Review: EREMOS – The Glass Mind of a Recluse

Year of release: 2019
Released by: Metalkalve
Rating: 7 / 10

Today I present to you the second (the first will be reviewed later, too) release of the Latvian label / distro Metalkalve, which is owned by the venerable Gints Albužis, well-known to some Bagnik Zine readers. EREMOS is a solo project of the musician named Dāvis Kovaļš, which reflects his gloomy thoughts about being, the fate of humanity and, of course, death. They are served to the accompaniment of a ferocious funeral death doom metal, borrowing certain atmospheric and structural solutions from modern Black Metal.

EREMOS music is built on a basic set of instruments and corresponding work with sound. The recording location of the album is indicated as the coordinates inside the digipack (Riga, Locomoties st. 56); I won’t be surprised if the residential building where the musician lives is located at this address. If you listen carefully, in the EREMOS sound you can see a lot of echoes of amateur indoor projects that were popular among their own authors 10 years ago. However, where depressive bedroom creators stuck a guitar into a laptop and buzzed in vain, Dāvis worked with his straight hands, so the sound of the album turned out wonderful. The drums seem to be programmed, but, again, they are made out so cool that I can't say for certain.

The album is gaining momentum gradually. If at first there is a fairly basic doom metal with an icy character, then higher speeds, dissonances, synths, samples, parts of a solo guitar and even almost groove riffs appear. Interestingly, most of them fall on the shortest song - “Echoes of Malice”. All material combines a sense of alienation and emptiness. There is not even the slighthest melody that gives a faint hope that not everything is lost. Vanity and hopelessness, like in MGŁA works. Only EREMOS music makes us believe in the words behind it, in contrast to the melodious excercises (in futility) of the Poles. The most colorful, in my opinion, is the song “Lascera, Sovereign of Slaughter”. In terms of riffs, it’s not the most interesting thing, but the frenzied synth parts evoke a hell of a horror, and the text and music are combined just as perfectly as a pig and a truffle. I can’t name a band similar to EREMOS in sound. Sometimes fragments slip through that someone already had somewhere, but I can’t remember who.

The lyric part is made quite interesting. Besides the fact that it defines music, it uses the most primitive sizes, not far away from the minimalist poetry of early OBITUARY. Everything is written in quatrains of one to three words, which looks bad on paper. However, rhyme is observed everywhere, and the selection of expressions is ususally good enough to convey the grotesque images that arise in the head of the author. There is, however, some percent of outright hack, too.

The CD edition of the album was released in the format of a 6-panel digipack with a simple design and all the lyrics inside. In general, nothing more is needed here. Details on a video. I recommend “The Glass Mind of a Recluse” to fans of ruthless metal, which does not try to entertain the listener with whistles and fakes, but gives itself as is.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

1 thought on “Рецензия: EREMOS – The Glass Mind of a Recluse

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: EREMOS – The Glass Mind of a Recluse

Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Metalkalve
Оценка: 7 / 10

Представляю вашему вниманию второй (первый тоже будет) релиз латышского лейбла / дистро Metalkalve, которым владеет хорошо известный некоторым читателям Bagnik Zine почтенный Gints Albužis. EREMOS – сольный во всех смыслах проект музыканта по имени Dāvis Kovaļš, в котором отражаются его мрачные размышления о бытие, судьбах человечества и, конечно же, смерти. Подаются они под аккомпанемент свирепого похоронного дэт-дума, заимствующего определённые атмосферные и конструкционные решения у современного Black Metal.

Музыка EREMOS строится на базовом наборе инструментов и соответствующей работе со звуком. Место записи альбома указано в виде координат внутри дигипака (Рига, улица Локомотивес, 56); я не удивлюсь, если по этому адресу находится жилой дом, где обитает музыкант. Если слушать внимательно, в саунде EREMOS можно заметить немало отголосков комнатных проектов 10-летней давности. Однако там, где депрессивные недоросли втыкали гитару в ноутбук и жужжали почём зря, Dāvis работал прямыми руками, поэтому звук у альбома получился замечательный. Барабаны вроде бы неживые, но, опять-таки, прописаны так здорово, что наверняка не скажу.

Альбом набирает ход постепенно. Если поначалу идёт довольно базовый дум с ледяным характером, то дальше появляются высокие скорости, диссонансы, синты, сэмплы, партии соло-гитары и даже почти грувовые риффы. Интересно, что большая их часть приходится на самую короткую песню – “Echoes of Malice”. Весь материал объединяет чувство отчуждённости и опустошённости. Здесь нет даже самой завалящей мелодии, дающей слабую надежду на то, что ещё не всё потеряно. Тщета и безысходность, как у MGŁA. Только музыка EREMOS заставляет поверить в стоящие за ней слова, в отличие от мелодичных запилов поляков. Наиболее красочной, на мой взгляд, вышла песня “Lascera, Sovereign of Slaughter”. В плане риффов она не самая интересная, но исступлённые синтовые партии навевают адскую жуть, а текст и музыка сочетаются так же идеально, как свинья и трюфель. Похожие на EREMOS по звучанию группы я назвать не могу. Иногда проскакивают фрагменты, которые уже где-то у кого-то были, однако я не могу вспомнить, у кого.

Лирическая часть сделана довольно интересно. Помимо того, что она определяет музыку, в ней используются самые примитивные размеры, недалеко ушедшие от минималистической поэзии ранних OBITUARY. Всё написано четверостишиями из одного-трёх слов, что на бумаге выглядит скверно. Однако везде соблюдается рифма, а подбор выражений, как правило, достаточно хорош, чтобы передать гротескные образы, возникающие в голове автора. Попадается, впрочем, и откровенная халтура.

CD-издание альбома выпущено в формате 6-панельного дигипака с простым оформлением и всеми текстами внутри. В принципе, ничего больше здесь и не нужно. Подробности на видео. Порекомендую “The Glass Mind of a Recluse” поклонникам безжалостного метала, который не пытается развлекать слушателя свистелками и перделками, а подаёт себя как есть.

 

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий