Blitz reviews 47: Brutal Africa compilation, MEUCHELMORD, BLOODSOAKED NECROVOID, PRIMOGENORUM, FRONT BEAST

47th part of short reviews.

V/A – The Heavy Metal Cowboys of Botswana
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Svart Records
Rating: 5 / 10

A rather interesting collection from the Finnish label Svart Records, dedicated to the metal scene of Botswana - a country that most metal listeners are unlikely to be able to show on the world map, even if they are given three attempts. Meanwhile, the scene of Botswana turns out to be one of the leading in Africa. To demonstrate its strengths, six local bands called on to offer two tracks (except for PMMA project that provided only one song). Looking at the colorful photographs of African metalheads I imagined a certain clumsy and naive Heavy Metal made by 30-year old standards, but it turned out that the material on the compilation s much more modern, and not in a very good sense. At my place I have several metal compilations from yearly 2000s, filled by shits of worthless bands from countries such as Macedonia, who played something in between death metal, thrash, or groove with a faceless sound and zero level of imagination. As it turned out, Botswana is playing something like that. Only the sound has pretty high quality. I'll go through them names. CRACKDUST is the same averaged thrash death, not worthy of praise or blame. METAL ORIZON - non-inventive Heavy Metal with a groove shade. It’s boring to listen, but they play from the heart, I give them that. OVERTHRUST - the best band in the collection; the sound is identical to CRACKDUST, but the vocalist’s roar is impressive, and the music resembles the best moments of BOLT THROWER. PMMA is some silly bullshit. STANE is the nasty Death Metal in the vein of the unforgettable “Promise” of MASSACRE. WRUST is the same nasty Death Metal, but even more annoying because of the repetitive choruses. The final feelings from the collection are sad, and not even because of the boring music, but because its African origin does not betray itself. Such mediocre material with banal song titles and basic English-language lyrics can be found in any country in the world. Therefore, I can not recommend metal from Botswana even to eccentric lovers of exotic stuff, because there's nothing exotic about it.

MEUCHELMORD – Waffenträger
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Purity Through Fire
Rating: 6,7 / 10

Very good German extreme metal. The Teutonic melody in the beginning resembles BILSKIRNIR, however, percussion parts far from RAC motifs make a big difference. For example, in the first song, attention is drawn to purely militaristic sounding marching beatings, and in the second, hyper-fast blast beats uncharacteristic for such music, referring, for example, to MARDUK and ENDSTILLE. The farther - the meaner. The album successfully retains a warlike character and tries to avoid musical repetitions, but the author does not equally well cope with all types of rhythmic structures. Therefore, some of the songs are perceived perfectly, but the other part I would throw into a trash can.

BLOODSOAKED NECROVOID – The Apocryphal Paths of the Ancient 8th Vitriolic Transcendence
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Caligari Records / Iron Bonehead Productions
Rating: 8 / 10

A collection of demos from Costa Rican band founded just a year ago. Gravely blackened Metal of Death with a characteristic sound that can be described as a “rumble from the abyss." HELLVETRON fans will love it. Great!

PRIMOGENORUM – Ye Last Ordeal
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Lunar Apparitions
Rating: 6 / 10

Ukrainian Black Metal in the vein of the old. No similarities to anyone in particular, but it's not very specific either. Dirty-sounding, dreary, unfriendly music, which is unlikely to ever have a lot of listeners - not because it's bad, but because it can’t become popular simply because of its nature. Decay, darkness and doom.

FRONT BEAST – Shadows
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Helldprod Records
Rating: 7,9 / 10

Fresh release from the obsessed German. Came out only on cassettes. FRONT BEAST can be criticized for not always successful compositions, but it cannot be denied that this project always plays music as if time had stopped in 1997, if not earlier. “Shadows” goes even further, to the primitive bloody roots of extreme metal. The EP sounds like a 30 years old rehearsal recorded on a 4-track recorder in the basement, and the music on it ignores all Black Metal patterns except the earliest ones. There are a lot of riffs in the vein of first CELTIC FROST records, and the rest of the parallels are pointless - it's just old metal, that's all. Great release.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 47: сборник Brutal Africa, MEUCHELMORD, BLOODSOAKED NECROVOID, PRIMOGENORUM, FRONT BEAST

47-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

V/A – The Heavy Metal Cowboys of Botswana
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Svart Records
Оценка: 5 / 10

Довольно интересный сборник от финского лейбла Svart Records, посвящённый метал-сцене Ботсваны – страны, которую большинство слушателей метала вряд ли сумеет показать на карте мира, даже если им дать три попытки. Тем временем, сцена Ботсваны, оказывается, одна из ведущих в Африке. Продемонстрировать её сильные стороны призваны шесть тамошних групп, предложивших по два трека (кроме неких PMMA, сдюживших только одну песню). Глядя на красочные фотографии африканских металлистов, я представлял себе некий корявый и наивный Heavy Metal образца 30-летней давности, но оказалось, что материал на сборнике гораздо более современный, и не в очень хорошем смысле. У меня дома лежит несколько метал-компиляций начала 2000-х годов выпуска, забитых высерами никудышных банд из стран типа Македонии, игравших не то дэт, не то трэш, не то грув с безликим звуком и нулевым уровнем фантазии. Как оказалось, в Ботсване играют что-то в этом духе. Разве что звук довольно качественный. Пройдусь по именам. CRACKDUST – тот самый усреднённый трэш-дэт, не заслуживающий ни похвалы, ни порицания. METAL ORIZON – неизобретательный Heavy Metal с грувовым оттенком. Слушать скучно, но играют от души. OVERTHRUST – лучшая группа на сборнике; звук идентичен CRACKDUST, но рык вокалиста впечатляет, а музыка напоминает лучшие моменты BOLT THROWER. PMMA – какой-то смешной пиздец. STANE – скверный Death Metal в духе незабвенного “Promise” MASSACRE. WRUST – такой же скверный Death Metal, но ещё более раздражающий от попыток заставить слушателя запомнить припевы с помощью многократных повторений. Итоговые ощущения от сборника печальные, и даже не из-за скучной музыки, а из-за того, что её африканское происхождение никак себя не выдаёт. Такой посредственный материал с банальными названиями песен и англоязычной лирикой можно найти в любой стране мира. Поэтому я не могу порекомендовать метал из Ботсваны даже чудаковатым любителям экзотики – ловить здесь попросту нечего.

MEUCHELMORD – Waffenträger
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Purity Through Fire
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

Весьма неплохой немецкий метал классического образца. Тевтонская мелодика в начале напоминает BILSKIRNIR, однако большую разницу делают ударные партии, далёкие от RAC-мотивов. К примеру, в первой же песне внимание привлекают чисто армейские маршевые сбивки, а во второй – нехарактерные для такой музыки гиперскоростные бласт-биты, отсылающие, например, к MARDUK и ENDSTILLE. Чем дальше – тем злее. Альбом успешно сохраняет воинственный характер и старается избегать музыкальных повторений, но автор не одинаково хорошо справляется со всеми типами ритмических конструкций. Поэтому часть песен воспринимается отлично, а другую часть хочется выкинуть с босыми ногами на мороз.

BLOODSOAKED NECROVOID – The Apocryphal Paths of the Ancient 8th Vitriolic Transcendence
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Caligari Records / Iron Bonehead Productions
Оценка: 8 / 10

Собрание демо-записей группы из Коста-Рики, основанной всего год назад. Замогильной черноты Метал Смерти с характерным саундом, который можно описать как “гул из бездны”. Понравится поклонникам HELLVETRON. Мощь!

PRIMOGENORUM – Ye Last Ordeal
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Lunar Apparitions
Оценка: 6 / 10

Украинский Black Metal старого образца. Ни на кого в целом не похожий, но и не сказать, чтобы очень своеобразный. Грязно звучащая, тоскливая, недружелюбная музыка, у которой вряд ли когда-нибудь появится много слушателей – не потому, что плоха, а потому, что не сможет стать популярной просто в силу своего характера. Гниение, тьма и обречённость.

FRONT BEAST – Shadows
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Helldprod Records
Оценка: 7,9 / 10

Свежий релиз от одержимого немца. Вышел только на кассетах. FRONT BEAST можно критиковать за не всегда удачные композиции, но нельзя отрицать, что этот проект всегда играет музыку так, будто время остановилось в 1997-ом году, если не раньше. “Shadows” уходит ещё дальше, к примитивным кровавым корням экстремального метала. EP звучит как репетиционка 30-летней давности, записанная на 4-дорожечный рекордер в подвале, а музыка на нём игнорирует все шаблоны Black Metal, кроме самых ранних. Здесь много риффов в духе первых записей CELTIC FROST, а остальные параллели приводить бессмысленно – это просто старый метал, вот и всё. Прекрасный релиз.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий