Review: BURZUM – Thulêan Mysteries

Year of release: 2019
Released by: Byelobog Productions
Rating: 7,8 / 10

Well, I guess, in this review, I will not raise the topic of perception of the posthumous BURZUM collection by the general public. It has long been known that the attitude towards BURZUM is a litmus test that distinguishes a sane person from degenerates and simply ignorant people. Instead, I’ll note from the threshold that the compilation is better than you might expect. After all, this, by and large, is just two discs of sweep that Varg was able to scrape up. Perhaps the audience was not expecting such an end to BURZUM, but Vikernes really doesn't give a damn about expectations, as befits a real artist.

It turned out that his archives had a lot of material - 1,5 hours in total. Not all tracks are equally useful here. Many are uncomplicated tunes for a minute and a little, which Varg used as background music on his YouTube channel, closed by ZOG. But at the same time, some of them could be safely stretched for 5 minutes, just looping the main fragments, because they are beautiful. There are reverse examples in the form of full-fledged compositions, which, despite the duration, lead nowhere or break off at a glance. To the shortcomings of the collection I will also attribute its inconsistency. Perhaps Varg tried to observe some kind of chronology, but this is not heard at all. Two adjacent tracks can have a completely different character and sound, so the transition between them is perceived quite sensitively. However, I’m not quite right: on the second disc there are long compositions designed in a similar style. But on the first - a hodgepodge.

One way or another, BURZUM magic works to the last. Varg has always had very easy attitude towards his works, whether it’s new things or his classic in the metal genre, but everything he does makes sense and works in tune with his worldview - even the little things for 65-80 seconds. Be sure: if the track is called "Gathering of Herbs", then it will sound suitable for such an activity. All compositions in the collection can be divided into three categories. The first is late BURZUM, that is, folk ambient with guitar, vocals and shamanistic rhythms (attention to “The Great Sleep” - why not make something longer in this style?). The second is “prison ambient”, that is, referring to the unforgettable duet “Dauði Baldrs” - “Hliðskjálf”; primitive things played on the synthesizer, aka “dungeon synth”. The third is “Tomhet” dark ambient. Of the latter, I especially like “The Lord of Dwarves,” accompanied by an interesting guitar effect. Such compositions best suggest that Varg's talent has not yet been exhausted and that he could work further. But if you don’t feel like it, then you shouldn't rape yourself.

An attentive listener will find that some things replay old familiar motives in a different way, hiding references to the original sources of inspiration. For example, “A Forgotten Realm” contains a melody from “Tomhet”, which, in turn, was partially inspired (like almost all of BURZUM’s work) by tabletop games like - you guessed it right - Forgotten Realms. “Tomhet” is generally disassembled into parts and reworked 4 times only in this collection - apparently, Vikernes has a particularly warm attitude to this composition. By the way, Varg recommends listening to the compilation as a soundtrack to his MYFAROG tabletop game, promoting a pagan worldview. The release cover, for example, is the same as the book with the rules for the game. I have not played tabletop games for a million years and unlikely will return to them, but the periodic mentions of MYFAROG by Varg in his Twitter sound seriously. No faggots or genders here - in our game there are only two SEXES!

“Thulêan Mysteries” was published as a double-disc digipack, double vinyl, and more recently, a two-cassette box. Digipack does not contain anything inside, except for a tiny note and discs (details on a video), and the other options, I think, are no different. It is a pity that Varg did not take the opportunity to share the ideas of the compositions, but perhaps he did not want to turn the BURZUM finale into a propaganda manifesto. In the end, anyone who knows BURZUM and Vikernes’ personality firsthand will understand what he wanted to say.

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: BURZUM – Thulêan Mysteries

Год выхода: 2019
Издатель: Byelobog Productions
Оценка: 7,8 / 10

Пожалуй, я принципиально не буду поднимать в этой рецензии тему восприятия посмертного сборника BURZUM широкой общественностью. И так давно известно, что отношение к BURZUM является лакмусовой бумажкой, которая с высокой точностью отличает здравомыслящего человека от дегенератов и просто невежд. Вместо этого я с порога отмечу, что сборник получился лучше, чем можно было ожидать. Ведь это, по большому счёту, просто два диска смецця, то, что Варг сумел наскрести по сусекам. Возможно, аудитория ожидала не такого конца BURZUM, но Викернесу в самом деле всегда было накласть на чьи-то ожидания, как и подобает настоящему артисту.

Оказалось, что в архивах осталось очень много материала – на полтора часа в сумме. Не все треки здесь одинаково полезны. Многие представляют собой несложные мелодии на минуту с небольшим, которые Варг использовал в качестве фоновой музыки на своём канале на YouTube, закрытом силами ЖОП. Но при этом часть из них можно было бы смело растягивать минут на 5, просто зациклив основные фрагменты, ибо они прекрасны. Есть и обратные примеры в виде полноценных композиций, которые, невзирая на продолжительность, ведут в никуда или обрываются на полуслове. К недостаткам сборника также отнесу его непоследовательность. Возможно, Варг старался соблюдать какую-то хронологию, но этого совсем не слышно. Два соседних трека могут иметь абсолютно разный характер и звучание, поэтому переход между ними воспринимается довольно чувствительно. Впрочем, я не совсем прав: на втором диске расположены длинные композиции, выдержанные в схожем стиле. А вот на первом – солянка.

Так или иначе, магия BURZUM работает до последнего. Варг всегда очень просто относился к своим произведениям, будь то новые вещи или его классика в жанре метала, но всё, что он делает, имеет смысл и работает в унисон с его мировоззрением – даже треки-огрызки на 65-80 секунд. Будьте уверены: если трек называется “Сбор трав”, то и звучать он будет подходяще для такого занятия. Все композиции на сборнике можно условно разделить на три категории. Первая – это поздний BURZUM, то есть фольклорный эмбиент с применением гитары, вокала и шаманских ритмов (внимание на “The Great Sleep” – почему было не сделать что-то более длинное в таком стиле?). Вторая – “тюремный эмбиент”, то есть отсылающий к незабвенному дуэту “Dauði Baldrs” – “Hliðskjálf”; примитивные вещи, сыгранные на синтезаторе, aka “dungeon synth”. Третья – тёмный эмбиент в духе “Tomhet”. Из последнего мне особенно нравится “The Lord of Dwarves”, сопровождающаяся интересным гитарным эффектом. Подобные композиции лучше всего говорят о том, что талант Варга ещё не исчерпан и он мог бы работать дальше. Но раз не хочется, то дело хозяйское.

Внимательный слушатель обнаружит, что некоторые вещи по-иному обыгрывают старые знакомые мотивы, скрывая отсылки к изначальным источникам вдохновения. Например, “A Forgotten Realm” содержит мелодию из “Tomhet”, которая, в свою очередь, была частично навеяна (как и почти всё творчество BURZUM) настолками вроде – правильно – Forgotten Realms. “Tomhet” вообще разобрана на части и переработана раза 4 только на этом сборнике – видимо, у Викернеса особо тёплое отношение к этой композиции. Кстати, Варг рекомендует слушать сборник как саундтрек к выпущенной им настолке MYFAROG, продвигающей языческое мировоззрение. Обложка релиза, например, та же, что и у книжечки с правилами для игры. Я миллион лет не играл в настольные игры и вряд ли вернусь к ним, но периодические упоминания MYFAROG Варгом внушают. Никаких пидорасов или гендеров – в нашей игре только два ПОЛА!

“Thulêan Mysteries” издан в виде двухдискового дигипака, двойного винила, а с недавних пор ещё и двухкассетного бокса. Дигипак не содержит внутри ровным счётом ничего, кроме крошечного примечания и дисков (смотрите на видео), и остальные варианты, думаю, не отличаются. Немного жаль, что Варг не воспользовался возможностью поделиться идеями композиций, но, возможно, он не хотел превращать финал BURZUM в пропагандистский манифест. В конце концов, любой, кто знаком с BURZUM и личностью Викернеса не понаслышке и не по каким-то своим больным фантазиям, и так поймёт, что он хотел сказать.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий