Review: BÜTCHER – 666 Goats Carry My Chariot

Year of release: 2019
Released by: Osmose Productions
Rating: 8,5 / 10

Despite the mysterious addiction to mediocre hogwash which is positioned as the modern “Norwegian Black Metal”, Osmose Productions remains a strong label that does not forget to regularly reprint its classics and release new good albums. “666 Goats Carry My Chariot” from the Belgians BÜTCHER is one of those. Once again I am convinced that Belgium with its people and lifestyle that seemed very measured and comfortable to me, is not as simple as it looks. I have not heard so many metal bands from Belgium, but each of them is wonderful.

BÜTCHER is easy to confuse with some wild Latin Americans - just look at the names of albums and songs, such as “45 RPM Metal” or “The Blakk Krusader”. In general, everything is really similar: the Belgians play the frantic Thrash Speed ​​Metal without shame and conscience. The difference is made by the approach: where Latinos stripping their idols legacy to a bare skeleton, BÜTCHER try to mix their multiple influences with with something of their own, to create material as original as it is classic. The music is well thought out, but no more than it should. Some Germans (not DIABOLIC NIGHT) would probably jerk their songs off and discuss the next transition until the album turned into a "perfect" and absolutely bland product, a mockery of the old school of metal instead of a tribute. I hate this fucking German conjunctural crap. Happily, BÜTCHER got a good sense of measure: a dirty sound, mad lyrics and a fantastic, flaming energy. Thanks to the frantic speed and similar manner of performance, the Belgians remind me of my beloved DEATHHAMMER. However, their music is much more saturated with the Heavy Metal melody. The lead guitar plows like crazy.

The first half of the album consists of continuous straight-to-your-face hits, and then, when it starts to seem a little predictable, the 9-minute title track of a fundamentally different character begins: unhurried, epic, almost bathory-like greatness. In the middle of the track you can find a delightful mini tribute to KING DIAMOND. It seems that if the King will die, it will be possible to quietly make up R Hellshrieker for him and confidently proclaim - long live the King! And the other BÜTCHER musicians seem to be able to play the KING DIAMOND parts quite authentically. The final segment of the album is not as crazy as the first half, but more dynamic and inventive in terms of the development of compositions.

Of course, the whole of 2020 is yet to come, but I suspect that one of the best albums of the year has already arrived in a chariot drawn by 666 goats. I recommend it to all fans of the infernal galloping metal.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: BÜTCHER – 666 Goats Carry My Chariot

Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Osmose Productions
Оценка: 8,5 / 10

Несмотря на своё непонятное пристрастие к бездарной поебени, которая позиционируется как современный “норвежский Black Metal”, Osmose Productions остаётся сильным лейблом, не забывающим регулярно допечатывать свою классику и выпускать хорошие альбомы. “666 Goats Carry My Chariot” от бельгийцев BÜTCHER – один из таких. В который раз убеждаюсь, что Бельгия, коренное население и жизненный уклад которой показались мне очень размеренными и уютными, не так уж проста. Я слышал не так уж много метал-групп из Бельгии, но каждая из них замечательна.

BÜTCHER легко по незнанке перепутать с какими-нибудь дикими латиноамериканцами – взгляните только на названия альбомов и песен, типа “45 RPM Metal” или “The Blakk Krusader”. В общем-то, всё действительно похоже: бельгийцы играют оголтелый Thrash Speed Metal без стыда и совести. Разницу делает подход: где латиносы обдирают своих кумиров до голого скелета, там BÜTCHER пытаются смешать почерпнутое из многочисленных источников вдохновения с чем-то своим, создать материал настолько же оригинальный, насколько и классический. Музыка продуманная, но не больше, чем следует. Какие-нибудь немцы (не DIABOLIC NIGHT) на месте BÜTCHER вылизывали бы песни и рассуждали над очередным переходом до тех пор, пока альбом не превратился бы в идеальный и абсолютно пресный продукт, насмешку над старой школой метала, а не дань уважения ей. Ненавижу, блядь, всю эту немецкую коньюктурную блевотину. У BÜTCHER с чувством меры полный порядок: грязноватый звук, инфернальные тексты и фантастическая, пылающая энергетика. Благодаря бешеной скорости и схожей манере исполнения, бельгийцы напоминают мне моих любимых DEATHHAMMER. Однако их музыка гораздо сильнее насыщена мелодикой Heavy Metal. Лид-гитара пашет, как проклятая.

Первая половина альбома состоит из сплошных боевиков, а затем, когда он начинает казаться немного предсказуемым, стартует 9-минутный заглавный трек принципиально иного характера: неторопливый, эпический, обладающий почти баториевским размахом. В середине трека можно отыскать восхитительный реверанс в адрес KING DIAMOND. Кажется, если Король умрёт, можно будет втихую загримировать под него R Hellshrieker’а и уверенно провозгласить – да здравствует Король! Да и остальные музыканты BÜTCHER, похоже, способны сыграть партии KING DIAMOND вполне аутентично. Финальный отрезок альбома не такой сумасшедший, как первая половина, зато более динамичный и изобретательный в плане развития композиций.

Конечно, весь 2020-й ещё впереди, но я подозреваю, что один из лучших альбомов года уже прибыл на колеснице, запряжённой 666-ю козами. Всем поклонникам инфернального галопирующего метала рекомендую.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий