Review: SACRILEGIUM – Ritus Transitorius

Year of release: 2019
Released by: Werewolf Promotion
Rating: 7,3 / 10

Though SACRILEGIUM is one of the most important bands in my life, I've never expected too much from their new album. Quite boring interview with Suclagus arose suspicion that, although it was he who was the driving force of SACRILEGIUM, Nantur’s energy played a much more important role than might be expected. If Nantur’s interest in the band was directly related to spiritual research, for Suclagus’, it seems that the revival of SACRILEGIUM was primarily a way to play metal again for the sake of it. Unfortunately, genuine art, especially Black Art, is not born in such conditions. There will always be something important missing - as the “Ritus Transitorius” proves.

Let's go from good to bad. Suclagus is a great composer, no doubt about it. In each song there is at least one fragment falling into memory. And the best things on the album remain with you entirely. “Królestwo cienia", for example; it’s like SACRILEGIUM of the golden period, with a characteristic melody, riffs cleverly passing the baton on the run, genuine emotions. The song “Ritual” is good, although I liked the version from the self-titled EP more. “Zapomniana potęga” - everything is clear here, this is a re-recorded thing from “Recidivus” demo. Interestingly, it goes both to the benefit and to the detriment of an album. Thanks to it, the disc becomes one good song more. At the same time, it is clear from it that in the 90s SACRILEGIUM compositional thinking was better developed: “Zapomniana potęga” is stronger than the rest of the material even from purely musical side. The original, however, haven't been be surpassed or vulgarized. Finally, in “Ritus Transitorius” I am pleased with the presence of synthesizer parts. And even if they no longer play such an important role as before, without them, SACRILEGIUM would have lost a solid part of their identity.

In general, I described the main problem of the album in the preface. After the interview, I got the feeling that Suclagus suffers from a disease characteristic of many old musicians - he is most concerned about the sound quality of the songs. And this is far from the main thing, especially in Black Metal. People still listen to “Wicher” and other classic SACRILEGIUM recordings not for the sake of a good sound (that is not there) and not even for the truly excellent riffs. Their priceless dignity is the ability to carry the listener into the darkness of antiquity saturated with magic. Even the most hard-witted mutt will notice this energy which is characteristic of both the pagan and the satanic period of the Poles. “Anima Lucifera” was fundamentally different, but had something to offer in return: Luciferian, forgive me for this evident remark, light. The second album had an occult aura, inspired by the philosophy of eccentric dudes, spending days and nights in their vast libraries full of rare tomes. “Ritus Transitorius”, alas, lacks a spiritual dimension. Poetic quotes on the digipack insides and album title suggest that SACRILEGIUM's new work is also based on occultism, but I don’t feel it in music. There are these quality sounding songs, nothing else. Also, sound quality does not mean the quality of music. Years ago, a goofy thing like “Stupor,” for example, would hardly even have been included in a posthumous collection of unreleased records. Under the crumbly instrumental layers, hides the trembling body of the most lazy idea which for some reason they decided to turn into a full song. Only a decent ending with an interesting guitar solo somehow helps out. Fortunately, the rest of the songs are stitched more tightly, although the final track also makes you tormented by vague doubts.

It’s a little regrettable to understand: with less refined sounding all these songs could have work well. Compare the album version of “Ritual” with the version from the self-titled EP recorded on North studio. For some reason you believe in a more primitive initial version, but not in a perfect album one. As I said, quality is not the main thing. Sometimes the pursuit of it can only do harm.

Finally, the physical edition of the album also leaves few reasons for joy. There was no room for lyrics in the 8-panel digipack, but occupying two panels with a tracklist and a list of participants consisting of four people was of course the best option. The photos of the musicians are good, the fonts are total disaster, the color scheme, in general, too. In the open state, digipack looks more like the release of some lousy Russian label rather than Werewolf Promotion. At least when it's closed, it's looking good. Details on a video. I regret to say that “Ritus Transitorius” does not honor SACRILEGIUM. It is not bad, but one-dimensional, and therefore its life cycle will come to an end much faster than with previous works.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: SACRILEGIUM – Ritus Transitorius

Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Werewolf Promotion
Оценка: 7,3 / 10

Хотя SACRILEGIUM – одна из важнейших групп в моей жизни, я не возлагал особых надежд на новый альбом. Скучноватое интервью с Suclagus’ом зародило подозрение, что, хотя движущей силой SACRILEGIUM является именно он, энергетика Nantur’а играла гораздо более важную роль, чем можно предполагать. Если интерес Nantur’а к группе был связан непосредственно с духовными изысканиями, то для Suclagus’а, похоже, возрождение SACRILEGIUM стало прежде всего способом снова поиграть метал ради собственного удовольствия.  К сожалению, подлинное искусство, в особенности Чёрное, в таких условиях не рождается. Всегда будет недоставать чего-то важного – что и доказывает “Ritus Transitorius”.

Пойдём от хорошего к плохому. Suclagus – отличный композитор, в этом сомнений нет. В каждой песне найдётся хотя бы один западающий в память фрагмент. А лучшие вещи на альбоме остаются с тобой целиком. “Królestwo cienia”, например; это как будто SACRILEGIUM золотого периода, с характерной мелодикой, ловко передающими эстафету на бегу риффами, неподдельными эмоциями. Хороша песня “Ritual”, хотя вариант с одноименного миника мне нравился больше. “Zapomniana potęga” – тут всё понятно, это перезаписанная вещь с демо “Recidivus”. Интересно, что она идёт альбому и на пользу, и во вред. Благодаря ей, на диске становится на одну хорошую песню больше. В то же время, по ней заметно, что в 90-х композиционное мышление SACRILEGIUM было развито лучше: “Zapomniana potęga” чисто музыкально сильнее остального материала. Оригинал, впрочем, не удалось ни превзойти, ни опошлить. Наконец, в “Ritus Transitorius” меня радует присутствие партий синтезатора. И пусть они уже не играют такой важной роли, как раньше, без них SACRILEGIUM утратили бы солидную часть своей идентичности.

Главную проблему альбома я, в общем-то, описал в предисловии. После интервью у меня возникло ощущение, что Suclagus страдает характерной для множества возрастных музыкантов болезнью – его больше всего волнует качество звучания песен. А это далеко не главное, особенно в Black Metal. Люди по сей день слушают “Wicher” и другие классические записи SACRILEGIUM отнюдь не ради хорошего звука, которого там нет, и даже не ради по-настоящему превосходных риффов. Их бесценное достоинство – способность переносить слушателя в насыщенную магией тьму древности. Даже самый тугой на ухо дубовый остолоп заметит эту энергию, характерную как для языческого, так и сатанинского периода творчества поляков. “Anima Lucifera” был принципиально иным, но имел что предложить взамен: люциферианский, простите мне эту очевидность, свет. У второго альбома была оккультная аура, навеянная философией эксцентричных дядек, дни и ночи проводящих в своих необъятных библиотеках, полных редких фолиантов. “Ritus Transitorius”, увы, лишён духовного измерения. Поэтические цитаты на внутренностях дигипака и название альбома предполагают, что новая работа SACRILEGIUM также основана на оккультизме, но в музыке я этого не чувствую. Здесь есть пресловутые качественно звучащие песни, и не более. Да и то, качество звучания ещё не означает качество музыки. Бестолковая вещь вроде “Stupor”, например, раньше вряд ли вошла бы даже на посмертный сборник неизданных записей. Под рассыпчатыми инструментальными наслоениями безуспешно пытается спрятаться дрожащее тело абсолютно ни на что не годной изначальной задумки, которую зачем-то решили превратить в полноценную песню. Лишь приличная концовка с интересным гитарным соло кое-как выручает. К счастью, остальные песни сшиты крепче, хотя финальный трек тоже заставляет терзаться смутными сомнениями.

Немного прискорбно осознавать следующее: в менее качественном звучании все эти песни вполне могли сработать. Сравните альбомную версию “Ritual” с версией с позапрошлогоднего миника, записанной на North studio. В более примитивный изначальный вариант почему-то веришь, а в идеальный альбомный – нет. Как я уже говорил, качество – не главное. Иногда погоня за ним может только навредить.

Наконец, физическое издание альбома тоже оставляет не особенно много поводов для радости. В 8-панельном дигипаке не нашлось места для текстов, зато занять две панели треклистом и списком участников из четырёх персон – это милое дело. Фотографии музыкантов хороши, шрифты чудовищны, цветовое решение, в общем, тоже. В открытом состоянии дигипак больше напоминает релиз какой-то паршивой российской конторы, а не Werewolf Promotion. По крайней мере, в закрытом он смотрится намного лучше. Подробности на видео. С сожалением констатирую, что “Ritus Transitorius” не делает чести группе SACRILEGIUM. Он неплох, но одномерен, а потому его жизненный цикл подойдёт к концу гораздо быстрее, чем у предыдущих работ.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий