Review: SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA – The Last Blessing

Year of release: 2014 / 2019 (CD release)
Released by: Karjalan Bunkkeri (cassette) / Handful of Hate (CD)
Rating: 7,5 / 10

The Karelian musician Dmitry Lisitsky, who committed suicide in 2015, managed to leave a noticeable mark in the Russian metal underground over his 25 years of life. I think most readers of Bagnik Zine have heard at least the names of projects with his participation - ANTIMELODIX, METI BHUVAH, ORK BASTARDS, SATANAKOZEL (ahem). SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA was founded in 2006 and recorded two albums - in 2007 and 2009, respectively. If the first one was released on CD relatively quickly, the second one was waiting for CD release until October 2019, made by Handful of Hate and Thou Shalt Kill! Records.

While in METI BHUVAH, Dmitry worshiped ILDJARN, played punk in ANTIMELODIX and evil speed thrash in ORK BASTARDS, SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA revealed a different facet of his talent and worldview. The venerable Internet audience, inclined to tailor the surrounding realities to their unicellular thinking, instantly proclaimed SDG the shameless clone of DEATHSPELL OMEGA, and on the cover of “The Last Blessing” these people managed to find some glaring plagiarism from one of the French releases. I looked through my DSO collection but I didn’t find anything similar there. Someone is obviously fucked up... In fact, SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA really worked under the influence of DEATHSPELL OMEGA. This is evidenced by at least a cover song on the first album. There are no covers on the second, but its style is largely based on the avant-garde Black Metal direction, which DSO music adopted after the groundbreaking “Si Monvmentvm Reqvires, Circvmspice”. However, this is not a clone at all. SDG only takes the cream: the characteristic manner of playing the guitar, the high intensity of the compositions, vocals with stretching words - that’s all that really brings SDG to DSO. But the music of the project as a whole is quite simple to understand. Although all instruments sometimes work to the limit, it's hard to call it chaotic. The sound of the songs does not resemble the buzzing of flies swarming over a rotting corpse - rather, this is is a methodical movement of maggots, devouring the flesh. Compositions have a fairly clear division into fragments, which you notice not immediately, but after 3-4 plays. In this regard, “The Last Blessing” receives a prize from me as one of the rare “albums with dissonances and breaks”, songs from which fall into memory - at least some pieces of them. True, this does not mean that the songs here are masterpieces. On the contrary, they are modest in their own way, but strong and firmly stitched. Dmitry was really good both as a composer and as a performer, regardless of the style of music.

What can push the listener away from the album is the lack of scale. Although it is impossible to criticize it for that, since the textual and musical sides in this regard work in unison. The sound picture of “The Last Blessing” is rather dense, almost evoking a feeling of claustrophobia. There is enough room for guitars, bass and percussion in it, but hardly. Perhaps this was the reason that the album has no additional elements, such as keyboard parts or semi-acoustic segments, like of DSO. Against the backdrop of similar bands unfolding multidimensional panoramas in front of the listener, SDG seems to be something local. While the rest depict the overthrow of the essence of the Demiurge at all levels of being, SDG arranges a massacre not even before your eyes, but in your head. “The Last Blessing” does not offer an attraction that includes traveling through the endless Universe and the corridors of Hell. But this is precisely the essence; The texts for the album are personal in nature, and what is happening in them comes from the inside, and not from the outside. Their understanding does not require hours of study of special literature. The nihilistic reflections on the human and divine nature and the repeatedly raised theme of destroying one’s worthless life to the glory of the Devil by hanging makes you emit some far-reaching sensational conclusion - the musician anticipated or even PLANNED his departure from this world, wrote about this even then but no one understood! But I’m not going to speculate on this topic, since I didn’t know Dmitry personally. According to the album, it remains to note the vocals are performed by G.N. from TSK! records / PSALM 666. He sang really well: in a good way disgusting, poisonous, in absolute harmony with the mood and sound of instrumental parts. Vocals recorded 2 years later than instruments can be heard a little “from the inside”, and, in view of all that was said above, this is perfect.

The CD edition of the album, with a circulation of 500 copies, is a six-panel digipack in A5 format. The disc is in the middle, on the sides there are texts in Russian and English versions. It is interesting that the original, as I understand it, is written in Russian, and in rhyme, but the lyrics are sung in English on the album. A little pity - the translation is excellent, but the original version is still more expressive. The digipack design is good: the print is excellent, the fonts and layout of the elements are impeccable. Unfortunately, due to some technical difficulties, I didn't made the video this time. Part of the print run is equipped with an embroidered logo patch. The album is available in Possession Prods distro and at TSK! Records.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA – The Last Blessing

Год выхода: 2014 / 2019 (CD-издание)
Издатель: Karjalan Bunkkeri (кассета) / Handful of Hate (CD)
Оценка: 7,5 / 10

Энергичный карельский музыкант Дмитрий Лисицкий, покончивший с собой в 2015-ом, за свои 25 лет жизни успел оставить заметный след в российском метал-андеграунде. Думаю, большинство читателей Bagnik Zine слышало хотя бы названия проектов с его участием – ANTIMELODIX, METI BHUVAH, ORK BASTARDS, САТАНАКОЗЁЛ (кхм). SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA был основан в 2006-ом году и записал два альбома – в 2007-ом и 2009-ом соответственно. Если первый вышел на CD сравнительно быстро, то второй дожидался издания на компакте до октября 2019-го, усилиями Handful of Hate и Thou Shalt Kill! Records.

В то время как в METI BHUVAH Дмитрий поклонялся ILDJARN, в ANTIMELODIX играл панк, а в ORK BASTARDS – злой спид-трэш, SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA раскрывал иную грань его таланта и мировоззрения. Почтенная публика из Интернета, склонная подгонять окружающие реалии под своё одноклеточное мышление, мигом провозгласила SDG бесстыжим клоном DEATHSPELL OMEGA, а на обложке “The Last Blessing” умудрилась отыскать некий вопиющий плагиат с одного из релизов французов. Я специально пересмотрел свою коллекцию DSO, но ничего похожего там и близко не нашёл. Кто-то, очевидно, долбится в глаза… На самом деле, SOLI DIABOLI GLORIA действительно работал под влиянием DEATHSPELL OMEGA. Об этом свидетельствует хотя бы кавер, вошедший на первый альбом. На втором каверов нет, но его стиль во многом основывается на авангардном направлении Black Metal, которое музыка DSO приняла после великого “Si Monvmentvm Reqvires, Circvmspice”. Однако это вовсе не клон. SDG лишь снимает сливки: характерная манера игры на гитаре, высокая интенсивность композиций, вокал с растягиванием слов – вот и всё, что по-настоящему роднит SDG с DSO. Но музыка проекта в целом довольно проста для понимания. Хотя все инструменты порой работают на пределе, хаотичность ей несвойственна. Звучание песен не напоминает жужжание роящихся над гниющим трупом мух – скорее уж, это движение методично пожирающих плоть (во славу Дьявола, разумеется) опарышей. Композиции имеют достаточно чёткое разделение на фрагменты, которое замечаешь не сразу, но после 3-4 прослушиваний. В связи с этим, “The Last Blessing” получает от меня премию как один из редких “альбомов с диссонансами и брейками”, песни с которого западают в память – хотя бы кусочками. Правда, это не значит, что песни здесь сплошь шедевры. Напротив, они по-своему скромные, но ровные и крепко сшитые. Дмитрий в самом деле был хорош и как композитор, и как исполнитель, независимо от стиля музыки.

Что может оттолкнуть слушателя от альбома, так это недостаток масштабности. Хотя критиковать его за это нельзя, поскольку текстовая и музыкальная сторона в этом плане работают в унисон. Картина звучания “The Last Blessing” довольно плотная, почти вызывающая чувство клаустрофобии. Гитарам, басу и ударке в ней места хватает, но едва-едва. Возможно, это стало причиной тому, что на альбоме нет больше никаких дополнительных элементов, типа клавишных партий или полуакустических отрезков, как у DSO. На фоне близких по духу банд, разворачивающих перед слушателем многомерные панорамы, SDG кажется чем-то локальным. Пока остальные живописуют низвержение сущности Демиурга на всех уровнях бытия, SDG устраивает побоище даже не перед вашими глазами, а в вашей голове. “The Last Blessing” не предлагает аттракцион, включающий в себя путешествия по бескрайней Вселенной и коридорам Ада. Но как раз в этом и заключается суть; тексты к альбому носят личный характер, и происходящее в них исходит изнутри, а не снаружи. Для их понимания не требуется многочасовое штудирование специальной литературы. Нигилистические размышления о природе людской и божественной и многократно поднятая тема уничтожения собственной никчемной жизни во славу Дьявола через повешение так и просят извергнуть какой-нибудь далеко идущий сенсационный вывод – мол, музыкант ПРЕДВИДЕЛ или даже ПЛАНИРОВАЛ свой уход из этого мира, писал об этом ещё тогда, а никто не понял! Но спекулировать на эту тему не стану, так как с Дмитрием знаком не был. По альбому остаётся отметить вокальную часть, в которой повинен Григорий из Убий! Records / ПСАЛОМ 666. Спел он действительно прекрасно: по-хорошему гадко, ядовито, в абсолютной гармонии с настроением и звучанием инструментальных партий. Вокал, записанный на 2 года позже инструментов, доносится  немного “изнутри”, и, ввиду всего вышеописанного, это попадание в десятку.

CD-издание альбома, имеющее тираж в 500 копий, представляет собой шестипанельный дигипак формата А5. Диск в середине, по бокам тексты в русскоязычном и англоязычном вариантах. Интересно, что оригинал, как я понимаю, написан на русском, причём в рифму, но на альбоме тексты исполнены на английском. Немного жаль – перевод превосходный, однако исходный вариант всё-таки более выразителен. Дизайн дигипака хорош: печать отличная, шрифты и расположение элементов безупречны. К сожалению, ввиду технических проблем, в этот раз я не сделал обязательное мини-видео с подробностями. Часть тиража снабжена вышитой нашивкой с логотипом. Альбом доступен в каталоге Possession и на Убий!.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий