Blitz reviews 52: GOATBLOOD, BLOSSE, AGGRESSIVE PERFECTOR, DEATH WOLF, NACHTIG

52nd part of short reviews.

GOATBLOOD – Apparition of Doomsday
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Dunkelheit Produktionen
Rating: 6,6 / 10

The new album of the German band (there is also an Australian one with the same name), which, as far as I know, influenced our local goat metal hord BONEHAMMER. The press release states that GOATBLOOD allegedly showcases interesting new movements within the framework of “Bestial Metal”, but I didn’t notice anything like that. The music is very diligent clone of ARCHGOAT, and the only thing that stands out is rare melodic fragments and short atmospheric sketches on the main themes of individual songs. Listen to this album or skip it - the effect will be the same.

BLOSSE – Nocturne
Year of release: 2018
Released by: Aeternitas Tenebrarum Musicae Fundamentum
Rating: 5 / 10

A solo project in the style of “Quebec metal” from, in fact, Quebec. The local metal scene as a phenomenon appeals to me very much, but for several years I did not find not a single one good album on it. Quebec musicians have adequate ideas and the right sources of inspiration (the same BLOSSE, for example, recorded an entire album of covers on DRUDKH, HATE FOREST and PAYSAGE D’HIVER), but some important ingredient is lost along the way from thought to action. “Nocturne”, like the rest of Quebec metal, is an attempt to create something so cold, atmospheric and archaic, but it’s attemptthat always ends with yet another completely unconvincing French-speaking slobber, for some reason adored by all kinds of “atmospheric" freaks. I guess I don’t understand something, but for me the real atmospheric metal is DRUDKH, WALKNUT or even SAOR, but BLOSSE or FORTERESSE are simply feces. One way or another, the new edition from ATMF, which was sent to me for a promotion, contains two full-length albums on one disc at once - the mentioned “Nocturne” and the debut “Era noire”. Both are equally dull, so if you want to spend 70 minutes of life in vain - be my guest.

AGGRESSIVE PERFECTOR – Havoc at the Midnight Hour
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Dying Victims Productions
Rating: 7,8 / 10

The young American band whose name refers to SLAYER, plays a slightly different music, reminiscent of MIDNIGHT in the best moments (where Athenar gives a motor head, and does not try to make an evil face). Plus a bit of retro devilishness. It's cheerful, fervent, with cool solos and songs that you want to sing along with, despite the raucous vocals. The sound is quite modern, but at the same time real, vibrating. In this regard, Dying Victims always has everything at the highest level. The design is amazing. Cool!

DEATH WOLF – IV: Come the Dark
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Blooddawn Productions
Rating: 5,1 / 10

The praised project with the participation of Morgan from MARDUK, despite the remarkable initial DANZIG influences, turned out to be a terribly stupid metal rock with an indescribably nauseating double vocal track. Some dark energy is inherent in the album, but everything else is just a pile of shit. Even worse than "Viktoria".

NACHTIG – Nachtig
Year of release: 2019
Released by: Purity Through Fire
Rating: 5,5 / 10

In the past Blitz, I reviewed the album of VALOSTA VARJOON, another project featuring the creator of Nachtig. That project very loudly declared the musician’s passion for the Finnish scene, but it turned out that he also had NACHTIG and COSMIC BURIAL, which simply screams of love to COSMIC CHURCH. Of course, focusing on COSMIC CHURCH is an extremely laudable endeavor, but the fact is that the Finnish project was a completely unique phenomenon with an inimitable ideology and a deeply personal approach to playing music, which cannot be repeated, even if you dress in hoodies and draw triangles in the logo until the end of your life. NACHTIG is COSMIC CHURCH without everything that made the Finnish project special, that is, second-class atmospheric metal with long songs. The situation is aggravated by the same second-rate sound and this tiresome German type of melodiousness that I am completely fed by. There is already a whole sea of ​​such albums, and I see no reason to buy and even listen to another one. “Nachtig” is made diligently and honestly, but it won't give you a-n-y-t-h-i-n-g.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Блиц-рецензии 52: GOATBLOOD, BLOSSE, AGGRESSIVE PERFECTOR, DEATH WOLF, NACHTIG

52-й выпуск кратких обзоров.

GOATBLOOD – Apparition of Doomsday
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Dunkelheit Produktionen
Оценка: 6,6 / 10

Новый альбом немецкой группы (есть ещё австралийская с таким же названием), которая, насколько мне известно, оказала влияние на тутэйшы BONEHAMMER. Пресс-релиз заявляет, что GOATBLOOD якобы демонстрируют новые интересные движения в рамках “Bestial Metal”, но ничего такого я не заметил. Музыка весьма прилежно клонирует ARCHGOAT, а единственное, что как-то выделяется – редкие мелодичные фрагменты и коротенькие атмосферные зарисовки на основную тематику отдельных песен. Можно слушать, можно и пропустить.

BLOSSE – Nocturne
Год выхода: 2018
Издатель: Aeternitas Tenebrarum Musicae Fundamentum
Оценка: 5 / 10

Сольный проект в стиле “квебекский метал” из, собственно, Квебека. Тамошняя метал-сцена как явление мне весьма импонирует, но за несколько лет я не нашёл на ней ни одного хорошего альбома. У квебекских музыкантов адекватные идеи и правильные источники вдохновения (тот же BLOSSE, например, записал аж целый альбом каверов на DRUDKH, HATE FOREST и PAYSAGE D’HIVER), однако по пути от мысли к действию теряется какой-то важный ингредиент. “Nocturne”, как и весь остальной квебекский метал – это попытка создать что-то такое холодное, атмосферное и архаичное, но именно попытка, которая неизменно заканчивается очередным абсолютно неубедительным франкоязычным слюнтяйством, почему-то обожаемым разного рода “атмосферщиками”. Наверное, я чего-то не понимаю, но по мне так настоящий атмосферный метал – это DRUDKH, WALKNUT или даже SAOR, а BLOSSE и прочие FORTERESSE – просто-напросто кал. Так или иначе, новое издание от ATMF, которое прислано мне на промо, содержит сразу два полноформатных альбома на одном диске – упомянутый “Nocturne” и дебютный “Era noire”. Оба одинаково унылые, так что если захотите потратить 70 минут жизни впустую – милости прошу.

AGGRESSIVE PERFECTOR – Havoc at the Midnight Hour
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Dying Victims Productions
Оценка: 7,8 / 10

Молодая американская банда, название которой отсылает к SLAYER, играет немного иную музыку, напоминающую MIDNIGHT в лучшие моменты (там, где Athenar даёт моторхэда, а не пытается корчить злобную мину). Плюс немного ретро-дьявольщины. Бодро, задорно, с классными соло и песнями, которым хочется подпевать, несмотря на хриплый вокал. Саунд достаточно современный, но при этом настоящий, вибрирующий. По этой части у Dying Victims всегда всё по высшему разряду. Оформление восхитительное. Классный альбом!

DEATH WOLF – IV: Come the Dark
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Blooddawn Productions
Оценка: 5,1 / 10

Хвалёный проект с участием Моргана из MARDUK, несмотря на замечательный изначальный ориентир в лице DANZIG, оказался жутко тупым метал-роком с непередаваемо тошнотворной двойной вокальной дорожкой. Альбому присуща некоторая тёмная энергетика, но всё остальное на нём – холная пуйня. Порожняк почище “Viktoria”.

NACHTIG – Nachtig
Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Purity Through Fire
Оценка: 5,5 / 10

В прошлом Блице я обозревал альбом VALOSTA VARJOON, другого проекта с участием создателя Nachtig. Тот проект очень громко заявлял об увлечении музыканта финской сценой, а оказалось, что у него есть ещё NACHTIG и COSMIC BURIAL, которые просто криком кричат о любви к COSMIC CHURCH. Конечно, ориентироваться на COSMIC CHURCH – крайне похвальное стремление, но дело в том, что финский проект был совершенно уникальным явлением с неподражаемой идеологией и глубоко личным подходом к музицированию, который невозможно повторить, хоть ты до конца жизни наряжайся в балахоны и рисуй треугольнички в логотипе. NACHTIG – это COSMIC CHURCH без всего, что делало финский проект особенным, то бишь второсортный атмосферный метал с длиннющими песнями. Усугубляет ситуацию такой же второсортный звук и эта настоебавшая немецкая мелодика. Таких альбомов существует уже целое море, и я не вижу ни единой причины покупать и даже слушать ещё один. “Nachtig” сделан прилежно и честно, но он не даст вам н-и-ч-е-г-о.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий