Blitz reviews 51: VALOSTA VARJOON, AETHYRICK, FOREST MYSTICISM / KRYPTA NICESTWA, SICULICIDIUM, VOIDFIRE

51st part of short reviews.

VALOSTA VARJOON – Oberpfälzer Wald
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Purity Through Fire
Rating: 7 / 10

Traditional release from PTF: atmospheric and melodic German metal with simple rhythms and a bias in nationalism. The name in Finnish and the general expressive palette are drawn in parallel with NATTFOG, SATANIC WARMASTER and GOATMOON, but the Germans, as usual, made everything too polished. But the album is still good.

AETHYRICK – Gnosis
Year of release: 2020
Released by: The Sinister Flame
Rating: 6,5 / 10

And here are the real Finns, whose debut “Praxis” I reviewed in full format. The ideological and thematic component based on magical practices remained in place, but the music, unfortunately, became more ordinary and superficial. The feeling of touching the natural energies, characteristic of "Praxis", has practically disappeared - only melodious metal with pleasant guitar parts remained.

FOREST MYSTICISM / KRYPTA NICESTWA – Mirrors of Glaciated Earth
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Nebular Carcoma Records
Rating: 6 / 10

Small Polish-Australian split. KRYPTA NICESTWA is a promising-sounding Polish duo whose song, based on poems by a young Polish poet Zenon Pshesmytsky, resembles something between DUSK and the second ANABOTH album: a dreary, melancholic and sloppy played thing. Nice and not so beaten. FOREST MYSTICISM is a project from a guy of WOODS OF DESOLATION, playing about the same secondary material heard a thousand times, but with an extra bit of sugar. The project's message is good, but the music does not convince, and a dirty sound, perhaps, even exacerbates the situation (I myself am surprised that I say this). The reverse side of the cassette for some reason contains the same songs in the variants of “raw mix” (as if the originals are not enough “raw”).

SICULICIDIUM – Utolsó vágta az Univerzumban
Year of release: 2009
Released by: Sun & Moon Records
Rating: 6,7 / 10

Anniversary LP reissue of the debut album of the Romanian duo. Last year’s EP of this band hooked me with a non-trivial approach and rather bold ambitions almost of MASTER’S HAMMER level, but in 2009 they played in a bad way more simple music. Attentive users of Metal Archives saw in Romanian music a resemblance to INQUISITION - in fact, solemn fragments with acoustics and a wall of guitar sound with long singing resemble the masterpieces of Dagon and Incubus. However, it is unlikely that the Romanians were inspired by INQUISITION consciously, because the Americans really developed this side of their music only on the album of 2010 release. Rather, here we are talking about a rather original interpretation of GRAVELAND. One way or another, the album is not striking, although individual fragments are catchy as hell.

VOIDFIRE – Ogień Pustki
Year of release: 2020
Released by: self-release
Rating: 6 / 10

The debut album of the Polish band which I agreed to briefly review, given my great love for Polish metal, although the music is not my cup of tea. VOIDFIRE play melodic metal at high speeds: from blast beats to quite thrashy segments and back through acoustic interludes. It’s rather difficult to name any analogues, since I rarely listen to such albums. For instance, AETHYRICK from the top of today's Blitz perform something similar, but better. The last EMPEROR album comes to mind, but probably more because of the similarities between the two quite budget records, where the guitars sound great and the drums are weak. The album’s pluses include a constant feeling of tension and melancholy. The cover from Beksinsky is also beautiful. The lyrics that suffered a little from the tautology turned out to be uninteresting - they were all personal experiences that perfectly fit with the mood of the album, but they make me remember the saying “no one gives a fuck about other's grief". All in all, I carefully recommend it to lovers of intense and fairly diverse melodic metal performed on a classic set of instruments.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 51: VALOSTA VARJOON, AETHYRICK, FOREST MYSTICISM / KRYPTA NICESTWA, SICULICIDIUM, VOIDFIRE

51-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

VALOSTA VARJOON – Oberpfälzer Wald
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Purity Through Fire
Оценка: 7 / 10

Традиционный релиз от PTF: атмосферный и мелодичный немецкий метал с простыми ритмами и уклоном в национализм. Название на финском и общая выразительная палитра наводят на параллели с NATTFOG, SATANIC WARMASTER и GOATMOON, только у немцев, как обычно, всё вылизано до невозможности. Хороший альбом.

AETHYRICK – Gnosis
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: The Sinister Flame
Оценка: 6,5 / 10

А вот уже настоящие финны, чей дебют “Praxis” я обозревал в полном формате. Основанная на магических практиках идейно-тематическая составляющая осталась на месте, но музыка, к сожалению, стала более заурядной и поверхностной. Ощущение прикосновения к природным энергиям, характерное для “Praxis”, практически исчезло – остался всего лишь приятный уху мелодичный метал с красивыми гитарными партиями.

FOREST MYSTICISM / KRYPTA NICESTWA – Mirrors of Glaciated Earth
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Nebular Carcoma Records
Оценка: 6 / 10

Мелкий польско-австралийский сплит. KRYPTA NICESTWA – перспективно звучащий польский дуэт, чья песня, положенная на стихи  младопольского поэта Зенона Пшесмыцкого, напоминает что-то между DUSK и вторым альбомом ANABOTH: тоскливая, глуховатая, меланхоличная вещь, сыгранная как попало. Неплохо и не так уж избито. FOREST MYSTICISM – проект дяди из WOODS OF DESOLATION, играющий примерно такой же вторичный материал, слышанный уже тысячу раз, только более сахарный, чем в основном проекте. Посыл у проекта правильный, но музыка не убеждает, а грязный саунд, пожалуй, даже усугубляет ситуацию (сам удивляюсь, что такое говорю). Обратная сторона кассеты зачем-то содержит те же самые песни в вариантах “raw mix” (как будто оригиналы не достаточно “raw”).

SICULICIDIUM – Utolsó vágta az Univerzumban
Год выхода: 2009
Издатель: Sun & Moon Records
Оценка: 6,7 / 10

Юбилейное переиздание дебютного альбома румынского дуэта на виниле. Прошлогодний EP этой команды зацепил меня нетривиальным подходом к делу и довольно смелыми посягательствами чуть ли не на MASTER’S HAMMER, но в 2009-ом они играли в плохом смысле попроще. Внимательные пользователи Metal Archives  усмотрели в музыке румынов сходство с INQUISITION – в самом деле, торжественные фрагменты с акустикой и стеной гитарного звука под протяжное пение напоминают шедевры Dagon’а и Incubus’а. Однако вряд ли румыны вдохновлялись INQUISITION сознательно, поскольку американцы по-настоящему развили эту сторону своей музыки лишь на альбоме 2010-го года выпуска. Скорее, здесь речь идёт о достаточно оригинальной интерпретации GRAVELAND. Так или иначе, альбом не поражает, хотя отдельные фрагменты захватывают не на шутку.

VOIDFIRE – Ogień Pustki
Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: самиздат
Оценка: 6 / 10

Дебютный альбом польской группы, который я согласился кратенько отрецензировать, учитывая мою большую любовь к польскому металу, хотя музыка здесь совсем не моё. VOIDFIRE играют мелодичный метал на высоких скоростях: от бласт-битов к довольно трэшевым отрезкам и обратно через акустические интерлюдии. Назвать какие-то аналоги довольно затруднительно, поскольку такие альбомы я слушаю редко. В принципе, те же AETHYRICK из верхней части сегодняшнего Блица исполняют нечто похожее, только лучше. Ещё на ум приходит последний альбом EMPEROR, но, наверное, больше из-за сходства двух весьма бюджетных записей, где гитары звучат отлично, а барабаны – слабенько. К плюсам альбома могу отнести постоянное чувство напряжённости и меланхолии. Обложка от Бексиньского также прекрасна. Немного страдающая от тавтологии лирика оказалась неинтересной – сплошь личные переживания, которые прекрасно вяжутся с настроением альбома, но меня заставляют вспомнить поговорку “кого ебёт чужое горе?”. Любителям интенсивного и достаточно разнообразного мелодичного метала, исполненного на классическом наборе инструментов, осторожно рекомендую ознакомиться.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий