Review: ABYSSFIRE – The Raging Hearts of Hell

Year of release: 2020
Released by: Ridge ov Dragon
Rating: 8,4/10

As most Bagnik Zine readers know, ABYSSFIRE is a new project by VHORTHAX musicians, featuring Morkh, who is also known to listeners thanks to SERPENTRANCE, MORBID LUST, GOATPSALM, SICKRITES and his design studio Nether Temple. Taking into account the experience and connections of the participants, the project could immediately sign the agreement with some strong foreign label, but first decided to support the friendly Ridge ov Dragon. At the moment, the album has only been released in cassette format with a circulation of 100 copies. However, this does not diminish its value at all - on the contrary, it increases it, since “The Raging Hearts of Hell” is in a good sense a professional work of people who understand what Black Metal is and know a lot about it.

The debut of ABYSSFIRE plays an interesting role of modern occult Black Metal, being unlike the vast majority of similar releases. In other words, the group does not follow the path of the Swedes, but chooses its own path. This path takes it into technical Death Metal territory. There, the musicians carefully collect everything that suits them, drag it to their camp and throw it into a bottomless pit blazing with unearthly fire. The mixture is done isely: no sizzling, fusion or prog metal (almost). Only those elements are used that are able to increase the penetrating ability of the compositions and enhance the flaming Chaos. There was no task to show off with long fingers and shit.

As it turned out, this variant of technically advanced Black Metal is very interesting even to listen to with your ears, without delving into the essence of what is happening. The compositions are constantly balancing on the brink of oversaturation, but do not fall into the abyss. They retain a clearly visible structure on which constructions for additional purposes are built. (I apologize for the woolen "engineering" language, just from time to time the album brings up vague images of some menacing buildings appearing right on the sand. It has a hot and dry sound, and then there is this cover in sand colors). The balance is ensured, among other things, by the equally hard work of all instruments. This is a very important moment: when the guitar parts are curled into spirals and tied into knots, and the drummer plays AC/DC, the result can be safely sent to the trash can. But ABYSSFIRE have set high demands on themselves, so both guitarists, bassist and drummer are pounding their heads, and you can hear it. The vocals are also not easy: although they are monotonous, they are produced in such a way as to achieve a truly infernal effect. Of course, I can't help but mention the wonderful guitar solos (for me the very fact of their presence is already wonderful).

In addition to the main collective of musicians, other eminent personalities took part in the creation of the album: Varagian from DO SKONU made backing vocals on “Mlkh”, Phaesphoros (ex-KAWIR, TERRÖRHAMMER, ALL MY SINS) reamped the guitars, and T.T. of ABIGOR was engaged in mixing and mastering. The latter fact is not very encouraging, since T.T. has stained himself with friendship with German leftists and claims to be the preacher of true Black Metal on Facebook, where he often spreads disinformation and just blatant bullshit. Despite the indisputable merits of this man, I would not, say, throw a copper into his hat. But it doesn't really matter; it has no effect on the ABYSSFIRE essence. The cassette was designed by Morokh himself, so high quality, intriguing and detailed art, and complementarity of visual and sound pictures, are ensured. In addition, the layout contains the lyrics of all the songs that reveal a solid store of knowledge and personal experience in the field of the occult, as well as simply the ability to write deeply meaningful lyrics in English. You can take a closer look at all this on a video. The cassette is still available at Possession and Ridge ov Dragon distros, but it won't last long. As practice shows, cassette releases of bands from the CIS do not hang up in catalogs. Buy now - nothing is known about the release on CD or vinyl, and the album is too good to skip it...

Post Author: F1sher16

Leave a Reply

Рецензия: ABYSSFIRE – The Raging Hearts of Hell

Год выхода: 2020
Издатель: Ridge ov Dragon
Оценка: 8,4/10

Как известно большинству читателей Bagnik Zine, ABYSSFIRE – это новый проект музыкантов группы VHORTHAX, где голосит Morkh, известный слушателям также благодаря SERPENTRANCE, MORBID LUST, GOATPSALM, SICKRITES и своей дизайнерской студии Nether Temple. Учитывая опыт и связи участников, проект мог бы сходу прописаться на какой-нибудь сильной забугорной конторе, но для начала решил поддержать дружественный Хребет Дракона. На данный момент альбом выпущен только в кассетном формате тиражом в 100 копий. Однако это нисколько не умаляет его ценности – напротив, повышает её, так как “The Raging Hearts of Hell” является в хорошем смысле профессиональной работой людей, понимающих, что такое Black Metal, и знающих в нём толк.

Дебют ABYSSFIRE выступает в интересной роли современного оккультного Black Metal, который не похож на подавляющее большинство схожих по духу релизов. Иначе говоря, группа не идёт дорогой шведов, а выбирает свой путь. Эта дорожка заводит её на территорию техничного Death Metal. Там музыканты тщательно собирают всё, что им подходит, тащат в свой лагерь и бросают в полыхающую неземным огнём бездонную яму. Слияние проводится с умом: никакого пиликанья, фьюжна или прог-метала (почти). Используются только те элементы, что способны увеличить пробивную способность композиций и усилить пламенеющий Хаос. Задача повыёбываться выгнутыми в обратную сторону пальцами не ставилась.

Как оказалось, технически продвинутый Black Metal в таком исполнении очень интересно даже просто слушать ушами, не углубляясь в суть происходящего. Композиции постоянно балансируют на грани перенасыщенности, но не срываются в пропасть. Они сохраняют отчётливо просматривающуюся структуру, на которой выстраиваются конструкции дополнительного назначения. (Прошу прощения за суконный “инженерный” язык, просто время от времени альбом вызывает в голове расплывчатые образы неких угрожающего вида построек, возникающих прямо на песке. У него жаркий и сухой саунд, а тут ещё эта обложка в песочных цветах). Равновесие обеспечивается, помимо всего прочего, одинаково усердной работой всех инструментов. Это очень важный момент: когда гитарные партии сворачиваются в спирали и завязываются в узлы, а барабанщик играет AC/DC, результат можно смело отправлять на помойку. Но ABYSSFIRE предъявили к себе высокие требования, поэтому оба гитариста, басист и барабанщик пашут до седьмого пота, и это слышно. Вокал тоже непрост: он хоть и однообразен, однако спродюсирован таким образом, чтобы добиться поистине инфернального эффекта. Конечно, я не могу не упомянуть и расчудесные гитарные соло (для меня сам факт их наличия уже прекрасен).

Помимо основной группы музыкантов, в создании альбома принимали участие другие именитые личности: Varagian из ДО СКОНУ исполнил бэк-вокал на “Mlkh”, Phaesphoros (ex-KAWIR, TERRÖRHAMMER, ALL MY SINS) делал реампинг гитар, а сведением и мастерингом занимался T.T. из ABIGOR. Последний факт не слишком радует, поскольку T.T. запятнал себя дружбой с немецкими леваками и претензиями на роль проповедника подлинного Black Metal на Facebook, где он частенько распространяет дезинформацию и просто несёт откровенную хуету. Невзирая на неоспоримые заслуги этого гражданина, я бы, скажем так, не бросил в его протянутую шляпу медяк. Но пусть его; на сущность ABYSSFIRE это никак не влияет. Дизайном кассеты занимался сам Morokh, поэтому высокое качество, интригующий детальный арт и взаимодополняемость визуальной и звуковых картин обеспечены. Помимо того, на вкладке размещены тексты всех песен, которые обнаруживают солидный багаж знаний и личного опыта в сфере оккультизма, а также просто-напросто умение писать глубоко осмысленную лирику на английском языке. Посмотреть на всё это повнимательнее можно на видео. Кассета по-прежнему доступна на Possession и в дистро Ridge of Dragon, но лафа продлится недолго. Как показывает практика, кассетные релизы групп из СНГ в каталогах не зависают, даже если их не продавать, как это любит делает Aeon of Horus 😉 Покупайте – по поводу издания на CD или виниле пока ничего не известно, а альбом слишком хорош, чтобы его пропускать.

Post Author: F1sher16

Добавить комментарий