Blitz reviews 49: BEWITCHER, GRIFTESKYMFNING, PERVERTED CEREMONY / WITCHCRAFT, PLAGUE WEAWER, ARES KINGDOM

49th part of short reviews.

BEWITCHER – Under the Witching Cross
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Shadow Kingdom Records
Rating: 6,7 / 10

Last year I had the pleasure of reviewing the single “Too Fast for the Flames”, which preceded the release of this album. Then I was delighted with the ardent energy of the American group and its 100% old-school style. As it turned out, BEWITCHER is best taken in small doses. “Under the Witching Cross”, being sustained in the spirit of Heavy / Speed ​​Metal with a bit of devilry, or some reason begins to tire after 5 minutes. Perhaps the main fault lies with extremely inexpressive vocals, but the music is quickly losing its catchiness as well. Usually I like albums similar to “Under the Witching Cross”, but this record just doesn’t work for me.

GRIFTESKYMFNING – Bedrövelsens Härd
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Darker Than Black Records
Rating: 7 / 10

Another new album from the members of GRAV. Unlike “Svart Materia”, this one has a more decent sound and, as a result, is more convincing. The classic “vampyric" atmosphere of darkness and antiquity, depth, primitive synths and old-fashioned melodiousness - all that you need. For those who like to circle on leathery wings around black and white castles in the light of the full moon.

PERVERTED CEREMONY / WITCHCRAFT – Nighermancie / Black Candle Invoker
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 7 / 10

New work with the participation of the Belgians PERVERTED CEREMONY - a group that, unfortunately, is still more active than its adorable sister MOENEN OF XEZBETH. PE, like their Finnish split partners, are adherents of the most primitive occult metal once represented by the great BEHERIT. However, there is less chaos. Aside from that, everything is as it should be: from a dull analog sound to burping vocals and synthesizer parts made from one note. All in all, everything is perfectly fine, but for some reason it leaves me indifferent.

PLAGUE WEAVER – Plague Weaver
Year of release: 2019
Released by: self-release
Rating: 6 / 10

A project of former bassist of AZARATH and DAMNATION, who emigrated to Canada. Dark doomy metal with anti(?)religious themes, made in a not very carefully disguised home sound. Pretty solemn music, but, in my opinion, its path does not lead anywhere. Rather, it's just a personal statement about something important to the author. However, the release of EP this year indicates that the musician has some ambitious plans, so I am probably wrong.

ARES KINGDOM – By the Light of Their Destruction
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Rating: 6,8/ 10

The latest album of the old pals from ARES KINGDOM is a reason for an excitement among the western underground metal listeners, but I again remain perplexed. Something in the music of these respected people breaks me. In general, they are great: they have both aggression and youthful anger, real militancy (with such a name, it can be only that way!). There is a living spirit of a very old school, and they play riffs. However, their music is too American for me, or something. It feels like second grade classic Death Metal from Florida. Everything is cool, but I won't come back.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 49: BEWITCHER, GRIFTESKYMFNING, PERVERTED CEREMONY / WITCHCRAFT, PLAGUE WEAWER, ARES KINGDOM

49-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

BEWITCHER – Under the Witching Cross
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Shadow Kingdom Records
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

В прошлом году я имел удовольствие рецензировать сингл “Too Fast for the Flames”, предварявший выход данного альбома. Тогда я остался в восторге от пылкой энергетики американской группы и её стопроцентно олдскульного стиля. Как выяснилось, BEWITCHER лучше принимать в малых дозах. “Under the Witching Cross”, будучи выдержанным в духе Heavy / Speed Metal с весёлой дьявольщинкой, почему-то начинает утомлять уже через 5 минут. Наверное, основная вина в том лежит на крайне невыразительном вокале, но и музыка быстро перестаёт цеплять. Обычно я люблю альбомы, похожие на “Under the Witching Cross”, но эта пластинка мне не заходит, хоть тресни.

GRIFTESKYMFNING – Bedrövelsens Härd
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Darker Than Black Records
Оценка: 7 / 10

Ещё один новый альбом шведов из GRAV. В отличие от “Svart Materia”, этот имеет более приличный звук и, как следствие, более убедителен. Классическая “вампирская” атмосфера тьмы и древности, глубина, примитивные синты и старомодная мелодика в наличии. Для любителей покружить на кожистых крыльях вокруг чёрно-белых замков в свете полной луны.

PERVERTED CEREMONY / WITCHCRAFT – Nighermancie / Black Candle Invoker
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 7 / 10

Новая работа с участием бельгийцев PERVERTED CEREMONY – группы, которая, к сожалению, пока более активна, нежели её восхитительная сестра MOENEN OF XEZBETH. PE, как и их финские партнёры по сплиту, являются адептами самого примитивного оккультного метала, некогда представленного великими BEHERIT. Впрочем, хаоса здесь поменьше. А так всё в наличии, от глухого аналогового саунда до рыгающего вокала и синтезаторных партий из одной ноты. В принципе, всё прекрасно, но меня по некой причине оставляет равнодушным.

PLAGUE WEAVER – Plague Weaver
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 6 / 10

Проект бывшего басиста AZARATH и DAMNATION, эмигрировавшего в Канаду. Мрачный думовый метал на анти(?)религиозную тематику, обладающий не очень тщательно замаскированным домашним саундом. Довольно торжественная музыка, но, по-моему, её путь никуда не ведёт. Скорее, это просто личное высказывание о наболевшем. Впрочем, выпуск EP в этом году свидетельствует, что у автора есть далеко идущие планы.

ARES KINGDOM – By the Light of Their Destruction
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Nuclear War Now! Productions
Оценка: 6,8/ 10

Новейший альбом стариков ARES KINGDOM вызывает у забугорной андеграундной публики полный восторг, а я в который раз остаюсь в недоумении. Что-то в музыке этих дядек меня подламывает. Вообще, они молодцы: есть в них и агрессия, и юношеская злоба, настоящая воинственность (с таким-то названием!). Есть и живой дух очень старой школы, и играют они риффами. Однако их музыка для меня слишком американская, что ли. Ощущения от неё – как от прослушивания классического флоридского Death Metal второго эшелона. Всё здорово, но возвращаться не тянет.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий