Review: EVIL SORCERY – Death Meditation

Year of release: 2019
Released by: Putrid Cult
Rating: 8,2 / 10

The debut EP of the mysterious solo project from the Belarusian capital, quietly released in the middle of this summer on the Polish Putrid Cult, became a more important release than it might seem at first glance. In the past few years, albums covering style gaps have begun to appear in the country. For example, LEPROUS VORTEX SUN occupied the niche of the avant-garde dissonant Black Metal in the vein of DsO, and DOOMSLAUGHTER and LJOSAZABOJSTWA more than successfully carry the banner of the so-called "War Metal". Like the latter, EVIL SORCERY does not just fill up the lack of War Metal in Belarus - the project goes further, trying to find its own face and develop the style.

You won’t surprise anyone with occultism and rituals in War Metal - by and large, this is the foundation of the style. However, most of the bands, including forefathers, fail to convey the ritual atmosphere in their works. It is very difficult to wedge in incessant blasting with something more thoughtful. ARCHGOAT do this on the latest albums more or less succesfully, but I don’t remember anyone else. Projects such as HELLVETRON, NYOGTHAEBLISZ, VOID MEDITATION CULT, NOCTURNAL BLOOD are different, although their legs also grow from War Metal. EVIL SORCERY is located somewhere between the two camps, maintaining a warlike character, while being a ritual metal.

After about a dozen plays, my obsessive desire to draw parallels between EVIL SORCERY and BLACK WITCHERY - purely musical ones - does not disappear. Although there are almost no obvious similarities, the projects are related by aggression. The vocals of EVIL SORCERY are also angry and Satanic as fuck, and the motors from the STIHL chainsaws of the 666th model are definitely installed inside the guitars. This aggression distinguishes EVIL SORCERY from ideologically similar bands who growl their ritual speeches from the deepest abysses of Hell which makes them closer to Funeral Doom Metal. The Belarusian project works according to a different method: it moves at medium speed, from time to time opening the door for “ritual” elements - ominous synths, creeping guitar riffs, quiet howls in the background. The synthesizer parts are the most interesting thing on the album. They are not limited to an imitation of an ecclesiastical organ that has gotten sore long ago. You can hear, say, some crystal clear cosmic motifs, as well as very unexpected things in the vein of the soundtracks to ancient sci-fi films. Combined with rough black metal, the effect is impressive.

“Death Meditation” consists of one track for 21 and a half minutes. The work is conceptual, and its essence is very simple. In a nutshell - this is a song about ritual suicide. Following the theme, the music becomes darker and darker, until it ends with that very strange sci-fi synthetizer part, symbolizing... purification? One can only guess.

“Death Meditation” was released in a standard jewel case with a 4-page booklet. The song lyrics cover all the spread. The cover, in truth, can scare away many potential listeners, as it resembles the lurid samples of senseless shit stamped at the factory pace at the turn of the century. Maybe there is some hidden meaning, but I did not see it in a heap of seemingly incoherent images. But the logo - hot dang it son, you need to release patches as soon as possible! All the details on a video. In CIS, the CDs will be soon available in the distro catalogue of Possession.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: EVIL SORCERY – Death Meditation

Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Putrid Cult
Оценка: 8,2 / 10

Дебютный EP загадочного сольного проекта из беларуской столицы, тихой сапой вышедший в середине лета этого года на польском Putrid Cult, стал более важным релизом, чем может показаться на первый взгляд. В последние несколько лет в стране начали выходить альбомы, закрывающие стилевые пробелы. К примеру, LEPROUS VORTEX SUN заняли нишу авангардно-диссонантного Black Metal в духе DsO, а DOOMSLAUGHTER и LJOSAZABOJSTWA более чем успешно несут знамя т.н. “War Metal”. Как и последние, EVIL SORCERY не просто восполняет недостаток War Metal в Беларуси – проект идёт дальше, пытаясь обрести собственное лицо и развивать стиль.

Оккультизмом и ритуалами в War Metal никого не удивишь – по большому счёту, это основа основ стиля. Однако большинству групп, включая отцов, не удаётся передать ритуальную атмосферу в своих работах. Очень сложно вклиниться в непрекращающуюся долбёжку с чем-то более вдумчивым. Худо-бедно это получается у ARCHGOAT на последних альбомах, а больше я никого не припоминаю. Такие проекты, как HELLVETRON, NYOGTHAEBLISZ, VOID MEDITATION CULT, NOCTURNAL BLOOD – это всё-таки уже другое дело, хотя их ноги тоже растут из War Metal. EVIL SORCERY находится где-то между двумя лагерями, сохраняя воинственный характер, и при этом будучи ритуальным металом.

После примерно десятка прослушиваний у меня не пропадает навязчивое желание проводить параллели между EVIL SORCERY и BLACK WITCHERY – чисто музыкальные. Хотя очевидного сходства тут с гулькин нос, проекты роднит агрессия. Вокал EVIL SORCERY – это тоже злобный, осатаневший ор, а внутри гитар совершенно точно установлены моторы от бензопил STIHL 666-й модели. Эта агрессия отличает EVIL SORCERY от идейно близких банд, рычащих таких глубоких адских впадин, что музыка их больше напоминает похоронный дум. Беларуский проект работает по другому методу: он двигается на средней скорости, время от времени открывая дверь для “ритуальных” элементов – зловещих синтов, ползучих гитарных риффов, тихих завываний на фоне. Партии синтезатора – самое интересное, что есть на альбоме. Они не ограничиваются набившей оскомину имитацией церковного органа. Можно услышать, скажем, некие кристально чистые космические мотивы, а также очень неожиданные штуки в духе саундтреков к древним научно-фантастическим фильмам. В сочетании с грубым чёрным металом, эффект впечатляющий.

“Death Meditation” состоит из одного трека на 21 с половиной минуту. Произведение концептуальное, и суть его очень проста. В двух словах – это песня о ритуальном самоубийстве. Следуя тематике, музыка становится всё мрачнее и мрачнее, пока не завершается той самой странной партией НФ-синтов, символизирующей… очищение? Тут можно лишь гадать.

“Death Meditation” выпущен в стандартном джевеле с 4-страничным буклетом, на развороте которого помещается текст к единственной песне. Обложка, по правде говоря, может отпугнуть многих потенциальных слушателей, так как напоминает аляповатые образчики, фабричными темпами штамповавшиеся на рубеже веков. Может, там есть какой-то потаённый смысл, но я не разглядел его в нагромождении кажущихся бессвязными образов. Зато логотип – заебись, надо срочно выпускать нашивки! Все подробности на видео. В СНГ диски вскоре будут доступны в дистро Possession.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий