12-inch records. In addition, the band is actively gigging in Western Europe. It seems that someone really needs all this. What is so interesting there? As it turned out - nothing. THE GRAND ASTORIA was once defined as a “music laboratory”, and the band itself, judging by its official resources, supports this definition. And from this it follows that TGA is the embodiment of what I am opposed to as a fanzine author and a simple listener - music for the sake of music. A quick acquaintance with TGA showed that this is one of these bands that write songs about their guitars - can it be any worse? A self-publishing label with the proverbial name “flower punk”, hippie habits, light humor that permeates the very essence of TGA - believe me, I'm also wondering how is this stuff got into extreme fanzine. But, since the disc was sent, you have to do your work and write about the music, for which everything was started.

The material on the disc is split in two parts: good and with vocals. Fortunately, there is not much vocals here, but it manages to spoil the impression in a couple of seconds. don’t even know what is wrong with it. It would seem that there are no “sharp corners”, the usual unstressed singing, but still... It's funny - as the voice barely starts to sound, the riffs behind it are immediately simplified to the most banal ever. As soon as the voice falls silent, more interesting musical decisions immediately emerge. I think this was done intentionally so as not to hide the pearls under a pile of... let's call it dry foliage.

Everything that has been freed from vocals does not have a single flaw, although it does not make one shout in delight either. This is a mixture of psychedelic, stoner, progressive and all other positively tuned rock that you can imagine. No perception problems are foreseen. I must give credit to the musicians - they still try to compose good things, and do not rape the guitars with mediocre “improvisation”, until they get to the brown note that puts an end to the madness of presumptuous composers. The songs are quite simple, rid of unnecessary elements, not prolonged, rhythmic. The band works on contrasts very well, rebuilds the sound of instruments on the go, and never enters a new peak fragment until the previous one is finished. Not surprisingly, TGAs often perform live. Using their music, it is very easy to get the audience moving. And their fantasy works as it should. I’ll be honest: TGA juggle riffs and chords better than 90% of the bands whose albums I receive through my promo channels. It may not be the coolest riffs and chords in the world, but the process is set up in a best way possible. And I have not yet mentioned kilometer-long guitar solos, my biggest weakness.

The technical side of the sound is almost flawless. Almost all the material was recorded at a studio in Holland, making it impossible to guess the country of origin of the EP. Vocal discovers that English is not a native language for the singer, but not explicitly. In general, “Deatmarch” sounds very Western European. The disc is published in an unpretentious 4-panel digipack without a booklet and texts. Details on a video. To summarize: “Deatmarch” is a good release, but frivolity makes it one-time. The music here is good, but music is just one part of the album. Other albums, much less interesting musically, can be listened to again and again, thanks to the message embedded in them. Others - only thanks to the music, but such masterpieces usually appear five times a generation. The music of “Deatmarch” is not so great as to become the soundtrack to your life, and I already said everything about the content. Therefore, the EP is destined to remain a small chapter in the history of THE GRAND ASTORIA and a minor episode in the life of a listener who always has a whole world full of much more exciting releases.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: THE GRAND ASTORIA – Deathmarch

Год выхода: 2013
Издатель: addicted label
Оценка: 6 / 10

Следующий релиз от Безымянного Лейбла – получасовой EP российской группы THE GRAND ASTORIA, вышедший в 2013-ом году. Дискография у петербуржцев весьма внушительная: два десятка релизов, среди которых есть даже эксклюзивы на 12-дюймовых пластинках. Кроме того, группа гиперактивно гастролирует за границей. Получается, всё это кому-то очень даже надо. Что же там такого интересного? Как выяснилось – ничего. THE GRAND ASTORIA некогда определили как “музыкальную лабораторию”, и сама группа, судя по её официальным ресурсам, поддерживает такое определение. А из этого следует, что TGA является воплощает в себе то, против чего я выступаю как автор фэнзина и простой слушатель – музыку ради музыки. Беглое ознакомление с TGA показало, что группа из разряда тех рокерских коллективов, которые сочиняют песни про свои гитары – хуже, наверное, не придумаешь. Самиздатный лейбл с говорящим названием “цветочный панк”, повадки хиппи, лёгкий юмор, пронизывающий самую суть TGA – я сам недоумеваю, как это попало в экстремальный фэнзин. Но, раз уж диск прислали, надо делать свою работу, и обратиться к музыке, ради которой всё и затевалось.

Материал на диске – хороший и с вокалом. К счастью, вокала здесь немного, однако он умудряется портить впечатление за пару секунд. Я даже не знаю, что в нём не так. Казалось бы, никаких “острых углов”, обычное ненапряжное пение, и всё же… Забавно – едва начинает звучать голос, риффы, стоящие за ним, сразу же упрощаются до наибанальнейшей банальности. Как только голос смолкает, наружу сразу выплывают более интересные музыкальные решения. Думаю, это сделано намеренно, чтобы не прятать жемчуга под кучей… сухой листвы.

Всё, что избавлено от вокала, не имеет ни единого изъяна, хотя кричать от восторга тоже не заставляет. Это смесь психоделического, стоунера, прогрессивного и всего остального позитивно настроенного рока, который вы можете себе представить. Никаких проблем с восприятием не предвидится. Надо отдать музыкантам должное – они всё-таки стараются сочинять хорошие вещи, а не насилуют гитары бездарной “импровизацией”, пока не доберутся до коричневой ноты, которая положит конец безумию зарвавшихся композиторов. Песни довольно просты, избавлены от лишних элементов, не затянуты, ритмичны. Группа хорошо работает на контрастах, на ходу перестраивает звук инструментов, никогда не вступает в новый пиковый фрагмент, пока не закончит предыдущий. Неудивительно, что TGA часто выступают живьём. С помощью их музыки очень легко заставить аудиторию двигаться. Да и фантазия у них работает как надо. Буду откровенен: TGA жонглируют риффами и аккордами лучше, чем 90% процентов групп, альбомы которых я получаю по своим промо-каналам. Пусть это не самые крутые риффы и аккорды на свете, но процесс поставлен так, что любо-дорого. А ведь я ещё не упомянул километровые гитарные соло, к которым всегда питал слабость.

Техническая сторона звучания практически безупречна. Почти весь материал записывался на студии в Голландии, благодаря чему страну происхождения EP угадать нереально. Вокал обнаруживает, что английский не является родным языком для певца, но не явственно. В целом, “Deatmarch” звучит очень по-западноевропейски. Диск издан в непритязательном 4-панельном дигипаке без буклета и текстов. Подробности на видео. Подведу итог: “Deatmarch” – неплохой релиз, однако легкомысленность делает его одноразовым. Музыка здесь хорошая, но одной музыкой сыт не будешь. Иные альбомы, значительно менее интересные в музыкальном плане, можно слушать снова и снова, благодаря заложенному в них посланию. Другие – только благодаря музыке, но такие появляются штук по пять раз в поколение. Музыка “Deatmarch” не настолько великолепна, чтобы стать саундтреком к вашей жизни, а о содержании я всё уже сказал. Поэтому EP суждено остаться небольшой главой в истории THE GRAND ASTORIA и мелким эпизодом в жизни слушателя, которого всегда ждёт целый мир, полный гораздо более увлекательных релизов.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий