Blitz reviews 46: ABYSMALIST, MEPHORASH, BHLEG, FATAL CURSE, DARKENED

46-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

ABYSMALIST – Reflections of Horror
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Caligari Records
Rating: 6 / 10

The first demo tape of the American duo. Death Metal in the vein of BOLT THROWER: moderately heavy, unhurried, balanced sounding, with good acoustic deviations. The lyrics are mainly based on horror literature. I always considered BOLT THROWER a boring band, and the painful bloating of the left hemisphere of the elderly Karl Willetts completely discouraged me from touching the music of these British. ABYSMALIST are hardcore punks from California, so I predict that the infection that struck Willetts may have symptoms in the future of this band as well. If this does not scare you, check out.

MEPHORASH – Shem Ha Mephorash
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Shadow Records
Rating: 6,6 / 10

The new album of Swedish occultists, one might say, blew up the Internet, and therefore, succumbing to universal delight, I was convinced that I was about to hear an album of a decade, no less. However, the final result left me almost indifferent. Subsequent auditions did not change the situation much. Well, yes, solid songs, varied sound, grand synthesizer parts, outstanding guitar work, eloquent lyrics.... separated, all these parts look great, but their sum does not catch me. “Shem Ha Mephorash” is very similar to the last two BEHEMOTH full-lengths, but BEHEMOTH can compose hits, and the Swedes can compose 10-minute canvases. The riffs available are not enough to smudge them evenly over the entire duration of the album, so you have these long interludes that make you sick at the third song or even earlier. No thanks.

BHLEG – Äril
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Nordvis Produktion
Rating: 6 / 10

I already wrote about this group not so long ago - the Swedes perform atmospheric metal music, typical of Nordvis, with a large number of acoustic fragments. Something close to AGALLOCH and LÖNNDOM, but simpler. There is nothing special about the release; ordinary modern Scandinavian chewing gum. A typical set of solutions, a vocalist with a mouth full of wet paper, a thin sound. Nothing really bad here, but I won't listen to this again.

FATAL CURSE – Breaking the Trance
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 7,3 / 10

The debut of the New York band playing Heavy Metal as if it is still 1983. At least that’s the impression when you hear this beautiful analogue sound. The line-up includes the former guitarist of good death metal band DISFIGURED DEAD. Heavy metal from FATAL CURSE isn't like maidens or priests, but something more pop-hooligan like THIN LIZZY, DIAMOND HEAD, WITCH CROSS and VIRGIN STEELE. Therefore, I doubt you will listen to this album more that 2-3 times, but this listenings will bring you pleasure.

DARKENED – Into the Blackness
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Edged Circle Productions
Rating: 5,5 / 10

The fact that this international project will be trivial, like a daily trip to the toilet, is understandable already when you read to these totally mediocre titles of the band and album. DARKENED includes people from Sweden, UK and USA - the most prominent figure is Daryl Kahan, drummer of BOLT THROWER and disgusting MEMORIAM. The quintet pulled 15 minutes of a rather gray Death Metal with Swedish punky vibes, simple template tunes and a disastrously faceless sound. This band is probably the perfect example of "project" - generic as fuck. Only so much effort has been invested so as not to cause the listener to vomit. But does this justify the loss of fifteen minutes of life?

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 46: ABYSMALIST, MEPHORASH, BHLEG, FATAL CURSE, DARKENED

46-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

ABYSMALIST – Reflections of Horror
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Caligari Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Первая демо-кассета американского дуэта. Death Metal в духе BOLT THROWER – умеренно тяжёлый, неторопливый, сбалансированно звучащий, с хорошими акустическими отступлениями. Лирика основана, в основном, на литературе ужасов. BOLT THROWER я всегда считал скучной бандой, а болезненное вздутие левого полушария мозга у престарелого Карла Уиллеттса окончательно отбило у меня охоту прикасаться к музыке этих британцев. ABYSMALIST – панки-хардкорщики из Калифорнии, поэтому прогнозирую, что зараза, поразившая Уиллеттса, в будущем может дать сиптомы и у них. Если вас это не пугает – зацените.

MEPHORASH – Shem Ha Mephorash
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Shadow Records
Оценка: 6,6 / 10

Новый альбом шведских клифотистов, можно сказать, взорвал интернеты, и потому я, поддавшись всеобщему восторгу, был убеждён, что вот-вот услышу чуть ли не альбом десятилетия. Однако финальный результат оставил меня практически безразличным. Последующие прослушивания не сильно изменили ситуацию. Ну да, солидные песни, разнообразное звучание, грандиозные синтезаторные партии, выдающаяся гитарная работа, яркая лирика… слагаемые по отдельности выглядят прекрасно, но их сумма меня не цепляет. “Shem Ha Mephorash” сильно похож на последние два полноформата BEHEMOTH, вот только BEHEMOTH умеют сочинять хиты, а шведы умеют сочинять полотна на 10 минут. Имеющихся в наличии риффов не хватает, чтобы размазать их ровным слоем по всей продолжительности альбома, поэтому приходится использовать длиннющие интерлюдии, заёбывающие к третьей песне. Хватит, спасибо.

BHLEG – Äril
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Nordvis Produktion
Оценка: 6 / 10

Об этой группе я уже писал не так давно – шведы исполняют характерную для Nordvis атмосферную метал-музыку с большим количеством акустических фрагментов. Что-то рядом с AGALLOCH и LÖNNDOM, но попроще. Ничем особенным релиз не выделяется; обычная современная скандинавская жвачка. Типовой набор решений, вокалист с набитым мокрой бумагой ртом, жиденький звук. По-настоящему упрекнуть не в чем, но слушать снова не тянет.

FATAL CURSE – Breaking the Trance
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 7,3 / 10

Дебют нью-йоркской команды, играющей Heavy Metal так, будто на дворе 1983-й год. По крайней мере, именно такое впечатление складывается, когда слышишь этот прекрасный аналоговый звук. В составе числится бывший гитарист неплохой Death Metal-команды DISFIGURED DEAD. Heavy Metal от FATAL CURSE – это не мэйдэны и присты, а что-то более попсово-хулиганское, как THIN LIZZY, DIAMOND HEAD, WITCH CROSS и VIRGIN STEELE. Поэтому альбома, наверное, хватит на пару раз, однако эти прослушивания принесут вам удовольствие.

DARKENED – Into the Blackness
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Edged Circle Productions
Оценка: 5,5 / 10

О том, что этот международный проект окажется обыденным, как ежедневный поход в сортир, говорят уже сами названия группы и альбома, соревнующиеся между собой в бездарности. В составе DARKENED числятся люди из Швеции, Великобритании и США – самой заметной фигурой является Дэрил Каан, барабанщик BOLT THROWER и омерзительной MEMORIAM. Квинтет намутил 15 минут довольно серого Death Metal с шведской панковщинкой, простенькими шаблонными мелодиями и катастрофически безликим саундом. В общем, проект – он и есть проект. Усилий вложено ровно столько, чтобы не вызвать у слушателя рвоту. Но разве это оправдывает потерю пятнадцати минут жизни?

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий