Review: WIGRID – Entfremdungsmoment

Year of release: 2019
Released by: Bleeding Heart Nihilist Productions
Rating: 8 / 10

My attitude to WIGRID is riddled with pretty strong nostalgia. More than 10 years ago, “Hoffnungstod” and “Die Asche eines Lebens” were one of the first extreme metal albums that I listened to, along with mandatory Black and Death Metal classics. Being an honest clone of BURZUM, the German project had the same impact on me as the work of Varg Vikernes. Today it is quite obvious that WIGRID is quite far from BURZUM in many respects, but this doesn't prevent me from taking WIGRID's CDs from the shelf again.

Release of “Entfremdungsmoment”, admittedly, came as a complete surprise to me. Friends talked about some announcements, but I missed everything, and therefore for a long time considered the stupid 2014' split the last insult of WIGRID. Amazingly, “Entfremdungsmoment” is almost like a POSSESSED comeback, only in the realm of depressive metal. Although this is not such an important event, and the gap between the albums is only 14 years old, but still... WIGRID managed to recreate almost everything best from the first two full-lengths. The conditional exit from the Kittelsen forests into the black and white gloom of the night cities did not affect the sound in any way. WIGRID's melancholy has remained too honest to not be believed. This is not for lovers of screeching faggots with urine-smelling bangs. No drunken tantrums from lifelovers, hypothermias and other kalls. The roots of WIGRID's deep longing lie in the same source of grief as other honored artists - the already mentioned BURZUM, FORGOTTEN WOODS, ABYSSIC HATE, STRID. Any person can associate with this melancholy in a some period, not only insignificant piece of junkie shit with scratched wrists.

The musical techniques of WIGRID were preserved so well, as if all these years were in a jar filled with formalin. All the same leisurely atmospheric riffs, inconsolable vocals in the distance, the simplest drums and purely Burzumic ambient in the vein of “Hvis Lyset Tar Oss” and “Filosofem”. There is, as before, a separate ambient track for 11 minutes and a little. By the way, 5 out of 6 tracks hang around the 10-minute mark. Interestingly, the construction of riffs in the title thing is very similar to DRUDKH. However, I am almost sure that this is a coincidence. The sound of the album is also made in the spirit of old releases. A little cleaner, but still old-fashioned, as if it's still mid 90s. Great!

I do not know how many modern listeners remember / know about WIGRID. I am almost convinced that “Entfremdungsmoment” will not stir up the underground swamp - everyone will continue to discuss these "funny" clones of fucking BATUSHKAS. And therefore I even more strongly recommend to you, reader, give a listen to this album. You won't be disappointed.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: WIGRID – Entfremdungsmoment

Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Bleeding Heart Nihilist Productions
Оценка: 8 / 10

Моё отношение к WIGRID пронизано довольно сильной ностальгией. Более 10 лет назад “Hoffnungstod” и “Die Asche eines Lebens” были одними из первых экстремальных метал-альбомов, которые я слушал наряду с обязательными для любого первооткрывателя нетлёнками. Будучи честным клоном BURZUM, немецкий проект оказывал на меня практически такое же влияние, как и работы Варга Викернеса. Сегодня вполне очевидно, что WIGRID во многих отношениях довольно-таки далёк от BURZUM, однако это не мешает мне время от времени доставать с полки диски с альбомами проекта.

Выход “Entfremdungsmoment”, признаться, стал для меня полной неожиданностью. Знакомые говорили о каких-то анонсах, но я всё пропустил, и потому долго считал дурацкий сплит 2014-го года последним вздохом WIGRID. Поразительно, что “Entfremdungsmoment” – это почти как камбэк POSSESSED, только в сфере депрессивного метала. Пусть это и не настолько важное событие, и выход альбомов разделяют всего 14 лет, а не 30. WIGRID удалось воссоздать практически всё то, чем цепляли первые два полноформата. Условный выход из киттельсеновских лесов в чёрно-белое уныние ночных городов никак не повлиял на звучание. Меланхолия WIGRID осталась слишком честной, чтобы ей не верить. Это не для любителей визжащих пидоров с пахнущими мочой чёлками. Никаких пьяных истерик от лайфловеров, гипотермий и прочих кал(л)ов. Корни глубокой тоски WIGRID лежат том же источнике скорби, что и у других заслуженных артистов – уже упомянутого BURZUM, FORGOTTEN WOODS, ABYSSIC HATE, STRID. С этой меланхолией в тот или иной период может ассоциировать себя любой человек, а не только ничтожество с поцарапанными запястьями.

Музыкальные приёмы WIGRID сохранились так хорошо, будто все эти годы пребывали в банке, заполненной формалином. Всё те же неторопливые атмосферные риффы, безутешный вокал в отдалении, простейшие ударные партии и чисто бурзумовский эмбиент в духе “Hvis Lyset Tar Oss” и “Filosofem”. Есть, как и прежде, отдельный эмбиентный трек на 11 с небольшим минут. Кстати, 5 из 6 треков болтаются в районе 10-минутной отметки. Интересно, что конструкция риффов в заглавной вещи весьма сильно напоминает DRUDKH. Впрочем, я почти уверен, что это совпадение. Звук альбома также сделан в духе старых релизов. Чуть-чуть почище, но всё ещё старомодно, будто на дворе середина 90-х. Отлично!

Я не знаю, многие ли современные слушатели помнят / знают о WIGRID. Почти убеждён, что “Entfremdungsmoment” не всколыхнёт андеграундное болото – все и дальше будут обсуждать смищные клоны Батюшек. И потому я ещё более настоятельно рекомендую тебе, читающий это, ознакомиться с альбомом. Он того заслуживает.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий